Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant

Columbia Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant

Omni-Heat® thermal reflective is printed directly onto the back of durable, repellent, cold-stopping softshell material for a pant that delivers a double shot of warmth and protection: mobility and breathability make these ideal for cool and cold weather aerobic activity.
Overall rating:
4.673 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
48 out of 50(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Review 1 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would give it all excellent based on first use, but just keeping it moderate

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Did exactly what I needed after looking for early winter pants for years. Size, as others said, slightly smaller. I usually wear 36 waist, and 32 inseam. Bought 38x32 and it is just the right fit.
Needed pants for a variety of temps in the same hike.
Start at 30F morning, midhike up to 60F in the sun, 25F over timberline, and then 20F down to 12F windchill in light 15 mph wind, with a mix going down. All perfect. Did not overheat and did not have any trouble with wind.
A typical early winter fourteener hike.
And hardly any usage effects after the hike.
Looks like you can hike quite a few days in a row without any deterioration regarding softness/chaffing.
Movements very easy while scrambling, thanks to the elastic material.
Not even a start of any chaffing or scratching despite my very tight backpack waist belt setting.
Wore light longjohns underneath, but could have gone without it.
Handled occasional steps in deeper snow over one foot without any riding up the leg, without gaiters.
Now just to see prolonged use, and rain resistance and that is it. Pants for life.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flat out love this pant

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Medford, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Without question, this will be my most used piece of gear that I have. the moment I put them on, I knew I loved these pants! the quality of material is nothing short that what you would expect from Columbia's higher end product line. These pants will be great in the rain, and snow as far a thermal regulation goes. I plan on using a shell pant over them for hard rain situations, but for light rain and snow, these will be great as is. I don't know if the hook at the bottom of the leg will truly be useful or not at this point, but they do have one on each leg to hook onto your boots. The side zippers on the leg would be nice if it opened the leg, rather than just loosening the lower leg opening. Other than that, I have no issues with these at all.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pants that Beat Every Expectation

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't like to let the cold slow me down but I don't like to be cold either. These pants are the perfect solution. I mountain bike and run in them. These pants keep me warm with out being restrictive to movement. They out perform the running and biking tights that I have tried over the years. I don't know how Omni Heat works but these pants have kept me just right from below freezing to sunny 50 degree days wind or no wind. Seriously one of my best sportswear purchases ever.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice - but order one size bigger

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Maryland
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought for my dad for Christmas for his evening powerwalks. He said they're great! However, I did listen to other reviews and ordered one size larger. So glad I did! They are definitely a slim fit. My dad is always a 36/30, has been for decades. However, the 38/30 just fit him!
Sizing aside, I was happy with the shipping and quality, and dad says they're very nice.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good warmth and wind protection

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these pants to move back to a cold Midwest climate. They have great wind resistance, extra warm feel, and lack of moisture collection so far. I am much more confident about going on walks in subzero weather without freezing.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for cooler temps in Florida

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Tampa Bay
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been looking for a warm pair of pants to wear to the pool in the early morning hours when the temperature drops in what native Floridians consider the winter months. These pants are ideal in blocking wind and creating warmth. I also use them to walk the dog in the morning! They are a GREAT improvement over the warm-up pants I was using previously.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice for the price

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
only used once so far for a walk on the lake. About 15 degrees in the evening. Wore a light pair of wicking long underwear below. Blocked the wind well. Was plenty warm. Very comfortable walking in them.
I normally wear a 32-30. I originally bought these in a 32-30 because that was the closest size the store had and I wanted to guarantee the $49 price, but was leary seeing all the online feedback indicating go one size in the waist larger. The 32-30s fit fine, but a little small. So, I just kept watching the web site until a 34-32 came available (which was about 2 weeks later). Got those and they fit awesome. Much more room in the legs for layering and they fit perfectly in the waist.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great multi-purpose pant

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: St. Louis, MO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are pretty legit. I bought them about three weeks ago and just took them on a 4 day February backpack trip in the Ozark Mountains. Temps got down to 30 degrees during the day (below 20 at night) and I wore these pants most of the time. I did layer them with some running tights when it got colder. I stayed warm during the day and they breath well when sweating. I would advise buying one size larger in the waist. These are becoming my go to for dog walks and other cold activities.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Viva Passo Alto!

