Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt

Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt

Designed to keep you dry, protected and comfortable during long active days in the sun, this Columbia classic features quick-wicking material, strategic venting, stretch construction and built-in UPF 50 blocking power.
Overall rating:
4.224 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
63 out of 75(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Review 1 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite of My Many Columbia Shirts

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Bedford, IN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a closet full of Columbia shirts, and this is my favorite. As others here mentioned, it is cut smaller than most of my Columbia PFG fishing shirts (Bonehead, Tamiami, Airgill, etc), but I find the cut of the Silver Ridge to be the most normal with those others sized unusually large (presumably giving room to move when casting, reeling, gaffing, etc). This definitely has a more fitted look and style than those, and I love it. These with jeans or khakis have become my daily work attire (moderately casual environment) and they also work well for outdoor use and casual wear. Started with one and have picked up several more in different colors. The roll up sleeves are great for warmer weather or going for a sportier look, the back vents are subtle but functional, and the fabric is comfortable and dries quickly. They have also proven to be very durable despite their comfort. Get lots of compliments on 'em too. Size up if you like a loose fit or go with your normal size for a cleaner look, either way this shirt is tremendous.
I would recommend this product.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great shirt.

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: San Marcos, Ca
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this shirt last week and have worn it twice. I purchased it in red and I will be purchasing another shirt in a different color. I have 3 other older shirts (Titanium) and this shirt has a few nice improvements. i.e. hidden button on shirt sleeve. I purchased a large and the size is correct for me.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byTonySF
San Francisco, CA
 
Please wait while more information about TonySF is loaded.
Additional information about TonySF could not be loaded.
Love the slim fit!
onAugust 22, 2012
Yes, it runs slimmer than other Columbia shirts... which is why I LOVE it! This is the first wicking outdoors shirt I've found that has a slimmer fit and it is great. I'm buying more as I can't get enough. Nice work Columbia!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

T-shirts

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exc T-shirts - Great Buy
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Size is not the same as other shirts from Columbia

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You need to improve the size, is not the same than other shirts from Columbia.
I do not recommend this product.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byduder
dallas
 
Please wait while more information about duder is loaded.
Additional information about duder could not be loaded.
ha
onSeptember 7, 2012
cuz the other columbia shirts are sized too large!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we were looking for

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Wimberley, TX
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have been looking for this exact shirt and got it just in time for Father's Day.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite UPF shirt - ever!

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Englewood, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my favorite UPF shirt by Columbia. It fits well, looks stylish and keeps the sun off my back so I don't have to apply a quart of sunscreen before leaving the house. Living in FL, UPF is very important and this shirt keeps me safe and looking good!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Useful for backpacking

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this shirt as something that would be cool and offer versatility for my summer backpacking trip. It was breathable and dried quickly, fit well, and did not fray noticeably from my pack rubbing. I liked having the sleeves that could roll up or down quickly and the collar that could be used to block sun or bugs from my neck. I am very satisfied with this shirt and have recommended it to others.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keep an iron handy

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The shirt is fine when pulling right out of the dryer. If you need it for work if you work in the sun and need to appear more professional, you're going to want to iron it. Otherwise, it's a great fit and looks good.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Durability lacking

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The shirt appears to "pill" quite readily. I purchased the shirt for sun protection while biking (on a recumbent). After the very first ride the material shows pulls and pills--very fine fibers have been dragged out of the fabric. I do not expect this shirt to last very long--I bet the underarms, sleeves, cuffs will soon be quite ragged looking.
My wife has a sun protection shirt of similar weight from another manufacturer which has held up very well for a number of years. I was hoping for the same performance. Needless to say that hope will not be fulfilled.
On the size issue, I normally wear large--after trying the large I realized that in this product I needed to get an extra large.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a right fit

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Washington, DC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
I love all of my Columbia shirts, and have found they have all fit true to size, however these shirts did not seem to follow suit. The shirt was cut quite small under the arms, and across the chest. I loved the design but I suppose another shirt may be for me and not this one.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shirt

