Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly

What’s next to your skin sets the stage for your comfort: don’t mess around. Developed with top physiologists, Columbia’s new heavyweight baselayers offer our highest warmth-to-weight ratio for optimal comfort in extreme winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.95 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Review 1 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ski Patroller

PostedApril 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
thepatroller
Location: Wrightwood
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive been on patrol for 14 seasons, best base layer Ive ever used!
Activities: Skiing
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm w/o weight

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
flower63
Location: Fossil, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Both the top and the tights are very warm w/o any bulkiness. Fabric is not itchy and it does keep me dry. I am a cattle rancher and feed by hand in all kinds of weather conditions. These keep me comfortable. I like the zip neck.
my wife is flower63-not me!
Activities: Other
Conditions: Sweaty, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product does the job

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
david0197
Location: hamilton ohio
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
  • Expert
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have had the baselayer for a few months, now i feel i can give a good review. they have a great fit and light weight, i have gone out hunting many timed with temps in the low 20's with wind chills in the teens and stayed warmer than i would have with my regular thermals. if you do any kind of activity all i can say is wow you wont need much else.
Activities: Hunting Big Game, Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duck Hunting

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patty53
Location: Troutdale Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Baselayer kept me very warm on several duck hunting trips. I was almost too warm. I am very satisfied with the baselayer, and have recommended it to several people.
Activities: Hunting Waterfowl, Boating, Hunting Big Game
Conditions: Rainy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Emperor's New Clothes Feel

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monkeyboy
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a variety of underlayers of varying weights and product lines. It has always seemed items like these are just good for thermal protection but not always super comfortable. They either fit loose and baggy or tight enough to notice their presense. Not this baselayer. These babies feel like you have nothing on at all! No restrictions. No binding, tightness or bagginess. In addition to this, they are labeled Heavyweight, yet their fabric is as light and thin as a typical lightweight. They've applied their advanced OMNI-HEAT Thermal Reflective feature (inner-surface metalic circular pattern) to the inside of the material. This reflects your own body heat back on itself, increasing warmth by 20%. It also is slick for easier dressing and super comfort. My body temp burns hot and I do not like feeling restrictions of clothing----these are the Bomb!!!
Activities: Climbing, Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Other, Snowshoeing, Kayaking, Running
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing, White Water
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Base Layer

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoshS
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work good so far. I haven't tried them in really cold yet.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Commuting
Conditions: City, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmest Baselayer Pants

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
TrevB
Location: Greenville, NC
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are by far the best baselayer pants I have ever had. I own some other baselayer pants and these are easily the warmest and most comfortable. They do fit slightly large but I actually appreciate the fit. They aren't super tight to the point I have trouble putting them on but they aren't too big. They are just right. I would say when getting a size if you normally wear small or medium or whatnot, get your normal size. Summary: buy these pants.
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: City, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thin, lightweight and effective

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
vinodude
Location: Denver, CO
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is actually my second pair. I was so impressed by the first pair I bought, I got a spare pair. I like the fact they're thin and comfortable. This helps when having to wear them under lighter weight business casual slacks, which is my primary use.
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Long Underwear Bottoms!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Clayt
Location: Houston, Texas
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great base layer bottoms, worth the price! Very comfortable, fit great, just the right thickness for cold, damp winter wade fishing here in Texas. And they are multi use: you can dress up for Romeo & Juliet sword fights, complete with cod piece. Turn them inside out to expose the silver dots and you can do Michael Jackson dance routines!
Activities: Trail, Canoeing, Hiking/Trekking, Fishing - Flats Fishing, Camping, Boating, Kayaking, Vacation
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Baselayer tight

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nyla
Location: Oregon
Employee: Yes
  • Employee
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my son along with the top for Christmas and he absolutely loves them, they are exactly what he needed for his job and he said they keep him really warm.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Haven't used yet but seem great

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
NancyD
Location: WV
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and should keep me warm on ski trip next month worn under Columbia ski pants with Omni Shield.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent baselayer

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Genthar
Location: Escondido, CA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The fit is excellent for a base-layer, and they are very comfortable over a wide temperature range. The fly is just a little awkward as the panels are fairly wide, but it's far better than not having a fly.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect with my Headwall pants

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
DizzynDenver
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear these snowshoeing and they're fantastic. I also wear them hunting or anytime I want to stay warm. watching outdoor football in late fall, oh yeah..
Activities: Snowshoeing, Hunting Upland
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marshall
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These fit great and will keep you warm in any cold weather condition.
Activities: Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Mountaineering, Hunting Waterfowl, Hunting Big Game, Snowboarding, Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: Sweaty, Snowy, Freezing, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot Pants

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
RobH
Location: Massachusetts
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Now that I have this pant I'm totally hot.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Boating, Other
Conditions: Windy, Freezing, Open Ocean, Other
I would recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome pants

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
ksquared
just wore these pants on a 3 day mountaineering trip in CO and I was thoroughly impressed. Temps ranging from 25F to sub zero with wind chill, I was only wearing these base layers and a thin softshell pant. To my surprise, I never needed to add my shell pant, even above 14,000Ft in sub-zero wind chill. On the flip side, i did not overheat on the approach in or hike out in temps of low 30's. versatile and exceptional comfort.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Running pant

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bnash
Location: Portland,Or
After one to many runs in the rain I finally against my better judgement bought some running tights. They are awesome and I much much warmer! They are true to size and well worth it.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavyweight Tight

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cowpuncher
Location: Montana
I purchased mainly for hunting and ice fishing. I used for hunting at 20 degrees. The fit was great and very comfortable. Body hugging but not constricting. Very well made. I can't really state that for sitting long periods outside that the omni heat provided any more heat than my other brand baselayers. I believe to enjoy the omni heat you may have to be moving, providing body heat to fully utilize this benefit.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm and comfortable

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
zak293
Location: Louisville, Ohio
I bought these for my son to wear under his band uniform at football games. The other night was between 40 and 45 degrees with about a 10 mile per hour breeze. He said that they were great. Much better than the long johns he tried last year. I'm interested to see how they do when it gets a little colder.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Tight with Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product - keeps you warm and dry

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bittu
Location: Connecticut
I have used this product as a base layer for outdoor sporting events on exceptionally cold new england fall days and find it to be comfortabl; keeps you warm and the sweat is whisked away from the skin so you stay dry. It is non bulky and so you don't even feel it is there. A revolution for base layer on cold days for out door activities.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.