Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt

Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt

Refined yet rugged and always up for a journey, this wonderfully wearable button-up is the ideal accompaniment to adventure. Unlike other crinkly and abrasive members of the button-up family, the Silver Ridge features a soft, quiet fabric that’s a luxury to wear.
Overall rating:
4.233 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
37 out of 43(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Review 1 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite of My Many Columbia Shirts

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
doggymcnuggets
Location: Bedford, IN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a closet full of Columbia shirts, and this is my favorite. As others here mentioned, it is cut smaller than most of my Columbia PFG fishing shirts (Bonehead, Tamiami, Airgill, etc), but I find the cut of the Silver Ridge to be the most normal with those others sized unusually large (presumably giving room to move when casting, reeling, gaffing, etc). This definitely has a more fitted look and style than those, and I love it. These with jeans or khakis have become my daily work attire (moderately casual environment) and they also work well for outdoor use and casual wear. Started with one and have picked up several more in different colors. The roll up sleeves are great for warmer weather or going for a sportier look, the back vents are subtle but functional, and the fabric is comfortable and dries quickly. They have also proven to be very durable despite their comfort. Get lots of compliments on 'em too. Size up if you like a loose fit or go with your normal size for a cleaner look, either way this shirt is tremendous.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets my seal of approval!

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Maximus75
Location: Houston, TX
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I originally ordered this shirt in a size XL as I read that they run a little on the small side. It was far too long in both the sleeves and overall length. I returned it for a sixe L which fits well. Though a tad tight in the shoulders at times, for CCW permit holders, it's long enough to cover your sidearm without any printing. For reference, i'm 5'11", 200 lbs.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Outdoor Shirt

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Laredo13
Location: Laredo, Texas
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the slimmest Columbia shirt I can find, but is still a little big for my small frame.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smaller than earlier shirts

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Perijae
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I always check fit of clothes before removing tags and laundering but I quit that with Columbia due to consistency of fit. I have 15 - 20 Columbia shirts, including maybe 8 Silver Ridge bought at retail store, Cheyenne, and online . People often compliment the shirts and good colors, and I enjoy telling them that they are almost bulletproof. Unfortunately, the sizing is noticeably smaller on the 2 Silver Ridge shirts I just received during 1/14. I'm a little disappointed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Multi Function Shirt

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Aubaines
Location: Montreal, Canada
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful shirt, well made , can use for my daily hikes in the Arizona desert or during the day doing my HoneyDo list.
Washes well and never needs ironing. The white always stays nice and bright.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good looking

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
MARY77
Location: Edisto Island<S.C.
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I gave this to my son for Christmas. He is extremely particular about all of his clothing but was delighted to receive this and it is now one of his favorites.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fabric and quality

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
MonoHM
Location: Colombia, South America.
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shirt is great for hot weather, the size is a little small than other Columbia models. Will purchase it again.
Grill color is a really good option.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice - Fabric is a little "Nylon-ish"

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
vger
Location: seattle
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shirts seem well made and sturdy. The cut is loose enough that I can move my arms without restriction. I find the torso to be cut a little "boxy" and loose...I wish it was a little more streamlined, but I'm not a big guy - so perhaps this works well for the larger folks.
My only issue with the shirts are that the fabric is a little slick - kind of like nylon - and it doesn't hang all that well or feel great. Then again it doesnt feel horribly "plastic"...it's just not really natural feeling.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of My Favorite Shirts

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
100thdeuce
Location: NE Georgia
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear a lot of sun protectant shirts because I have a history of skin issues from years of sun exposure. I had about 8 long sleeve sun shirts from Columbia and other vendors. I had one of these Silver Ridge long sleeve shirts in the herd and every time I wore it, it just fit perfectly. It is a more tailored cut so you don't have all the material hanging around the waist as with the others. This shirt doesn't just hang on you, it actually fits like a shirt should. It felt so good, I ordered three more in different colors and they are about all I wear now.
If you have a fairly athletic build and not much of a gut, this shirt will accent your positives. I listed the fit as slightly smaller than normal, but that is due to the tailored fit. Many folks who normally can get by with a size large may not be able to wear this shirt if they carry a lot of weight around their middle. Don't get me wrong. I could stand to lose a few pounds myself, but am certainly not obese. Because it won't accommodate much weight gain, this shirt will also tell you very quickly that it's time to push the ice cream bowl away and walk a few extra miles.
It looks great, fits right and has a conscience. What more can you ask of a shirt?
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Still an excellent product, BUT!

