Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant

Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant

From boulder hopping to fjord fording, this multi-talented cargo works overtime to keep you cool and comfortable. It’s lightweight yet rugged, with an über-comfy cut featuring a gusset detail for ultimate freedom of movement.
Overall rating:
4.276 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(163 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 163 reviews
5 Stars
91
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
11
1 Star
5
143 out of 159(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Review 1 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

RU

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Pants are great. Fit well and comfortable.
Would like to see them offered in a light tan color. The color swatches on the website are very hard to discern as they are too small and too similar looking
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New but not really improved.

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Afghanistan
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Don't get me wrong, these pants are great. About six or seven years ago I bought two pairs of the previous version of these pants and they are still holding up great. I'm back in Afghanistan again and thought it would be nice to have a couple of extra pairs. The previous version of these pants were a little bit better and here's why. The previous version had a zipper on each cargo pocket and snaps on the back pockets. Zippers are a great way to be sure nothing falls out. The new version has a very small velcro closure on the right cargo and back pockets and just the one zipper on the left cargo pocket. The previous version also had a small elastic loop in the right front pocket. This is great for hanging on to keys or a pocket knife the new one does not.
But the fit, flexibility and packability of the new version seems to be just as good as the old ones.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other
Conditions: Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Muddy, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pants I ever had!

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: South Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit and feel great! Repels Light rain and snow. I'd buy more but apparently columbia has stopped manufacturing 30 Inseam - I am very annoyed by this. Good look trying to get rid of size 44!
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Mountaineering
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Muddy, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Columbia products I have

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All of my shorts and outdoor casual pants are Columbia. Only brand I buy and I know they will fit, comfortable, and functional. Just wish there were more color selections available.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Silver Ridge Cargo Pant

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Greenville, NC (formerly of Seattle)
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this pair of Men's Silver Ridge Cargo Pant because the pair I have worn since the early 1990's was becoming too stained to wear in public. And a bit too small in the waistline (which is my fault not the fault of the pants). I still wear my old pair to work in the garden take walks at night. I hope that my new pair lasts half as long. Thanks for making such a fine, strong, long-lasting product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

like it but not as much as before

PostedMay 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Orlando
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had the prior version and liked it better. I am a size 36 and I ordered a 36 and it is a little tight across the front and crouch. You do need to order a size bigger to be comfortable; not a good thing Columbia. Both back pockets have a small velcro strip to keep it down, but it is not adequate. I would prefer one back pocket to be zipper and the other a velcro about twice the size. I will take the new pants to the seamstress and have her add another velcro strip and maybe a back pocket zipper. The security pocket is the left cargo pocket and it is at the kneecap and it bangs into your kneecap all the time; so you can only carry something very light weight. While I am still a fan of Columbia sportswear I am concerned that the accountants are cutting cost and now in charge instead of people that love the brand.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these pants!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are awesome! Lightweight, comfortable, and dry fast. Great use of pockets, honestly wish I could wear them everyday. I'm hooked, had two older pairs and wore them out, just bought two new sets of Silver Ridge's and when I'm not wearing these, I'm wearing the Silver Ridge shorts. Highly recommend if you want a lightweight, breathable pant with a lot of function. Pretty much awesome for every activity!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good in very warm weather

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lightweight pant (nylon/polyester)keeps you cool even in very warm weaher (85-92). Fit is better than the old style of large (baggyer)since it now comes in waist/length specific sizes. One note is I orderd 36-32 even though my waist size is slightly larger than 34. I tried these on in a local store and 34 was too small in the waist for me. The baggyness is gone from this newer style and fits more closer to an actual pant. I like the better fit. That is why I gave it a fits slightly small rating for the waist issue, length is true to fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants, BUT

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Richmond, Va.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been wearing Columbia pants for more than 10 years and these are the first to have the wrong inseam. I had to have these shortened by almost 3 inches to keep from walking on the pant legs. The pants fit me correctly in the waist. They are very comfortable and cooler than other pants I have. I wear these on hot days for working outside and hiking.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great all-around pants.

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Southeast Asia
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit and very comfortable material. They are great in the field, and I feel comfortable wearing them around town. Definitely recommended.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good with some issues

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: York, Maine
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I returned my first purchase because it was cut too tight in the hips and waist (and I am fairly skinny there). I like the product otherwise. Fairly soft for nylon, good features, well constructed. I have ordered a size larger which I expect will be a little loose in the waist but looser in the hips.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product has good features, but...

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I did buy a second pair of the pants, however I prefer velcro pocket closures and would like to see the addition of a cell phone pocket. Good job with having the belt be removable.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product but one fewer zippered pocket than Titanium model

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Long Island, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The cargo pants are excellent. Very thin weight and cool. Great for travelling. I ordered a second pair even though I was slightly disappointed there was no seventh pocket on the right side. I have the older titanium model of Silver Ridge convertible pants that did have that zippered "secret" pocket, and I have relied on that pocket for security and convenience. Please bring back seventh pocket!!!!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable & Lightweight hot weather pants.

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Leavenworth, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these pants to wear as uniform pants when the temps rise into the 90's. They are much more comfortable than the OR & North Face pants I own. Very happy with these & will be purchasing the convertible version for sure.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for being stuck in a meeting !

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: phenix city , AL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i hate meetings and classes .... someone is always too cold so they adjust the air and then everyone else bakes .... these pants and my breathable columbia shirts have been a sweet relief to days like that. these feel like pants i can wear fishing or kayaking but look nice enough to wear to work or church.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a functional fit

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Northern Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The fit on these pants is such that if you have anything as large as a cell phone or wallet in the pockets they are uncomfortable. Last years Silver Ridge pants fit much better.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Will be wearing jeans less often

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Manzanita, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good fit, very comfortable. I like the pocket arrangement and qty. Sometimes pockets on these type of pants are too shallow but not these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super Lightweight

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wore them several times for a Disneyworld vacationn, needed a lightweight long pants that look good extremely functional and breathable. The temperature was 80 in the day and in the 50's at night so these worked out very well. Extra zip cargo pockets were great located excellent for getting what you needed out. I am fairly thin and was surprised the crotch area fits as snug as it does, may want to go for the extra inch size up especially if you are marginal. Surpriseingly the shorts I bought had the extra crotch space though they are the same pants.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Silver Ridge Cargo Pant

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants fit all of my criteria, they are lightweight, quick-drying, and have a great fit. If I have only one complaint, it is availability. I ordered one pair to determine whether or not I wanted additional pairs. When I tried to order more size 34x30 was no longer available in the color I wanted. My recommendation would be when ordering get as many pair as you may want while sizes are available. I find this true with most slacks from Columbia. They are all very popular.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cargo pants

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Santa Clarita, Ca.
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Actually I returned the pants. I have a pair of the Columbia cargo pants I purchased from I believe REI. I really like them & wanted to purchase more.i could not find again @ REI. That's when I checked on line. The pants I ordered did not fit as well and were a thinner material.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next>>