Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant

Columbia Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant

This lightweight, comfortable pant boasts a trifecta of protective awesomeness: Insect Blocker™ technology wards off bugs, UPF 30 wards off harsh UV rays, and Omni-Wick™ advanced evaporation keeps you cool and dry during dynamic activity.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
9 out of 11(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Review 1 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

They run extremely small

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Lindab73
Location: Vancouver,WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Woman's pants are either too big or too small in the Insect Blocker so I have to buy men's. I have a pair that I bought in 2012 in size 32 and they are a bit roomy. My second order was for a 38 since the 34 was so small. I couldn't come close to buttoning it. Really?!? I like the tailored look and the color a lot. Very disappointed about the sizing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

exchange please

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
padddyboy8
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Where to I go to find out how to send the pants back in exchange for another shirt. Love the shirt and the pants are just ok but not for me.
I do not recommend this product.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best hiking pants ever!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
JimC4
Location: Portland, OR
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I haven't hiked in a really buggy area since owning these pants. So I cannot comment on the effectiveness of blocking bugs. However, as hiking pants, bugs or not, they are superb! They are summer weight for sure. Very light. Very cool. Not waterproof, but quite water repellant. I walked through tall dew covered grass. They repelled the water for a while. Eventually soaked through, but then dried very quickly from natural body heat once I left the wet area. Later I washed them in a stream. Less than an hour hanging on a line and they dried completely. The leg cinched convert them to shorts much easier than zip-off leg bottoms. This feature is common in women's pants, but hard to find in men's. They do run small. The seam in the seat needs to be stronger. Mine raveled loose after about 10 days. This may have been due partially to the tighter-than-normal fit. All in all a great product!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

FIT

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
ARROWPILOT
Location: PAWLEY'S ISLAND, SC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PANT WAIST RUNS TOO SMALL EVEN WITH THE SO CALLED ELASTIC WAIST BAND. HARDLY ANY STRETCH AT ALL
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tick proof!

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer avatar
moosaki
Location: Martinsburg WV
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Besides affording insect repellence, the are nice looking, light weight pants. They fit well & are good looking.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very snappy look, great details

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
nancy48
Location: Vancouver,WA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are almost perfect, just a teensy bit short in the rise, but not a problem, just a little different fit from the favorite Silverideg shorts. Details are great, reinforced yellow stitches on the back and yellow trim on the lining of the gray pants. These can be dressy with the Tamiami shirts, or totally casual with t shirt. Fabric is so breathable and pockets are perfect. Home run!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Poster Child

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer avatar
KennyS
Location: Pickerington, OH
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I guess I could be the poster child of these pants since I just returned from two weeks in Cambodia where I spent four of those days in the insect invested waters of the Tone Sap Lake, Between there and my time in Phnom Penh when I wore these pants I was not bit once.
As I have read elsewhere these are a snug fit and i would suggest ordering one waist size up.
Great, durable, protective outdoor gear.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pants ever

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
cookie69
Location: Blue Ridge, Ga
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband has a heart condition and suffers from the heat. We discovered the shirts for this some time ago. These pants make a wonderful contribution to his comfort.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more Scratching

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Pineman
Location: North Mississippi
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great product. I am exposed to ticks, chiggers, and other bitting insects almost on a daily basis and while wearing these pants I have had very few bites compared to what I had before I got them. They also fit me like more expensive pants. Keep up your good work Columbia. I'll be getting another pair.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bug Shield Cargo Pants

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Birdbob
Location: denver
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like these pants, the fabric feels authentic, but light. The only problem I found is the sizing. I always wear a 34 waist but I found a 36 gave me the best fit with these pants
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best All Around Pants

PostedApril 1, 2012
Customer avatar
BigJeff
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For anyone who is constantly engaged in some general outdoor activity these are the best pants I have ever worn. They are extremely comfortable, lightweight, quick-drying, and functional. I now wear them all the time!
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Fishing - Flats Fishing, Boating, Other, Fishing - Deep Sea, Vacation
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Bug Infested, Open Ocean, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.