Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant

Columbia Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant

Omni-Heat® thermal reflective is printed directly onto the back of durable, repellent, cold-stopping softshell material for a pant that delivers a double shot of warmth and protection: mobility and breathability make these ideal for cool and cold weather aerobic activity.
Overall rating:
4.66 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
46 out of 48(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Review 1 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pants

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: gresham,or
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good dollar value
I would recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Winter Pants

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Poplar Grove, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these. They are super comfortable and very warm.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect hike/adventure pant for chilly weather

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't say enough about these pants. I use them for hikes/adventures through woods, deserts, mountains, misty/drizzly conditions, and they take EVERYTHING I throw at them. They are completely windproof--40MPH winds do nothing to affect your legs. They stretch, flex, and move with you regardless of terrain. These are probably 2-3 times thicker than my Mountain Hardwear Piero Pants with greater warmth and flex. The OmniHeat, once you get going, gets you COMFORTABLE--notice I did not say too hot or too cold, because that just doesn't happen. You feel "just right." I will say that these do not insulate like wool once your skin/undies are soaked with sweat, but if you keep moving, you are good to go. You have to wash them inside-out because that is the only way they'll retain water--can't believe how impermeable these are. Anything below 30 F I might use a light baselayer, depending on the activity level. They are NOT ski-pants (like the Bugaboos) so if you buy them thinking they're going to be perfect for a slope or cross-country you may not be pleased. I have a 34" waist, but I always buy 36Wx32L from Columbia and everything is good-to-go.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best softshell pants i've seen yet

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: new york, ny
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've compared these with similar pants from Mountain Hardwear, TNF, Prada-gonia, and Arc'teryx. I'm happy to say that the Passo Altos stand right along with all those brands' counterparts. Very warm and stretchy, this is a great base-of-the-mountain pant.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect pants !

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: San Jose, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found the perfect pants ! For the longest time, I needed something that will keep me warm on those long days/nights spent at my son's winter swim meets. It also must keep me dry on the big dive splashes. These pants met those expectations and more. It gave me a whole new perspective on omni-heat technology. It works ! I even recommended them to a fellow parent at the swim meets.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Go to winter pants!!!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are now my go to winter pants. I have worn them skiing, snowshoeing and climbing. They provide the perfect combination of warmth, water resistance, yet are breathable and light weight. They are ideal for aerobic activities in the outdoors. I would highly recommend them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Pants

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Butte, MT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you like comfy and warm thermal pants that can be worn for anything from skiing to cold weather hiking
BUY THESE PANTS. I usually wear 35-30 and these 36-32 fit perfectly, so they run a little small. A little pricey but worth it. My wife has a pair and she likes them so much I had to get my own.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husband happy wife talked him into getting these pants

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Santa Maria
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been fishing on lake this winter, and I would come home telling my wife how I was freezing. My legs were just so cold. Everywhere else I was fine because I had the Columbia jacket, but the legs....Cold! My wife had showed me these pants on line, but I hesitated, so she ordered them anyways. Am very happy she did. Tried them out the other day, and they kept me warm from the cold and the wind. I just wish I hadn't hesitated so long, could have had them a lot sooner during the cold winter months. I am a size 36-32, but my wife read they ran a little small so she ordered me 38-32 and they fit perfect! Good call.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

toasty

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Surrey BC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality construction keeps you insulated
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome winter hiking pants

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Warrenton, Va.
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants arrived the day before a 24 mile hike across the devils backbone in the Catskills. The weather during the day was 40s with a stiff breeze all day and nights were upper 20's with winds in the 20+ range. These pants worked awesome at cutting the wind as well as holding in the right amount of heat. The stretch was great for the tough up and down climbs on this trail. I have found the perfect pair of pants. Not to mention they are so comfortable! I wore these pants for almost two and a half days without holding moisture which was a concern with all the severe ups and downs on this trail. Hopefully I can try these pants out for skiing soon.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would give it all excellent based on first use, but just keeping it moderate

