Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt

Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt

Refined yet rugged and always up for a journey, this wonderfully wearable button-up is the ideal accompaniment to adventure. Unlike other crinkly and abrasive members of the button-up family, the Silver Ridge features a soft, quiet fabric that’s a luxury to wear.
Overall rating:
4.14 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
42 out of 50(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Review 1 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite of My Many Columbia Shirts

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer avatar
doggymcnuggets
Location: Bedford, IN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a closet full of Columbia shirts, and this is my favorite. As others here mentioned, it is cut smaller than most of my Columbia PFG fishing shirts (Bonehead, Tamiami, Airgill, etc), but I find the cut of the Silver Ridge to be the most normal with those others sized unusually large (presumably giving room to move when casting, reeling, gaffing, etc). This definitely has a more fitted look and style than those, and I love it. These with jeans or khakis have become my daily work attire (moderately casual environment) and they also work well for outdoor use and casual wear. Started with one and have picked up several more in different colors. The roll up sleeves are great for warmer weather or going for a sportier look, the back vents are subtle but functional, and the fabric is comfortable and dries quickly. They have also proven to be very durable despite their comfort. Get lots of compliments on 'em too. Size up if you like a loose fit or go with your normal size for a cleaner look, either way this shirt is tremendous.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Use less sunscreen!!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
3gunner
Location: TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely detest sunscreen. Your hands get greasy, dirt sticks to it, and you always miss a spot and get a weird sunburned patch. Not with this shirt! UPF 50 means you can be in the sun all day and not return home looking like a lobster. While it's not quite as cool as my Airgill shirt, it does a good job of wicking away sweat and letting in air. I have spent many days in the hot TX sun with this shirt and it's always kept me cool and safe from skin cancer.
Docked it one star due to not being quite as breathable as some of my other Columbia shirts but it's a great shirt to have in the arsenal when the days aren't 100+ degrees.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointing

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Jago
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Words cannot describe how disappointed I was not only by this shirt, but my entire order from Columbia. Of the five items (four shirts and one pair of shorts) I ordered specifically in time for a trip to Phoenix, only two were wearable. This Silver Ridge long sleeve was the worst of the offenders. It does not run slightly small, it runs very small. I am not an overly large guy, but I do have a broad chest and beefy shoulders - where the XL shirt was noticeable tightest. The worst part was that the shirt was obviously already worn - one sleeve was sloppily rolled up and the other was not, there was a blatant stain on the lower back side, and a noticeable funk of BO when I tried the shirt on. Now I have to return these and go to the mall this weekend. I might be done with Columbia.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easily My Favorite Columbia Shirt

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer avatar
sillygringo
Location: West Virginia
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear these shirts primarily guiding whitewater. I love the fit. It's much closer to actual size than a lot of the PFG gear. They dry quickly and are comfortable when wet all day. I like to keep it classy on the water with a button down and collar. This is my go to. It's just as comforable and good looking at a casual dinner.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sizing inaccurate - order a size smaller than your normal

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Maxx75
Location: Houston, Texas
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this shirt after extensive online research for a long sleeve shirt which can on the South Texas heat and humidity.
I'm 5.10, 200lbs. I got an XL as I have broader than normal shoulders, and wear XL in all other shirts, and heard that this shirt runs a little smaller than most. I carry concealed a 9mm Sig Sauer, and wanted a shirt that was long enough to cover my sidearm. This XL was far too large for me and made me look almost clown-like. I returned it for a size large without any issues. The large is too tight in the shoulders and upper chest. Sizing is not consistant with other Columbia long sleeve shirts.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice material, needs attention on sizing and function

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Stewed
Location: West Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I work in the field all year round in all conditions. This shirt was purchased to do field work in the hot summer months. It is a light weight shirt, that can be worn over an under shirt and is very breathable.
The one major drawback on these shirts, FOR ME, is the lack of function of the chest pockets. First they don't fully open up on both sides of the pocket limiting what I can put in the pocket with one hand. Another feature I use a lot is to tuck a pen/pencil in that pocket while adjusting equipment. These pockets don't have a pen slot and combined with the fact that the pocket doesn't open up I end up putting the pen in my mouth or stuffing it in my pants pocket. Doesn't sound like much but when you are having to write, adjust, many times during a site visit it turns out to be a big issue.
Lastly, I have found that the sizing on Columbia clothing to be very inconsistent. Long sleeve shirts tend to run large....very large and short sleeve shirts run smaller.
I love the material and feel of the shirts but I can never be sure what size to buy. Couple that with the lack of function I need this shirt has turned into a casual shirt and not the work shirt I intended it to be.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good Shirt

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer avatar
ndog
Location: boston, ma
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As advertised - very functional, well performing shirt. Not the most stylish, but very flattering.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for kayaking

