Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant

The perfect pant for all your active outdoor adventures, they’re treated to resist rain and stains, feature built-in UPF 50 sun protection and also contain stretch to enhance mobility.
Overall rating:
4.457 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
31 out of 32(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Review 1 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile, comfortable, tough, and great looking pants

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Finger Lakes Region of Western NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was a little skeptical about the vertical pockets before ordering these pants, but I've really come to appreciate the functionality, fit, and look that they have. They are are great looking enough that I wear them to teach at my university, and then am able to wear them while leading students on field trips or am able go straight from work to fishing without the need to change.
Like many Columbia products that I use, they are cool to wear when the weather is hot, and warm when the weather is cold. These pants in particular, are extremely comfortable. The "stretch" in them is perfect.
They are also durable and stain resistant. Rainwater and liquid spills roll right off of this fabric! There aren't too many pants that I would expose to the rigors of kayak fishing and be confident that they will wash up and be stain free for me to wear in public, but these allow me to do just that.
I find myself increasingly replacing my wardrobe with Columbia products, and these pants are becoming a mainstay. I will definitely be buying more!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Field Tested in Alaska

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Denali, AK
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Let me start by saying that I am rough on pants. When I say that, I mean I bought two pairs of pants for my job, and two months later both had holes in them. I spent my summer in Denali National Park this summer, and before leaving I bought a pair of these pants and a pair of Columbia's Silver Ridge convertible pants.
It rains often in the summer in Alaska, so I chose these because of their water resistance. I also expected to be ordering a new pair every month. I couldn't be happier with the quality of these pants. They kept me dry from everything up to a steady downpour, they are EXTREMELY comfortable, and they held up to 4 months of Alaskan abuse.
I HIGHLY recommend these pants for just about any type of use, especially outdoors.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cool creek

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: boston, ma.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great pair of pants.
the fit is perfect.
the material is very sturdy.
im very satisfied with the quality and my choice.
you know you have a good pair of pants when the fit is spot on, you go out and instantly the people around you notice and compliment you on your purchase.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like the straight fit, weird pockets

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: St Louis, MO
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like these pants; I wound up buying two of them. The only thing I'm not thrilled with is the cut of the front pockets. They look like they're spreading open when you wear them, as if your hips are too big.
Still, my favorite pants right now for casual wear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable pants

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are very comfortable. The stretch qualities are great too. I can wear these with a climbing harness and not have to worry about the fabric bunching awkwardly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

flexable comfort with durability and good looks.

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Leo, In
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking pant providing flex comfort with no fabric pull. A real performer whether driving a car (especially long distances), driving a golf ball or cutting the lawn. They look great with no sagging butt and excel when wet. First time I have EVER had people ask about the pant and where I bought them and I'm no light weight.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great wear.

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Des Moines, Wa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the comfort of the fit and the feel on the bod. Easy washable pants. I wash cold water and hang to dry. I recommend these pants as casual weear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use these as running pants, sweatpants, for bike riding and all purpose - they are fantastic... they are snug to skin so good for bike riding but not too tight. I got a new pair because I went down a couple of waist sizes (a rare problem), and my new pair is just as good as the old. Durable too, and great for hiking as well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Colors

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Fenton, mi
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I mean these are the best fit, best fabric, best value pants I own. My only real complaint is that there is not more colors lol. I wish there was at least black. Maybe they will make them????? Hint hint hint hint. Also. I am 5'10 160. 32/32 is bingo bango on point with size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

runs very small

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: South Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Runs very small, have to return the merchandise.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks tight pants, but I can feel

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Beaverton,OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The pants looks tight, but it is so comfortable.
It is very flexible. I can't tell how much breathable and rain repellent util I try this on the trail.
I am waiting the day I can try this pants.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants for your adventure

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I gave these to my father. These are very well made , he reported they were comfortable, and the sizing was right-on. He is looking forward to taking them on his trek about Europe.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the same

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
These pants used to be my favorite. But they've changed the cut and now they don't fit at all. It's a shame I didn't buy more before they changed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Pants!

