Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant

Columbia Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant

Omni-Heat® thermal reflective is printed directly onto the back of durable, repellent, cold-stopping softshell material for a pant that delivers a double shot of warmth and protection: mobility and breathability make these ideal for cool and cold weather aerobic activity.
Overall rating:
4.88 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 25(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Review 1 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great multi-purpose pant

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
NateDPG
Location: St. Louis, MO
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are pretty legit. I bought them about three weeks ago and just took them on a 4 day February backpack trip in the Ozark Mountains. Temps got down to 30 degrees during the day (below 20 at night) and I wore these pants most of the time. I did layer them with some running tights when it got colder. I stayed warm during the day and they breath well when sweating. I would advise buying one size larger in the waist. These are becoming my go to for dog walks and other cold activities.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Of The Best

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
LinJim
Location: New Jersey
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants have the variety of features which every active winter pant should have. Warmth and breathability of Omni-Heat; sheds water; wind resistant; gusseted crotch & articulated knees; functional pockets galore; drawstring bottoms w/attached gator hook; zip & snap closures at bottoms also; attached belt; roomy enough to pair w/baselayer if needed; and finally….comfortable! Bought one pair for myself (will buy another) and two pairs for my husband. Great at any price and even better when on sale. We primarily use them for snowshoeing & x-country skiing. If you need one pair of winter pants for whatever activity, I highly recommend these.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice for the price

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
pos1
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
only used once so far for a walk on the lake. About 15 degrees in the evening. Wore a light pair of wicking long underwear below. Blocked the wind well. Was plenty warm. Very comfortable walking in them.
I normally wear a 32-30. I originally bought these in a 32-30 because that was the closest size the store had and I wanted to guarantee the $49 price, but was leary seeing all the online feedback indicating go one size in the waist larger. The 32-30s fit fine, but a little small. So, I just kept watching the web site until a 34-32 came available (which was about 2 weeks later). Got those and they fit awesome. Much more room in the legs for layering and they fit perfectly in the waist.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
JoeF
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit as measured. Warm, flexible and perfect for cross country skiing! Shipping was quick and very good communication.
Another great product from Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for cooler temps in Florida

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dinz
Location: Tampa Bay
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been looking for a warm pair of pants to wear to the pool in the early morning hours when the temperature drops in what native Floridians consider the winter months. These pants are ideal in blocking wind and creating warmth. I also use them to walk the dog in the morning! They are a GREAT improvement over the warm-up pants I was using previously.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
moosaki
Location: Martinsburg WV
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice comfortable fit. Mine are 34"x 32"and an accurate fit. Heavy material and I think they work fine in snow especially cross country or back country. I hope they come out in other colors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good warmth and wind protection

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
c100wat
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these pants to move back to a cold Midwest climate. They have great wind resistance, extra warm feel, and lack of moisture collection so far. I am much more confident about going on walks in subzero weather without freezing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

omni heat pants

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bobm
Location: Pittsburgh
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have 2 older pair of XXL pants like this and love them ,these have lined pockets to help keep you warm along with the omni heat these are great pants LOVE my COLUMBIA clothes , ALL OF THEM !!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cold weather pants that actually fit like a glove!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
wisEd
Location: wisconsin
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive always been frustrated by the fit of winter wear. I have a short leg legs, stocky build. Boy was I surprised when I picked up a pair of these off the rack at the Columbia store, they seemed to have been tailor made! Functionally they are also a hit for outdoor cold weather activities,, they are warm outdoors, superbly flexible plus they breath thus keeping you from sweating. Since they have such excellent ventilation you can wear them indoors just as comfortably as outside in the freezing weather. Though not specifically snow pants, they are essentially waterproof so they can be used for snow sports with the caveat that the pant legs cant be cinched closed. Again, best cold weather pants on the market.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm and comfy

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
skuzzer
Location: south dakota plains
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 days after pants arrived the temp dropped to a high of minus 17 with wind chill of minus 35. I was warm and comfy during the 6 plus hours I worked outside. I love the ease of movement and wicking without bulk.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort and warmth

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
beldarski
Location: Portland, Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought my first pair of these recently and wow am I happily surprised. The first thing I noticed was that the pants are flexible, then I tried them on and was elated at how comfortable and very warm these are. (You sure can tell the difference the omni heat makes) I have worn them climbing in the gym and snowshoeing on the mountain. They have become my go to hiking pant during the winter and they layer nicely with the baselayer and a snowsport shell over the top for those -30* mornings up on the glacier. The pants also resist wind and in light misting rain the pant sheds water nicely. Great pant and would definately recommend these to anyone who hikes or backpacks in the winter.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice - but order one size bigger

