Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt

Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt

An ideal accompaniment to sweating it out in the spring chill, the Silver Ridge Plaid Long Sleeve blends simple aesthetics and progressive performance elements.
Overall rating:
4.389 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
34 out of 36(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Review 1 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

shirt well made, good sweat wicking, but runs small

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sacramento, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't been a fan of the hi-tech "better-than-cotton" synthetics with their supposed superior sweat wicking and lighter weight. The ones I've tried on have been immediately uncomfortable, like most synthetics: itchy, hot, poor breathing, and they got smelly fast. I hadn't tried one in awhile, so the Silver Ridge was a pleasant surprise. It's soft, comfortable, breathes well, and it truly is light.
I tested the sweat wicking by wearing it on a 50-min workout on elliptical stepper and bike that normally leaves my cotton T-shirts soaking. The Silver Ridge was plenty moist by the end, too, but it did seem to move the sweat to the outside of the shirt and to not hold as much as liquid in the fabric.
The only problem I had was with the fit. According to Columbia's size chart I am a large, so that's the size I ordered. I am thick thru the shoulders and chest and maybe this shirt is a trim cut, but it was distinctly tight in the arm holes and snug around the chest. I returned it for an XL and that fit alright. It's still a tad snug when stretching overhead or similar large movements, but not uncomfortably so. Overall, a very nice shirt.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shirt

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: San Marcos, Ca
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this shirt last week and have worn it twice. I have since purchased it in another color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for everything

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Newberg, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this shirt. I bought it in grey as well as in blue plaid. Both of them are super functional and work great for work serving tables, nights on the town, and of course, enjoying the great outdoors. The sleeve rolling system is awesome and the material is so light that it makes a great shirt for spring time and will probably be worn on a lot of summer nights. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice light shirt

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really nice, comfortable, light shirt.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shirt

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this shirt! Great fit and color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Provides UV protection with excellent quality, comfort and style

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Honolulu, HI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shirt is a winner in every category. The fit is perfect, the fabric is soft and comfortable, it's extremely stylish, and the design is so versatile! All this and (most importantly) UV protection! I really like this shirt and plan on ordering another color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go to fishing shirt

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Madison, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this shirt. Great quality, great functionality, and I like the looks of it. The fabric vents and dries very well. This is my favorite shirt for hitting trout streams in late spring through early fall. Awesome for backpacking/camping as well.
As far as fit, I am 6', 195lbs and the Large is a bit too big for my taste. Sizing seems to be consistent with other Columbia products. I'd go with a Medium next time.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatle styling for casual or dressy casual

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon City
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The attractive plaid design looks great on it's own or under a vest for dressier occassions. The fabric is so comfortable and breathes nicely under any condition. The fit is excellent. Overall, GREAT DESIGN!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Palm Mini Plaid. Long hike or at the mall

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Hawaii
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big fan of this shirt. Looking forward to getting another color soon.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Small sizing

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Australia
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I found that a Medium Bahama II L/S shirt fits better that an XL in this Make of Shirt.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good shirt

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Southeast Arizona April 2013
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
its a good outdoor shirt and i like the plaid. its cool.
it might be of interest to some: while hiking in Arizona
and brushing up against tree/brush
thorns, -- they pull out fabric strands.
other desert shirt fabrics aren't as prone to doing that.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shirt

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: SLC, UT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a river guide in Moab, UT and in Idaho. Ths shirt is great for a quick cover up of the wind picks up or for sun protection. I am a woman and like these men's shirts because of the length, especially in the sleeves (I'm 6' , 34" arm). The colors are bold and neat looking. The shirt dries quickly and has enough room in the shoulders so rowing and lifting are not a problem, even with a PFD.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for long days in the sun

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I first purchased this shirt thinking it would be a great desert shirt. Unfortunately, I haven't had time to test try it out in one. Instead I have worn it on numerous day hikes and casually around town. I have found that it wicks moister away very nicely and drys nice and fast if wet. The vents are also nice because unlike other vented shirts I own the vents are less noticeable, giving the shirt a more polished look. My only concern is the material its made from though soft and comfortable against my skin may not be as durable as I like in the long run. Especially if you use it for rock climbing or hiking through brush.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: St. Louis, MO
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Three years ago, I purchased three Columbia Platinum shirts for a trip to Egypt. I've worn them constantly since, as I like their look, comfort in hot weather, and versatility with the adjustable sleeves. The two new Silver Ridge shirts I just bought fall far show of these original purchases. The medium size fits slightly tight in the shoulders (and I weigh only 142 lb.), while the sleeves are too long. Most objectionable to me is the fact that the second button is 4" from the collar button, unlike the 2.5" spacing on the Platinum. This causes the collar to sag open, creating an unkept look. I currently have the shirts at a seamstress to attach a snap or velcro to close this gap. Other problems are the curved sleeve cuffs and the long tab attached to the back of the collar. Can't figure out what purpose these features are supposed to serve, but they both create problems. In short, I won't buy another of your shirts, unless they return to a design like the Platinum.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shirt

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Nashville, TN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great shirts.. They are lightweight and stylish too. They are good for doing anything outside and grabbing a beer in town too.. I bought 3
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Shirt with Style

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Beaverton Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver Ridge. Finally a shirt with some new styling points. The designer of this shirt did not follow the same old boring and predictable pattern that every other manufacturer seems to follow when making men’s shirts (boring). There are a number of unique styling touches from the cuffs, to the pockets, to the pattern of the way this shirt is cut and sewn together. Subtle, but noticeable. Fit is excellent and a very nice range of colors and patterns. Columbia, give this designer an award for doing something new and interesting!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylish, comfortable, lightweight fabric

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: San Marcos, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this shirt and have it in many colors. Its lightweight, comfortable and I can wear it while guiding clients or when going out with my wife. A couple drawbacks are the lightweight material has a tendency to catch on branches and pull threads and putting the shirt in the dryer tended to make the shirt more susceptible to snags. It fit awesome for my body though. I'm 5'10, with wide shoulders and a 34 waist. I tend to buy XL because of the shoulders, but this time, the shirt didn't feel too baggy at all.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Son-In -Law's Favorite Shirt

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Cashmere, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was delighted to find this casual shirt on-line. Last September, I was a guest at my daughter and her husband's home for three days, which gave me the perfect chance to scope out some super Christmas gift ideas. Brad even likes to wear his favorite Columbia shirt to weddings. It looks that good. He loves the wrinkle free, wicking fabric and especially likes the vents. I can't wait to see his face when he opens the box with not one, but two of his favorite shirts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: LochSheldrake,NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice shirt , Comfortable wash and wear with little work. Could use a little more room under the arms (Athletic fit I guess is the term I'm looking for) .UPF and color choice is just an added bonus.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shirt but runs on the large side

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Columbus OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt for fishing all day and hitting the bar afterwards. Shirt does run large. Dries really fast.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>