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Washington, DC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear them all the time - they look great so can be worn as part of a casual outfit (you can dress them up with a nice sweater, button-down shirt, etc.) and stretchy/waterproof material makes them great for activities like hiking. They are also very comfortable for bike-riding. Just to give an idea of their versatility, I wear them to bike to a class I teach, tuck in a button-down shirt when I get there, and am all set. After class, I re-swop the button-down for a t-shirt and am ready to go again! My only complaint is that when I received them, I got a small dirt stain on the pants and wiped it off with a paper towel, which wore away the water-proof material on that spot. Columbia kindly replaced the pants for me, but this is something I wish I had known prior.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One Small Flaw

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only problem I have with these pants is the cut and size of the side pockets. The vertical cut makes it so that they always slightly bulge open, which is just kind of awkward. They (the side pockets) are also pretty small. Thankfully, that doesn't negate the quality of the pants as a whole. Other than the pockets, I really love them. The material is durable and extremely comfortable, and the stretch is really great. They look great, but the function is what I love about them. I can use them for anything. I boulder in them with no limited movement at all. I hike in them and feel as if I'm wearing sweat pants, they are so comfortable. I've worn them to sleep in during camping in colder weather and was warm and comfortable. I've even played racquetball in them without feeling limited. They also wash well.
These pants are great. I really recommend them. I'm 5'11'', 160 lb's, with an athletic build and the size 32/32 fit very well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Well built, poor fit.

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought these on sale with a discount coupon, so I got them on the cheap. They're well constructed and provide just enough stretch for movement, but not so much that they lose their abrasion resistance. I've used them for firearms training classes in some pretty rough conditions and they have performed very well.
However, I'm not happy with them. Their sizing is strange. They don't size like a modern pant does. I'm 6' 2", 140lbs. So I'm a thin guy. These pants are at least 2 inches too short and are almost too tight on the thighs, especially one you begin to sweat hard. I might continue to wear them for light hiking even though it looks like I'm wearing flood-pants, but I won't be using them for any training.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mens Cool Creek Stretch Pants

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Denver Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the thickness of these pants, as well as the size, being able to get a 34 in length.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

"Gravel", "Tusk", "Twill", "Buffalo".....What the.......?????

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Rural Northern Calif.
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking for a pair of dark gray hiking pants to replace my beloved 10 year old Patagonia Talus Pants that are no longer made. So, not knowing what the colors "Gravel", "Tusk", "Twill", or "Buffalo" are, (it's very difficult to guess the the color of the online photos), I went with "Gravel", because the gravel on my driveway is gray, as most of the gravel I have ever seen is some shade of gray. Well, the pants arrived, and they are a weird shade of green. Why not call them Green instead of "Gravel"???? I'm really tired of clothing marketers trying to be "trendy" by giving the colors of their clothing stupid names. Call black, black; brown brown; gray, gray; and tan, tan. And save you and your customer time and grief. Enough of that.
Now, onto the pants themselves: I haven't worn them, because I'm waiting for a pair of "Grill" (That's Columbia trendy-speak for dark gray) pants to arrive (funny, the GRILL on my patio is very black, but I digress). I do have to say, to Columbia and their Vietnamese factory worker's credit, these pants are incredibly well made. The stitching is flawless, and the stretch nylon fabric has a great feel to it. I'm sure these pants would endure several thousand miles of hiking, like my Patagonia's have. I really like the deep front pockets, and the front snap in lieu of a button, which in my experience, falls off over time. I would prefer a horizontal, instead of vertical, zippered cargo pocket, some elastic in the waist, and no Velcro in the back pockets (easily removed, though).
All in all, if you can figure out what color you want, I would highly recommend these pants.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Fit! Amazing Feel!

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Salt Lake City
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are awesome! The feel of the fabric is fantastic, soft but also very durable. It has just the right amount of stretch for hiking and some climbing also. It also has some great design details that aren't so easily seen in the website pictures. One of my favorite pair of pants ever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Pants, VERY tight through seat & thighs

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Forks, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fabric is great. The pants look nice and seem well made. I wear 30 waist in a variety of pants (including Levis 511 skinny jeans) and I could not comfortably wear the Cool Creek pants. Way too snug across the seat and thighs - especially for pants that would be worn in outdoor activities. The Columbia site indicates that the pants run "slightly small" While I think the waist sizing is accurate, I would say they run very small in the seat and thighs. Had to return them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>