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
justbeatgeno
Location: Maryland
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought for my dad for Christmas for his evening powerwalks. He said they're great! However, I did listen to other reviews and ordered one size larger. So glad I did! They are definitely a slim fit. My dad is always a 36/30, has been for decades. However, the 38/30 just fit him!
Sizing aside, I was happy with the shipping and quality, and dad says they're very nice.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pants that Beat Every Expectation

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Skeptic2believer
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't like to let the cold slow me down but I don't like to be cold either. These pants are the perfect solution. I mountain bike and run in them. These pants keep me warm with out being restrictive to movement. They out perform the running and biking tights that I have tried over the years. I don't know how Omni Heat works but these pants have kept me just right from below freezing to sunny 50 degree days wind or no wind. Seriously one of my best sportswear purchases ever.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flat out love this pant

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
RVSARguy
Location: Medford, Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Without question, this will be my most used piece of gear that I have. the moment I put them on, I knew I loved these pants! the quality of material is nothing short that what you would expect from Columbia's higher end product line. These pants will be great in the rain, and snow as far a thermal regulation goes. I plan on using a shell pant over them for hard rain situations, but for light rain and snow, these will be great as is. I don't know if the hook at the bottom of the leg will truly be useful or not at this point, but they do have one on each leg to hook onto your boots. The side zippers on the leg would be nice if it opened the leg, rather than just loosening the lower leg opening. Other than that, I have no issues with these at all.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would give it all excellent based on first use, but just keeping it moderate

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
NicholasName
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Did exactly what I needed after looking for early winter pants for years. Size, as others said, slightly smaller. I usually wear 36 waist, and 32 inseam. Bought 38x32 and it is just the right fit.
Needed pants for a variety of temps in the same hike.
Start at 30F morning, midhike up to 60F in the sun, 25F over timberline, and then 20F down to 12F windchill in light 15 mph wind, with a mix going down. All perfect. Did not overheat and did not have any trouble with wind.
A typical early winter fourteener hike.
And hardly any usage effects after the hike.
Looks like you can hike quite a few days in a row without any deterioration regarding softness/chaffing.
Movements very easy while scrambling, thanks to the elastic material.
Not even a start of any chaffing or scratching despite my very tight backpack waist belt setting.
Wore light longjohns underneath, but could have gone without it.
Handled occasional steps in deeper snow over one foot without any riding up the leg, without gaiters.
Now just to see prolonged use, and rain resistance and that is it. Pants for life.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome winter hiking pants

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
glf377
Location: Warrenton, Va.
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants arrived the day before a 24 mile hike across the devils backbone in the Catskills. The weather during the day was 40s with a stiff breeze all day and nights were upper 20's with winds in the 20+ range. These pants worked awesome at cutting the wind as well as holding in the right amount of heat. The stretch was great for the tough up and down climbs on this trail. I have found the perfect pair of pants. Not to mention they are so comfortable! I wore these pants for almost two and a half days without holding moisture which was a concern with all the severe ups and downs on this trail. Hopefully I can try these pants out for skiing soon.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

toasty

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
wheels1
Location: Surrey BC
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality construction keeps you insulated
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husband happy wife talked him into getting these pants

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsario49
Location: Santa Maria
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been fishing on lake this winter, and I would come home telling my wife how I was freezing. My legs were just so cold. Everywhere else I was fine because I had the Columbia jacket, but the legs....Cold! My wife had showed me these pants on line, but I hesitated, so she ordered them anyways. Am very happy she did. Tried them out the other day, and they kept me warm from the cold and the wind. I just wish I hadn't hesitated so long, could have had them a lot sooner during the cold winter months. I am a size 36-32, but my wife read they ran a little small so she ordered me 38-32 and they fit perfect! Good call.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Pants

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brodie155
Location: Butte, MT
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you like comfy and warm thermal pants that can be worn for anything from skiing to cold weather hiking
BUY THESE PANTS. I usually wear 35-30 and these 36-32 fit perfectly, so they run a little small. A little pricey but worth it. My wife has a pair and she likes them so much I had to get my own.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Go to winter pants!!!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
ADKer
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are now my go to winter pants. I have worn them skiing, snowshoeing and climbing. They provide the perfect combination of warmth, water resistance, yet are breathable and light weight. They are ideal for aerobic activities in the outdoors. I would highly recommend them.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next>>