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bob35
Location: Kenwood, CA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is still an excellent shirt for travel. Washes and dries out overnight and looks good even if not pressed. My one disappointment is that the pocket design has been modified from the earlier version of this shirt. The breast pockets used to open fully with a pull tab and a velcro closure in the center of each flap. Now the tab has been eliminated and each flap is stitched down along its outer edge, making them impossible to open fully. Try stuffing a passport or boarding pass in there - what were you thinking, Gert? Also annoying - this flap design is not disclosed in the web site description of the product.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional & Fashionable

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Acres
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Husband loves these shirts. It protects his skin from the sun and he looks good wearing these shirts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shirt

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
ELB50
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have just completed a circumnavigation in my sailboat and have worn this shirt extensively while underway. The shirt is breathable, quick drying, cool, sun blocking, tough, and stain resistant which are all essential features for me. Just as important, the super good looks are just what I like, especially while ashore. My only complaint is that it is large in the neck compared to other similar Columbia shirts.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Silver ridge

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
WACSadv
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These long sleeve shirts are great for both casual wear everyday as well as your favorite activity in the sun. The quick transformation to short sleeves keeps you cooler too. The UPF 50 is great protection from the sun. Highly recommend this shirt
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great functional shirt

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
zford79
Location: Tahoe Region
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
So far, so good! I have been out twice in this shirt, both times it has performed as expected. The first trip was after receiving a rather nice sun burn the day prior and the fabric provided the protection I needed to continue enjoying the outdoors, but still allowing my skin to recover from the damage I did the previous day. It wicks moisture really well, dries quickly, and looks good while doing it. My only compliant is that he cut is a little tight around my chest.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
zford79
Tahoe Region
 
Please wait while more information about zford79 is loaded.
Additional information about zford79 could not be loaded.
Still a great shirt
Posted December 13, 2013
The shirt survived over 100 miles on the Tahoe Rim Trail this summer and numerous other side trips. The wicking properties are truly awesome and the sun protection is second to none.
I do need to return the shirt though because the fabric on the rear tail of the shirt appears to be breaking down after being worn between my skin and the lumbar support of my Gregory Pack. I think the friction caused by the lumbar support caused the damage, but no worries, Columbia has a great warranty program.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect For Trip

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
longatthelake
Location: Liberty Lake, Washington
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are going to Africa next month and this shirt will work perfectly for the trip. Just the right weight material and it fits great. Love the roll up sleeves.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect shirt

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
PLynnP
Location: Bay area, California
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I ended up buying three of these in different colors (fossil, gravel and mountain) for my husband. They fit perfectly, protect from the sun, are lightweight, dry quickly, and he says they are very comfortable. He wears them either alone or over another shirt for the sun. They travel great, too.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hiking shirt

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hikeinstyle
Location: Tucson, AZ
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dries quick, doesn't smell much, protects you from the sun. I even jumped into a tributary of the amazon while wearing this! The shirt ran a bit bigger than I expected, but that was actually kind of a good thing for hiking.
I liked the color, too (foliage.)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pete a man who spends most of my time outdoors

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
A1Duke
Location: Chequamegon National Forest
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not your best offering - on a one to ten - a four - will not even open the second packaged item - would like to return it - forward information on how to do so!!!
I do not recommend this product.
-12points
0of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is a horrible product

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
0848
Location: US
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The shirt is not like it's previous versions. The fabric is too light and thus not durable at all. After just wearing the shirt just sitting around, the lanyard around my neck cause the shirt to fray and loosen threads. This shirt will not hold up to any activity. I have bought this type of shirt on three different years and it seems to be dropping in quality. This shirt will not last the laundry let alone a deployment overseas. I do not recommend this product and this will be the last Columbia clothing I will purchase because I am very disappointed in an outdoor and adventure company producing a shirt that won't hold up to everyday wear.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tal0301
Tal aviv, Israel
 
Please wait while more information about tal0301 is loaded.
Additional information about tal0301 could not be loaded.
Are you sure that your product is genuine?
Posted October 17, 2013
I have this shirt for over a year now and it is absolutely wonderful.
I have travelled with it, hiked, photographed, trailed and much more and it doesn't show any signs of wear what so ever. I'm very satisfied with it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost perfect fit, order 1 size larger

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hardey
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shirt, great quality and fantastic feel and durability...I'm 6'3 and 250lbs and normally wear a XL or an XLT, these shirts as the Description says run slightly small which is actually the VERY BEST way these shirts should run for us Men! not too big and not too small, they are perfect, love em and have 5 in different colors, long and short sleeve...
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
123Next>>