Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant

Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant

One minute you’re tackling a ridge, the next minute you’re running a river. These convertible pants are the ideal solution for both multi-sport outings and unpredictable weather conditions.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(166 reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 166 reviews
5 Stars
112
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
6
1 Star
2
156 out of 165(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Review 1 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Pants But too tight

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just received these pants in the mail today. I was very impressed with the overall appearance and quality of the pants. However, they were simply way too tight in the thigh and butt area. I wear a size 34x30 in every pair of pants and jeans that I own. These pants fit ok in the waist, but the thigh and butt area were skin tight. I really hated this, because I loved everything else about the pants. I really like the fact that Columbia adds cargo pockets to the pants. I also like the fact that they incorporated a removable belt and an elastic waist. Unfortunately, I will have to return them. I'm not sure if it would do me any good to order a larger waist size. If Columbia would make these pants roomier...they would be the perfect hiking pant.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byConhawa
WV
 
Please wait while more information about Conhawa is loaded.
Additional information about Conhawa could not be loaded.
Updated Review!!!
onMarch 12, 2012
I decided to give these pants another try...so I ordered the next size up. I normally wear a size 34x30, but I ordered two more pairs in 36x30. I received them today, and the fit is perfect. Unless you have skinny legs and butt...I would highly recommend ordering up a size in the waist. I now have plenty of room for movement.
I had previously looked at hiking pants from all the other popular manufacturers...but Columbia is the only one that offers a more traditional styling with "true" external cargo pockets. I would like to see Columbia offer a similar style of pants with slightly heavier material for the cooler months....maybe without mesh pockets. These pants are a winner for me.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Trousers

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are the most versatile, lightweight, breathable, stylish pair of pants I have ever owned. The comfort alone is fantastic... I especially like the slightly elastic hips.
I love how these pants are true to the "classic" fit...and is great for slimmer guys. There are plenty of baggy pants out there for guys wanting relaxed fits . These Columbia pants are perfect!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants!

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Green River, WY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the fit and feel. We were hoping to order a similar pant from you, got these instead. They are actually better.
Activities: Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: Sunny, Windy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too tight in the crotch

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are generally awesome with the exception on two things. First, the pants are way too tight in the crotch area, it is as if they chose one place to skimp on proportionally sizing the pair of pants and that was it. The second thing is that the threading around the crotch area is pretty poor, I have worn my pants twice and the seams are starting to come undone, this just seems like poor craftsmanship. I have a friend who has the same type of pants and the same thing is also happening with his pair. This just shows me that these products aren't really built to last and are overpriced for what you do get.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Mountain Biking
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Windy, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Silver Ridge Convertable pants

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have 2 pair now & bought the third because of how well the other 2 have worked out for me. I took one pair with me to the Grand Canyon and their durability against cactus, rocks, and other hazardous things on rough trails made me a believer. After getting home & washing them they looked like new.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Camping
Conditions: Sunny, Rainy, Freezing, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Quality

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The pants are very high quality, but around the butt and thighs they very snug. I am returning them to see if the a larger size will fit better in this area.
Activities: Trail, Swimming, Vacation, Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful on trip to Mexico

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Boulder, Colorado, USA // World
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these pants at my local REI store just prior to a recent seven day trip to Mexico. I'm a "compact" guy -- hard to fit -- and the 32x30 size was perfect.
The lightweight and easily packable poly fabric was awesome in hot and humid Mexico. I've given up an cotton, much preferring poly fabrics in the tropics on trips to places like Mexico, Costa Rica and Hawaii.
I wore the shorts every day in places like Playa del Carmen, Cozumel and Punta Laguna, zipping on the leggings for dressier dinners at upscale restaurants.
I took a pair of my beloved -- and well-traveled -- Columbia Titanium cargo shorts but I didn't wear them a single time.
Next on my shopping list: Another pair of Silver Ridge pants but this time maybe in the Peatmoss color; I already have Tusk.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Other, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Humid, Other, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants!

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sonoma County California
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love everything about these pants including the good fit. The belt is a nice feature but not necessary since they fit so well. The workmanship is a bit lacking with some of the stitching. The velcro closures on the pockets in particular are weak and are coming apart. I could return them but most likely won't because my size seems to be uncommon at 32 x 34. I should also say that I am very particular about my clothes and the way that they fit and function, so to say that I was pleased with them and was willing to buy several more pairs through the website is really saying alot. This is especially true since I am an admitted tightwad and usually only spend what I paid for one pair in an entire year!
Activities: Other
Conditions: Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Muddy, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

3rd times the charm

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Florida
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just received this year’s (2012) re-designed Men's Silver Ridge Convertible Pants... XLNT
Have been buying these for the last 3 years. Last years were the worst... inside of the pockets to small.. no elastic areas on waist.. belt way to stiff.
This years are the BEST.. They changed the belt.. xlnt. They changed the pocket size, larger like the year before.. Xlnt. And re-did the elastic in the waist. XLNT. Hope they hold up well like always.
I do miss the extra right side zipper for my money.. Wish they would add it in next years re-design.
I am impressed... Columbia, you are listening to your customers. THANKS
Activities: Other
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Humid, Muddy, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Execellent pant to run in

