Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt

Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt

Crafted from über-light Silver Ridge nylon basketweave, this classic outdoorsman shirt protects you from the sun, as well as actively breathing and transmitting moisture away from your skin for cool-wearing comfort.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
0
35 out of 39(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Review 1 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is another high quality product from columbia.
The fit is good and the material quality is great
Activities: Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Humid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing Shirt

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Austin, TX
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I recently bought 3 men's Silver Ridge short sleeve shirts online. Having bought numerous shirts and other products from Columbia with which I have been pleased. But I was very disappointed in these shirts. The fit is uncharacteristically small - skimpy is a better adjective. It's as if they designed this on the small side. However, it was not advertised as "slim cut" or "fitted". I'm very disappointed in the fit and finish.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shirt, but do need to size up if comparing to PFG

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Valdosta, GA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered a medium, because I normally wear a medium in Columbia's PFG shirts...word to the wise, If you wear a medium PFG shirt and want it to fit like a PFG order a large in this shirt. I reordered a large and sent the medium back, and just got it in and it fits perfect.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Humid, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile & Comfortable

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Bedford, IN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Silver Ridge! The nylon material is really soft & comfortable but tough. This shirt is lightweight but sturdy and it dries really quickly. This shirt can easily pull off a nice casual look but is also appropriately sporty for outdoor use. It looks great and performs well and will get extensive use from me both indoors & outdoors.
On a side note, I noticed some reviewers saying this runs small. It is not cut as generously as Columbia's PFG shirts which tend to fit really lose, but I'd say this runs pretty normal for its size - just not as large as Columbia's PFG shirts.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shirt!

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
True fitting shirt which wicks away the moisture. Great shirt for outdoors or inside on a hot day without air conditioning (yes that's why I bought the item).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Looks great, but...

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Southeast Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Columbia sportswear offers quality products.
I thought a bit different after washing twice, and drying once.
The first time I threw the shirt in the washer, I pulled it out afterwards and thought, this will turn out OK on a low dryer temp.
No.
It was smaller than expected.
I washed it again (cold of coarse) and put it on a hanger to dry.
My husband pointed out to me that the threads on the buttons were fraying.
That was not the case with the Blood and Guts shirt I purchased on the same day.
A bit surprised and dissapointed.
I have the recept on the counter considering a return.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't live in TX without it . . .

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Houston, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shirt is perfect for high heat, outdoor activities. In Texas, the summers soar into the triple digits. This shirt keeps you cool, keeps you protected, and keeps you dry. This is the shirt that should be given to anyone before entering Texas.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable shirt

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New Jersey
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shirt has proved very comfortable for travel and for casual purposes. I'm looking forward to continued use in every day wear. It's a nice shirt maybe not quite nice enough for a more formal business setting but definitely a nice casual shirt for any purpose.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Color on Website is not accurate

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Tennessee
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this shirt, based on the picture on the website, which to me looks black. It is actually a slate gray, so that is why I gave it a lower rating. Otherwise, the shirt appears to be well made (I haven't worn it yet). Even though I can't use the shirt for the intended function because of the color, I still like it.
I would recommend this product.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Red shirt

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Saint Louis
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Unlike the black one that was way to large. The red one was too small.
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I use these to work, easy to iron. Easy to put on...

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product fits great
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Had to return it

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Color does not match photo
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelent comfort!

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This model has a slight little fit but I already knew that by reading these reviews so I ordered one bigger size (L) and they are perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Outdoor/Casual Shirt

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased several of these and the long sleeve version. The fit of the SS version is true to size, LS runs a little small. The fabric has a good feel, the shirt dries quickly when wet. Perfect for outdoor/casual wear.
The only thing missing is a pen slot in the pocket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality, true to brand name

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Tennessee USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first purchase of the Silver Ridge shirts. Love the feel and comfort fit. Great for travel. Minimal wrinkles, light weight, fast drying with hand washing. I purchased these in Hungary; buy them elsewhere...at least 30% higher in cost in Eastern Europe.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Shirt

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Oakland, Ca
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great shirt! I love that I can wear it out for a hike with a pair of shorts on Sunday and wear it to work on Monday with some cargo pants or even jeans. I very good, all around shirt!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Perfect Shirt

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been searching for a shirt like this for a while, and now I've found two that fit the bill, this Columbia Silver Ridge and the Columbia Global Adventure shirts. I've been a long term wearer of the Columbia Bonehead shirts and have a closet full of them. They're starting to show their age and no longer look their best. I'd tried and liked another similar, well known, outdoorsy brand that used some cooling technologies in the fabrics for their vented shirts, but the quality of those shirts has declined, so I've been on the hunt for something similar. I live in a very hot and humid location, and these cooling technologies are very important to me. I wanted something a little dressier that I could wear outdoors (I'm outside A LOT) but that would also be presentable for clients and work. This shirt is it: cool, relatively wrinkle free, sleek styling, tough enough for the outdoors, light but substantial and neatly textured fabric, very packable for trips. Just a perfect shirt. Runs smaller than the Bonehead shirts, but they are huge, so I'll call this is true to size.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Cool

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Sulphur,LA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really enjoy how this shirt works as your body heats up you can feel the cooling effect take place. The shirt doesn't stick to your skin if you do happen to sweat a little. Can not say enough about the shirt except you need to get one to start enjoying the outdoors in the hot months.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shirt

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Washington, IN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this shirt to take to Florida with me for my sister in laws wedding that took place on Destin Beach. It is a very comfortable shirt, very light weight and breathable. I would recommend this shirt to anyone. You won't be sorry.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

too much goo

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Austin
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shirts but I can't get the sticky goo off the shirt after removing the label on the front that shows the size.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>