Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant

Columbia Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant

Omni-Heat® thermal reflective is printed directly onto the back of durable, repellent, cold-stopping softshell material for a pant that delivers a double shot of warmth and protection: mobility and breathability make these ideal for cool and cold weather aerobic activity.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
38 out of 39(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Review 1 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality zippers

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Betoven
Location: Beloit, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought these pants on 1/27/15. Today is 2/20/15 and the front right zipper tore about one inch. The fabric of the zipper is the part that ripped. I don't put anything in my pockets or operate the zipper. I work in an office, so this problem is not due to sliding, skiing, hiking, or any other physical activity.
I have 6 Columbia jackets and 6 casual dress pants of the same brand, and the zippers are always of good quality. These expensive pants should have zippers of equally high quality.
I love the pants, but I'm disappointed to see that they are not going to last since their quality is not up to the Columbia standard.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
upstateNY
Location: Finger Lakes, New York, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants have performed great during this negative and single digit cold weather we've been experiencing in January/February in upstate NY. I take the bus to work and these have helped keep me toasty while waiting those extras minutes outside when its running late. I really like the omni-heat products (I have a jacket and tights with it too).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants - run large

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Guiduce
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These are great pants. They do, however run quite large. Although described on Columbia's website as "fits slightly small," this is simply not true. I am an exact 33 waist, and since the pant is only available in either 32 or 34, I took the advice of the website and opted for a 34. The pants were nearly 2 sizes too big and I was forced to send them back and buy a 32 instead, which fit perfectly.
So no matter what their web page says, if you're a 32, buy a 30 - if you're a 33 or 34, buy a 32.
Enjoy!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect cold weather hicking pants

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Apks
Location: Nc
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I usually wear 33 waist and 30-32 length pants. The y were out of 32 length so I ordered 34/30. They fit perfect. Plenty of stretch in the material to make them comfortable in any situation. The shoe lace clips are a great idea and are very functional. Excellent product in both quality and functionality.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These pants works so well that I bought a second pair

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
jerryj
Location: Nashua, NH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I looked everywhere for water resistant, insulated and non-bulky pants for back country snowshoeing and finally found these in Dick's. I'm on my 2nd season and I like them so much, I bought a 2nd pair. The fit is similar to cross country ski pants, but articulated at the knees for better freedom of movement. The Omni-Heat lining is super soft and warm and Omni-Shield keeps me dry. The boot lace hooks work great - no gators needed even when slogging through 24" of snow.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These pants rock

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Jerrym
Location: Yakima, WA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am an avid hiker, i hike nearly everyday. I was looking for a pair of cold weather pants that didn't require layering. I live in the cold pacific northwest and these pants do a great job. I was so happy with them i ordered a second pair and want more. I am inbetween a size 32 and 34. I have both and they both fit good. I read other reviews that said these pants were tight on the thighs. I have huge thighs from bike riding and mountain climbing and i find the fit is really good. I wish they came in a few other colors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Belt should be more adjustable to cinch tighter

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Wildman2
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've only worn them once, but they're obviously great pants -- heat bubbles keep you toasty, and the stretchy fabric is comfortable. Two complaints: 1) The Waist and thigh sizing is way off: Thankfully I followed other reviewers' advice and sized up a lot. [I'm almost always a 32W and can wear a 33, but NEVER a 34 -- but in this case, I had to get a 34 in these pants, because the thighs are so skinny! These 34s are by no means loose in the thighs either, they're still skinny! I don't have giant thighs, btw, but pretty average size - I snowboard and run. Why does Columbia size & shape these particular pants so unusually?? BTW, the length I got, 32L, IS correctly sized.] 2) The waist, therefore, is a bit too roomy, so I need to cinch the built-in belt to the MAX -- in fact, more than the max -- but unfortunately it doesn't get tight enough, so the belt (which you cannot remove :-( has some excess slack, which is annoying and doesn't look good. I hope my wife can figure out a workaround and custom tailor it.
Despite the above, I still really like the pants and am glad I bought them, as they're superior to any others I've seen. The two flaws relate to the waist & thigh sizing -- someone in between sizes (e.g., a true 33 or 34W) but with skinny thighs would NOT have these complaints.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

amazing

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
BWilliams
Location: New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a fishing guide in the northeast the cold can become our biggest enemy come the fall months. Its always a battle to keep your core warm. These pants do that and more. Basically they have a light weight feel of a sweat pant functionality of a jean but with the added heat retaining feature of omni heat. I would be breaking ice on the way out in the mornings and these pants kept me nice and toasty.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looking and practical

