Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Heavyweight Tight w/Fly

Columbia Men's Heavyweight Tight w/Fly

A toasty compression baselayer for dynamic activity in the deep cold, this heavyweight tight is a strategic hybrid of stretchy, body heat retaining thermal reflective waffle fabric and Omni-Wick® stretch jersey. The result? The perfect balance of warmth and move-with-you comfort.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 9(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Heavyweight Tight w/Fly
Review 1 for Men's Heavyweight Tight w/Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solved a huge problem for me.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
DABE8830
Location: Cordova, TN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deer, duck and pheasant hunting all involve, walking, sitting, or standing in freezing water up to your chest. You get cold, tired and sometimes even board. But your leg muscles take a beating, at least mine do. Later, about 2 am, the leg cramps hit and hit hard. Anterior Tibial, hamstrings and groin all go into spasm at the same time, I can't get to the shower fast enough. Steaming almost scalding hot water is the only way I can get relief.
I have been using heavyweight Competitive product for 3 years and I admit I stay warm, but the leg cramps still visit me about 2 am.
I bought my first pair of Columbia Heavyweight omni-heat tight/fly bottoms last Friday. Saturday morning I sat in a deer stand for 3 hr. Temp in the 40's and I was very comfortable. Saturday night no leg cramps. Sunday duck hunting in green timber using chest waders, air temp 28 degrees, had to bust ice to get in the hole. Again I was very comfortable and again no leg cramps Sunday night.
I believe there is something to this technology of reflecting the body heat back onto the body. All I know is that it is working for me. And, today I bought another pair of bottoms and a shirt. Looking for a pair of omni-heat gloves, but so not to impressed with the offerings.
If you are suffering from leg cramps after a day of hunting, you should try these.
Ps. My wife is the one who told me to go and get the second pair.
"Hang the cost, if I can sleep past 2 am after a day of your hunting, it's worth every penny."
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Heavyweight Tight w/Fly
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

really so bad

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
hakim
Location: brooklyn
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
qualite is so bad i used it couples times and after that it waste...............
I do not recommend this product.
-13points
0of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Heavyweight Tight w/Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for colder weather runs!

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
mattymatt
Location: San Diego, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm in San Diego, CA and recently the temperatures have gotten down to the mid-30s to low-40s. I typically run in a pair of CW-X compression tights that don't keep the temperature in very well. I was originally skeptical of these but after my run tonight my legs were nice and toasty! I am really happy with this purchase and really glad I bought them!
We'll have to see how they fare next weekend in Northern California...
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Heavyweight Tight w/Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Bobbyb
Location: Pittsburgh
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
super great item. keeps you warm.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Heavyweight Tight w/Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fit

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
CLSmooth
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 5"10 182lbs atheletic build. i bought the medium. Fits great, not snug. moves with your body. Keeps you very warm in temps above 20 degrees. Love it!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Heavyweight Tight w/Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hunter approved

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
MNHuntsman
Location: Minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These were great for sitting in the stand. Best used in combination with wind proof pant. little movement and I was still able to stay warm in 10 Degree weather. When moving they dissipated access heat and sweat keeping me dry.
Attention all HUNTERS!! Purchase is a must have in your hunting arsenal!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Heavyweight Tight w/Fly
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice quality great fit

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
timezoned
Location: Seattle, Wa
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far so good, only time will tell if there up to the rigors of brutal use. can't give a 5 star till I see how well they hold up.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Heavyweight Tight w/Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

True to size

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Redfish101
Location: Tallahassee,Fl
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Very happy with the heavy weight layer. I hunt in the South so these are more than enough for temps in the 30's and below if needed.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Heavyweight Tight w/Fly
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the Outdoors enthusiast

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Chefbowpro
Location: Haw River, NC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have these in the tops, bottoms and the Omni-Heat Reflective Max-4 Camo jacket. I basically replaced my whole Fall hunting clothing with 4 purchases from Columbia.
The pants are perfect! Length, fit and ability to "adjust" to different position without binding and such is great. I hike in to my hunting location with just a slipover thin camo mesh pant and then change when at the stand into warmer outer wear and relax in perfect comfort and warmth. Make sure you wear your harness, you may fall asleep in such comfort!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.