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer avatar
PaddleRat
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big fan of the Silver Ridge shirt/pants. Great in a kayak, doesn't hold onto water, and dries quickly making it much more comfortable than cotton. It's also cooler and looser than neoprene. Finally it provides all the bugspray and sunblock you'll ever need with long sleeves. I've had mine for three years and they've taken a lot of abuse. Material does seem prone to staining, but to be fair there's a lot of red clay in the soil here.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite Columbia shirt!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Yoshi
Location: Missoula, MT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 5'8" and 175lbs, and the Medium fits perfectly.
This has to be my favorite Columbia shirt to date. I own this shirt in 4 colors so far and hope to eventually buy every color. I feel that once you find a article of clothing you love and fits good, and looks good on you, to buy it up!
I wear this shirt sleeves up all the time, and love that it comes with the sleeve roll up tabs to keep them up and in place when recreating.
This shirt can be worn at any time of the year and new colors are always coming out.
I have to say so far I love the Windswept blue color, it just glows.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Outdoor Shirt

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Laredo13
Location: Laredo, Texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the slimmest Columbia shirt I can find, but is still a little big for my small frame.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smaller than earlier shirts

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Perijae
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I always check fit of clothes before removing tags and laundering but I quit that with Columbia due to consistency of fit. I have 15 - 20 Columbia shirts, including maybe 8 Silver Ridge bought at retail store, Cheyenne, and online . People often compliment the shirts and good colors, and I enjoy telling them that they are almost bulletproof. Unfortunately, the sizing is noticeably smaller on the 2 Silver Ridge shirts I just received during 1/14. I'm a little disappointed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Multi Function Shirt

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Aubaines
Location: Montreal, Canada
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful shirt, well made , can use for my daily hikes in the Arizona desert or during the day doing my HoneyDo list.
Washes well and never needs ironing. The white always stays nice and bright.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good looking

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
MARY77
Location: Edisto Island<S.C.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I gave this to my son for Christmas. He is extremely particular about all of his clothing but was delighted to receive this and it is now one of his favorites.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fabric and quality

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
MonoHM
Location: Colombia, South America.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shirt is great for hot weather, the size is a little small than other Columbia models. Will purchase it again.
Grill color is a really good option.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice - Fabric is a little "Nylon-ish"

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
vger
Location: seattle
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shirts seem well made and sturdy. The cut is loose enough that I can move my arms without restriction. I find the torso to be cut a little "boxy" and loose...I wish it was a little more streamlined, but I'm not a big guy - so perhaps this works well for the larger folks.
My only issue with the shirts are that the fabric is a little slick - kind of like nylon - and it doesn't hang all that well or feel great. Then again it doesnt feel horribly "plastic"...it's just not really natural feeling.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of My Favorite Shirts

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
100thdeuce
Location: NE Georgia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear a lot of sun protectant shirts because I have a history of skin issues from years of sun exposure. I had about 8 long sleeve sun shirts from Columbia and other vendors. I had one of these Silver Ridge long sleeve shirts in the herd and every time I wore it, it just fit perfectly. It is a more tailored cut so you don't have all the material hanging around the waist as with the others. This shirt doesn't just hang on you, it actually fits like a shirt should. It felt so good, I ordered three more in different colors and they are about all I wear now.
If you have a fairly athletic build and not much of a gut, this shirt will accent your positives. I listed the fit as slightly smaller than normal, but that is due to the tailored fit. Many folks who normally can get by with a size large may not be able to wear this shirt if they carry a lot of weight around their middle. Don't get me wrong. I could stand to lose a few pounds myself, but am certainly not obese. Because it won't accommodate much weight gain, this shirt will also tell you very quickly that it's time to push the ice cream bowl away and walk a few extra miles.
It looks great, fits right and has a conscience. What more can you ask of a shirt?
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Still an excellent product, BUT!

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Bob35
Location: Kenwood, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is still an excellent shirt for travel. Washes and dries out overnight and looks good even if not pressed. My one disappointment is that the pocket design has been modified from the earlier version of this shirt. The breast pockets used to open fully with a pull tab and a velcro closure in the center of each flap. Now the tab has been eliminated and each flap is stitched down along its outer edge, making them impossible to open fully. Try stuffing a passport or boarding pass in there - what were you thinking, Gert? Also annoying - this flap design is not disclosed in the web site description of the product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional & Fashionable

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Acres
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Husband loves these shirts. It protects his skin from the sun and he looks good wearing these shirts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shirt

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
ELB50
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have just completed a circumnavigation in my sailboat and have worn this shirt extensively while underway. The shirt is breathable, quick drying, cool, sun blocking, tough, and stain resistant which are all essential features for me. Just as important, the super good looks are just what I like, especially while ashore. My only complaint is that it is large in the neck compared to other similar Columbia shirts.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Silver ridge

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
WACSadv
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These long sleeve shirts are great for both casual wear everyday as well as your favorite activity in the sun. The quick transformation to short sleeves keeps you cooler too. The UPF 50 is great protection from the sun. Highly recommend this shirt
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>