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Im outdoors 300 days a year, from Northern Minnesota to the Ozarks of Missouri. These are the best money can buy! On cold winter days in Minnesota I will wear nothing but.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winter Pants

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Parker, CO, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having just gone through several days of single digit temperatures with below zero chill factors, I can truly testify the warmth and performance of these pants on my hikes and train platform commute here in Denver and Castlewood Canyon State Park.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stop searching. You've found the perfect outdoor pants.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Northern Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I live in Northern Indiana and I walk. 7 days a week. Multiple times/miles a day. In all kinds of weather. I just ordered my third pair of these pants. Not because they wear out, but because I wear them every day and want to wear them the rest of my life. My first pair is 3 years old and still looks/feels as good as new. They keep me warm in really cold weather and not too warm in milder weather. Super comfortable and durable. Fit is perfect (I'm 5'6 and wear the 30 x 32). If you are active and find yourself outside in all kinds of weather, these are absolutely what you're looking for. I cannot recommend them highly enough.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looking and practical

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants fit well, though I'd order the next size up (i.e. 34 order a 36). They look great and are perfect for MN cold winds and weather. They are great in the womens pant as well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Belt should be more adjustable to cinch tighter

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've only worn them once, but they're obviously great pants -- heat bubbles keep you toasty, and the stretchy fabric is comfortable. Two complaints: 1) The Waist and thigh sizing is way off: Thankfully I followed other reviewers' advice and sized up a lot. [I'm almost always a 32W and can wear a 33, but NEVER a 34 -- but in this case, I had to get a 34 in these pants, because the thighs are so skinny! These 34s are by no means loose in the thighs either, they're still skinny! I don't have giant thighs, btw, but pretty average size - I snowboard and run. Why does Columbia size & shape these particular pants so unusually?? BTW, the length I got, 32L, IS correctly sized.] 2) The waist, therefore, is a bit too roomy, so I need to cinch the built-in belt to the MAX -- in fact, more than the max -- but unfortunately it doesn't get tight enough, so the belt (which you cannot remove :-( has some excess slack, which is annoying and doesn't look good. I hope my wife can figure out a workaround and custom tailor it.
Despite the above, I still really like the pants and am glad I bought them, as they're superior to any others I've seen. The two flaws relate to the waist & thigh sizing -- someone in between sizes (e.g., a true 33 or 34W) but with skinny thighs would NOT have these complaints.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These pants rock

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Yakima, WA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am an avid hiker, i hike nearly everyday. I was looking for a pair of cold weather pants that didn't require layering. I live in the cold pacific northwest and these pants do a great job. I was so happy with them i ordered a second pair and want more. I am inbetween a size 32 and 34. I have both and they both fit good. I read other reviews that said these pants were tight on the thighs. I have huge thighs from bike riding and mountain climbing and i find the fit is really good. I wish they came in a few other colors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants - run large

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These are great pants. They do, however run quite large. Although described on Columbia's website as "fits slightly small," this is simply not true. I am an exact 33 waist, and since the pant is only available in either 32 or 34, I took the advice of the website and opted for a 34. The pants were nearly 2 sizes too big and I was forced to send them back and buy a 32 instead, which fit perfectly.
So no matter what their web page says, if you're a 32, buy a 30 - if you're a 33 or 34, buy a 32.
Enjoy!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Finger Lakes, New York, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants have performed great during this negative and single digit cold weather we've been experiencing in January/February in upstate NY. I take the bus to work and these have helped keep me toasty while waiting those extras minutes outside when its running late. I really like the omni-heat products (I have a jacket and tights with it too).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality zippers

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Beloit, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought these pants on 1/27/15. Today is 2/20/15 and the front right zipper tore about one inch. The fabric of the zipper is the part that ripped. I don't put anything in my pockets or operate the zipper. I work in an office, so this problem is not due to sliding, skiing, hiking, or any other physical activity.
I have 6 Columbia jackets and 6 casual dress pants of the same brand, and the zippers are always of good quality. These expensive pants should have zippers of equally high quality.
I love the pants, but I'm disappointed to see that they are not going to last since their quality is not up to the Columbia standard.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Passo Alto ski pants

PostedNovember 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis−Saint Paul MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product and keeps you warm; this is my second pair. They work and fit to size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants

PostedJanuary 8, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are extremely well made. The fabric is thick but they wear very light and comfortable. I wear them during winter golf months and they keep my legs warm in high 30s to low 40s degree weather. They're obviously not as warm as snowboard pants but they're perfect for golf. I'm getting a second pair because they're on sale right now. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Passo Alto™ Heat Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paso Alto pant

PostedJanuary 29, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Piedmont NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the Paso Alto heat pant as a gift for my very picky 90-year-old father. He needed something for his daily walks when the weather is cold. Not only was I impressed with the garment but he is thrilled, and can't stop talking about the pants. They keep out the wind and he stays warm He loved the ability to make adjustments at the ankles and at the waist. The fit is perfect. Thanks Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>