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great for running especially in the winter months. I do tough mudders and goruck challenges and these are great. They dry very quickly, are very comfortable and look cool. I'd advise to to be careful on sizing. buy 2 sizes larger in the waist. I normally wear a 32 waist but that size felt very tight so I got the 34 waist and they fit very nicely.
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Other, Running
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Muddy, Other, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

What's wrong with Black

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Orlando, Florida
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased these only because I love the Nylon material they are made of. I wear for casual use and golf. I would have preferred Black but Grey was as close as I could get...if they ever come in Black I'll buy another pair. I also would like to see a split or zipper opening on the bottom of the legs.
Activities: Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great addition to my Columbia Collection

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Vancouver, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Both my wife and I have many Columbia shirts, coats, jackets, pants, shorts, gloves and hats. Recently I added 2 pair of green Silver Ridge pants to my Columbia Collection. I have different colors of these great pants, which I use both at home and on vacation. The versatility of the zipping off the bottom half of these
pants converting them into shorts is great. My wife and I love to travel to tropical destinations and these pants just plain allows
me to minimize what I need to pack for a trip, being a pant and
a pair shorts all in one garment. Meaning I can use a carry on vs paying the penalty for check in luggage and still look great for our adventures.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Boating, Other, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Humid, Open Ocean, Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit well if you're not used to "relaxed fit" pants

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you're used to a relaxed fit pair of pants these may not be the ones for you, but if you like a pair of well cut pants that are durable and trail friendly then try these! I bought two pairs and for me they fit great. I wore them on a weekend backpack trip right out of the box and they stood the test. I would recommend them to anyone that prefers an athletic fit versus a baggy cargo pants fit. The sizing for me (waist and length) was right on the money.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Other
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pants

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent convertible cargo pants. Fit great. Lightweight, durable, and easy care.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Bug Infested, Open Ocean, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Silver Ridge

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Mesa Arizona
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pair of activewear pants-have 6 pairs total of the older Silver Ridge and this new pair.
Especially like the utility of being able to detach the pants legs to make shorts!
Great quality, price is OK-a bit spendy, but quality is definitely there.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Silver Ridge Convertible Pant - AWESOME

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Yakima, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband wanted to try these pants for an upcoming motorcycle trip he is planning. We received the pants and he has worn them constantly. The weather has been hot, so he can ride his bike to work, and when it gets hot, unzip the legs and have a pair of lightweight shorts. He says the pants are VERY comfortable to wear and then great when it gets hot and he can convert to shorts at a minutes notice, then back on again for the trip home. He gives these pants an A+++++
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool Sun protection

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
As a fishing guide, I'm on the water all day long. Having clothes that will keep you cool and being able to give sun protection is mandatory. My silver Ridge long pants do just that. Very light weight and quick drying out on the water for those really hot days that wearing shorts would leave me fried. Thanks Columbia, I don't leave the dock without my Columbia gear on.
Capt. Greg
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Silver Ridge Convertibles - Lightweight, Quick Dry, Contoured Fit

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ventura, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love convertible pants for their functional efficiency. I purchased the Silver Ridge Convertibles as an alternative to my REI Sahara Convertibles, which I found were slightly too baggy. The Silver Ridge's aren't necessarily a "slim fight" but they are contoured to the body and don't flop around in the wind while still offering great range of motion.
I'm appox. 5"8, and 170 lbs. Size wise I'm a pretty consistent 34" waist throughout most companies, occasionally 36" if they're sized-small, sometimes 32 or 33" if they're stretchy.
The Silver Ridge's fit perfectly at a 34"Waist and 30" Inseam. I barely have to tighten the belt.
I've owned these convertibles for around two weeks and thus far they seem to be thoroughly high quality, very light weight and packable, quick to dry, look great as shorts and pants, and have great color options.
The integrated belt with clip buckle is nice and functional and the normal pant button seems to be quality, however, part of me wants a snap button instead because most of my other convertibles have one and it's nice & easy to undo.
The pocket liners are mesh, which is great for breathability and drying, however, part of me thinks that the pocket stitching could come undone or the mesh could tear, leaving hole-y pockets. So far so good, though!!
Might also be nice to have a small zippered pocket in one of the main pockets. Some of my other convertibles have this and it's nice to be able to put some change, or a camera's memory card, or my earrings when I hit the ocean and don't want to lose them!
In the end I would DEFINITELY recommend these as a lightweight, quick drying, breathable, packable pair of pants/shorts for hikers, backpackers, travelers, around-towners, and more!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Silver Ridge Convertible Pants

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered these pants off the Columbia website, in green. Light, functional, and they look great! When it comes to bush-wacking, the thin material gets caught often, but when it comes to just hiking around on a clear path, they work great. I highly recommend the Silver Ride pants.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The right fit and confort

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Alabama
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All of the Columbia products I have ever ordered have been of excellent quality and the Silver Ridge Convertible pants are no exception. I like the fit, the comfort, the material and the construction. Since I'm retired, I'll probably wear these year round.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next>>