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Did exactly what I needed after looking for early winter pants for years. Size, as others said, slightly smaller. I usually wear 36 waist, and 32 inseam. Bought 38x32 and it is just the right fit.
Needed pants for a variety of temps in the same hike.
Start at 30F morning, midhike up to 60F in the sun, 25F over timberline, and then 20F down to 12F windchill in light 15 mph wind, with a mix going down. All perfect. Did not overheat and did not have any trouble with wind.
A typical early winter fourteener hike.
And hardly any usage effects after the hike.
Looks like you can hike quite a few days in a row without any deterioration regarding softness/chaffing.
Movements very easy while scrambling, thanks to the elastic material.
Not even a start of any chaffing or scratching despite my very tight backpack waist belt setting.
Wore light longjohns underneath, but could have gone without it.
Handled occasional steps in deeper snow over one foot without any riding up the leg, without gaiters.
Now just to see prolonged use, and rain resistance and that is it. Pants for life.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flat out love this pant

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Medford, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Without question, this will be my most used piece of gear that I have. the moment I put them on, I knew I loved these pants! the quality of material is nothing short that what you would expect from Columbia's higher end product line. These pants will be great in the rain, and snow as far a thermal regulation goes. I plan on using a shell pant over them for hard rain situations, but for light rain and snow, these will be great as is. I don't know if the hook at the bottom of the leg will truly be useful or not at this point, but they do have one on each leg to hook onto your boots. The side zippers on the leg would be nice if it opened the leg, rather than just loosening the lower leg opening. Other than that, I have no issues with these at all.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pants that Beat Every Expectation

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't like to let the cold slow me down but I don't like to be cold either. These pants are the perfect solution. I mountain bike and run in them. These pants keep me warm with out being restrictive to movement. They out perform the running and biking tights that I have tried over the years. I don't know how Omni Heat works but these pants have kept me just right from below freezing to sunny 50 degree days wind or no wind. Seriously one of my best sportswear purchases ever.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice - but order one size bigger

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Maryland
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought for my dad for Christmas for his evening powerwalks. He said they're great! However, I did listen to other reviews and ordered one size larger. So glad I did! They are definitely a slim fit. My dad is always a 36/30, has been for decades. However, the 38/30 just fit him!
Sizing aside, I was happy with the shipping and quality, and dad says they're very nice.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort and warmth

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought my first pair of these recently and wow am I happily surprised. The first thing I noticed was that the pants are flexible, then I tried them on and was elated at how comfortable and very warm these are. (You sure can tell the difference the omni heat makes) I have worn them climbing in the gym and snowshoeing on the mountain. They have become my go to hiking pant during the winter and they layer nicely with the baselayer and a snowsport shell over the top for those -30* mornings up on the glacier. The pants also resist wind and in light misting rain the pant sheds water nicely. Great pant and would definately recommend these to anyone who hikes or backpacks in the winter.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm and comfy

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: south dakota plains
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 days after pants arrived the temp dropped to a high of minus 17 with wind chill of minus 35. I was warm and comfy during the 6 plus hours I worked outside. I love the ease of movement and wicking without bulk.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cold weather pants that actually fit like a glove!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive always been frustrated by the fit of winter wear. I have a short leg legs, stocky build. Boy was I surprised when I picked up a pair of these off the rack at the Columbia store, they seemed to have been tailor made! Functionally they are also a hit for outdoor cold weather activities,, they are warm outdoors, superbly flexible plus they breath thus keeping you from sweating. Since they have such excellent ventilation you can wear them indoors just as comfortably as outside in the freezing weather. Though not specifically snow pants, they are essentially waterproof so they can be used for snow sports with the caveat that the pant legs cant be cinched closed. Again, best cold weather pants on the market.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

omni heat pants

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Pittsburgh
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have 2 older pair of XXL pants like this and love them ,these have lined pockets to help keep you warm along with the omni heat these are great pants LOVE my COLUMBIA clothes , ALL OF THEM !!!!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good warmth and wind protection

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these pants to move back to a cold Midwest climate. They have great wind resistance, extra warm feel, and lack of moisture collection so far. I am much more confident about going on walks in subzero weather without freezing.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Martinsburg WV
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice comfortable fit. Mine are 34"x 32"and an accurate fit. Heavy material and I think they work fine in snow especially cross country or back country. I hope they come out in other colors.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>