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this shirt and have others like it. Only suggestion is that's it's slightly oversized. I'm a quintessential medium (5'10", 145 lbs). While I can wear a medium it tends to be a little baggy. On the other hand, if I get a small it fits me perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Funny sizing

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Searsmont, Maine
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased a small shirt. I wear a 15 1/2 neck, 33 sleeve. As advertised, these are right for me. BUT, the shoulders are much narrower than I would have expected. A medium with the above neck and sleeve dimensions would fit better. I've never seen a small shirt with those parameters. I'll keep it because the fit is "OK", but I don't know anyone who is a true "small" with 33" arms and a 15 1/2 neck.
That being said, I really like the design and material. Perfect for hiking and travel.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

SLEEVES TOO LONG

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Roseburg, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this for my husband. It fits in all respects except the the sleeves, which are at least 2" too long.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

near perfect

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: dallas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks good at work, and works good on the trail. I like these for travel as well, can give them an easy wash if need be, stay relatively wrinkle free, and you can look good (unlike the typical tourist wearing technical clothing, the fanny pack wearing old, or the slob backpacker). Works in a wide range of climates, hot/humid to cold/dry. Oh, and the material is super soft/slick (hard to describe but i love it), and seems durable enough (though may not handle bushwacking well?).
Slimmer fit than most Columbia gear (which are grossly oversized), so I guess you could say, its normally sized. I think this has to do with Columbia rebranding as not just a box store cheap outdoor brand, which caters to the typical fat American. I am 5'11" 185 and athletically built wearing a medium. Has the nice tailored shirt look that is popular these days, slim but not tight or restricting. A large might be a bit better for a lot of really hot outdoor use, but I'm primarily using this as a casual/work/travel shirt and the fit is spot on.
Love the updates to the shirt from last year: hidden buttons on sleeves, extra neck coverage flap under collar, tacking down the pocket flaps on the outside, and solving the open mesh flap divider problem last years model had (couldnt slip the shirt on button upped without ending up with your arms sticking out the vent holes).
There is still some work to do:
-Stretch! either add some panels, or make the entire shirt with a bit of stretch
-Antimicrobial/stink finish to the fabric
-small snaps instead of velcro on the pockets
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Need about Five more , one for every day of the week, work days that is.

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been wearing the Columbia shirts for a few years now for work. Everybody asks how I like them and I am very honest about it, I LOVE THEM! I do landscaping in Florida and believe me you have to protect yourself from the sun and these do it. The Silver Ridge shirts are light weight and and dry out quickly. Great product buying more soon, try the pants you will like them better.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Miami
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice shirt. Great fit, very nice material. Runs true to size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Baja
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt, this model runs a little tighter to the arm than previous, also liked pockets functionality little better than actual, but it delivers true columbia quality and performance.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

silver ridge review

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, wa
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have other Columbia shirts and these shirts stack up with them well. They are comfort and dry quickly. I am impressed that they are so supple and yet have a 50 spf rating. Most shirts with that rating seem to have a stiff feel to them. Great shirts but my only negative is that the neck is much larger than the neck in other large shirts that I own. I usually keep the top button unbuttoned but in these shirts I button it because it feels so loose otherwise—a minor issue.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 6th shirt

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Thailand
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shirts are the most comfortable shirts i have ever worn. They have a very wide temperature comfort range. I presently live in Thailand and these shirts shield me from the hot tropical sun. They are also comfortable when I go inside a frigid air conditioned building. The comment applies to the same material silver ridge pants.
When I lived in a non-tropical area, the shirts were comfortable down to about 50 degrees F and were OK in the 40 degree range. I did not need to take a light weight jacket along after I started wearing these shirts.
These shirts dry quickly, so I got into the habit of hand washing them and letting them hang dry. The fast dry and light weight make them excellent travel clothes. You could take some pretty long trips with two.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Often buyer, I live in them.

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: MN
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size is small, and the button holes are so tight I can hardley get them buttoned. The new pockets are closed on one side and hard to put things in. And the fabric is very rinckley after washing. Not too happy.
I live in these shirts...
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 Next>>