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
jrmom
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants fit well, though I'd order the next size up (i.e. 34 order a 36). They look great and are perfect for MN cold winds and weather. They are great in the womens pant as well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stop searching. You've found the perfect outdoor pants.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
TBox9
Location: Northern Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I live in Northern Indiana and I walk. 7 days a week. Multiple times/miles a day. In all kinds of weather. I just ordered my third pair of these pants. Not because they wear out, but because I wear them every day and want to wear them the rest of my life. My first pair is 3 years old and still looks/feels as good as new. They keep me warm in really cold weather and not too warm in milder weather. Super comfortable and durable. Fit is perfect (I'm 5'6 and wear the 30 x 32). If you are active and find yourself outside in all kinds of weather, these are absolutely what you're looking for. I cannot recommend them highly enough.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Pair of Pants

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
JPNeely
Location: The South
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well I haven't had a chance to test these out yet because it got warm again, but after receiving these pants, they are well made and from the short time I wore them to make sure they fit I got really hot wearing them. good start I'd say.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winter Pants

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
SnowHiker
Location: Parker, CO, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having just gone through several days of single digit temperatures with below zero chill factors, I can truly testify the warmth and performance of these pants on my hikes and train platform commute here in Denver and Castlewood Canyon State Park.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Viva Passo Alto!

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
spoon
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Im outdoors 300 days a year, from Northern Minnesota to the Ozarks of Missouri. These are the best money can buy! On cold winter days in Minnesota I will wear nothing but.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, warm outdoor trousers

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer avatar
DavidCP
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have not had a chance to really test them but these pants are exactly as described, really warm, really good quality. I bought them for a trip to Bhutan in winter and they fully meet my expectations.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Pants

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Chuckycheese
Location: Texas, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these to kick around the lodge on a Christmas ski trip. Haven't used them yet but the material seems to be high quality. I'm 6'-1/2 and originally bought 36-30, had to send them back because they were just a little on the short side. Got the 36-32 and they fit perfect. Definitely stylish, the Omni heat should be warm too....we'll see.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great multi-purpose pant

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
NateDPG
Location: St. Louis, MO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are pretty legit. I bought them about three weeks ago and just took them on a 4 day February backpack trip in the Ozark Mountains. Temps got down to 30 degrees during the day (below 20 at night) and I wore these pants most of the time. I did layer them with some running tights when it got colder. I stayed warm during the day and they breath well when sweating. I would advise buying one size larger in the waist. These are becoming my go to for dog walks and other cold activities.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Of The Best

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
LinJim
Location: New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants have the variety of features which every active winter pant should have. Warmth and breathability of Omni-Heat; sheds water; wind resistant; gusseted crotch & articulated knees; functional pockets galore; drawstring bottoms w/attached gator hook; zip & snap closures at bottoms also; attached belt; roomy enough to pair w/baselayer if needed; and finally….comfortable! Bought one pair for myself (will buy another) and two pairs for my husband. Great at any price and even better when on sale. We primarily use them for snowshoeing & x-country skiing. If you need one pair of winter pants for whatever activity, I highly recommend these.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice for the price

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
pos1
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
only used once so far for a walk on the lake. About 15 degrees in the evening. Wore a light pair of wicking long underwear below. Blocked the wind well. Was plenty warm. Very comfortable walking in them.
I normally wear a 32-30. I originally bought these in a 32-30 because that was the closest size the store had and I wanted to guarantee the $49 price, but was leary seeing all the online feedback indicating go one size in the waist larger. The 32-30s fit fine, but a little small. So, I just kept watching the web site until a 34-32 came available (which was about 2 weeks later). Got those and they fit awesome. Much more room in the legs for layering and they fit perfectly in the waist.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
JoeF
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit as measured. Warm, flexible and perfect for cross country skiing! Shipping was quick and very good communication.
Another great product from Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for cooler temps in Florida

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Dinz
Location: Tampa Bay
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been looking for a warm pair of pants to wear to the pool in the early morning hours when the temperature drops in what native Floridians consider the winter months. These pants are ideal in blocking wind and creating warmth. I also use them to walk the dog in the morning! They are a GREAT improvement over the warm-up pants I was using previously.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>