Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt

Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt

An ideal accompaniment to sweating it out in the spring chill, the Silver Ridge Plaid Long Sleeve blends simple aesthetics and progressive performance elements.
Overall rating:
4.433 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
28 out of 30(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Review 1 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Shirt for any occasion

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Customer avatar
JakeMOFL
Location: Florida and Missouri
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear this shirt to work on my rental properties, trek through the woods or out to grab drinks with my friends.
The Medium fits perfect and for a 6'2" 180lb guy, that is hard to find.
Highly Recommend
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough, good looking, comfortable

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
RangerScott
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
  • Expert
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a field scientist that goes all over the country. I own about 7 of these shirts. I wear them nearly everyday to the office, out and about, hiking, camping, etc. I also wear them during my challenging field work that ranges from weeks in the southwest, floating rivers, colder northern climates, etc. Basically throughout the US. I took two on a 2 week trip both floating and hiking along the Colorado River and they don't look any worse for the wear. Amazing shirt in my opinion.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wanted to like. Bad Cut.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
WildMountainBeach
Location: Charleston, SC, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great looking shirt, but the cut is terrible. It's way too long. I'm a normal sized dude, not quite 6fr and 200lbs, and a Large was way too long. It probably would have been fine if you plan on tucking in your shirt, but this really isn't a shirt you would tuck in a lot. Wish it would've fit better.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Multifinctional Shirt

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
wets75
Location: Tacoma, WA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the third or fourth Silver Ridge shirt I have and always enjoy the comfort and style of the shirts. They are not for the "die hard" outdoors activities but you can feel free to do most camping or casual activities with the shirt, while still looking nice if just going out on the town.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent shirts!

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
BR173
Location: USA - Midwest.
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
About Me - I'm 6'3, 230, and spend a great deal of time outside conducting activities that have been known to shred clothes.
Overview - The Silver Ridge series are my go to shirts regardless of weather of occasion...they wick sweat in the summer, provide an additional layer in the winter, and dress up when I'm cleaned up.
Sizing - I wear an XL...plenty of freedom of movement, sleeves are the perfect length for my long arms.
Durability - Outstanding, built to last. Weather hiking, camping, hunting, or shooting these things hold up to abuse.
Bottom Line - Great shirts.
V/r - BR
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shirt!

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer avatar
KernLyfe
Location: Bakersfield, CA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in the San Joaquin valley and it gets hot here, so I went looking for a more functional shirt to cope with the heat. This shirt is awesome! Even kept me cool on some off road trips. Washes fine (follow directions) and I ironed it on low heat and it looks great. When ironing, be sure to watch out for the technical places of the shirt that allow airflow. Don't want to snag them on the iron, but it's really not hard to iron, just be smart.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Off the Charts

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Dave356
Location: River Falls, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely nice wicking fabric. Overall fit and comfort level is off the charts. Highly recommended
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a classic for a reason

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
RJones29
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've got a similar Columbia shirt - nylon, fast dry -- I bought in 2000 for a trip to Europe and I still use it on way back country outings. It's a little crumpled now and slightly faded, but it's never lost a button. This new one is cut with a little more style and the pattern, fossil small plaid, makes it a good all-around shirt you can wear in town or country. I like the big pockets and ability to roll up the sleeves. The perfect travel shirt because you can wash it out in the sink, hang it up and it will dry in record time. Never put in a hot dryer, though, or I surmise it would wrinkle up badly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Winkly Mess

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
steve3618
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was initially real excited to purchase this shirt from Columbia due to it's sun protection capabilities. Living in Arizona demands protection from the sun when outside for any length of time. Because I work outside, I had planned to purchase a shirt in every color, but wanted to order two initially to check the sizing. Unfortunately, this shirt looks like it was balled up in your hamper for weeks at a time. I was unable to wear this shirt due to the extreme wrinkles. Very disappointed.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recommend for sharp-looking everyday wear

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
JamCooler
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt, comfortable and resilient. It fits a little tighter and the material is softer than the regular (non-plaid) Silver Ridge long sleeve, both qualities that I like. The chest pockets are subtle and the shirt doesn't scream Columbia the way many of their other items do. Highly recommend. I'm 5'10" 180lbs with broad shoulders and the Small fits perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shirt but runs on the large side

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Goat14
Location: Columbus OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt for fishing all day and hitting the bar afterwards. Shirt does run large. Dries really fast.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
EJM1962
Location: LochSheldrake,NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice shirt , Comfortable wash and wear with little work. Could use a little more room under the arms (Athletic fit I guess is the term I'm looking for) .UPF and color choice is just an added bonus.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Son-In -Law's Favorite Shirt

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Nahnie
Location: Cashmere, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was delighted to find this casual shirt on-line. Last September, I was a guest at my daughter and her husband's home for three days, which gave me the perfect chance to scope out some super Christmas gift ideas. Brad even likes to wear his favorite Columbia shirt to weddings. It looks that good. He loves the wrinkle free, wicking fabric and especially likes the vents. I can't wait to see his face when he opens the box with not one, but two of his favorite shirts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylish, comfortable, lightweight fabric

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
SDPoacher
Location: San Marcos, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this shirt and have it in many colors. Its lightweight, comfortable and I can wear it while guiding clients or when going out with my wife. A couple drawbacks are the lightweight material has a tendency to catch on branches and pull threads and putting the shirt in the dryer tended to make the shirt more susceptible to snags. It fit awesome for my body though. I'm 5'10, with wide shoulders and a 34 waist. I tend to buy XL because of the shoulders, but this time, the shirt didn't feel too baggy at all.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Shirt with Style

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
GearJunky
Location: Beaverton Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver Ridge. Finally a shirt with some new styling points. The designer of this shirt did not follow the same old boring and predictable pattern that every other manufacturer seems to follow when making men’s shirts (boring). There are a number of unique styling touches from the cuffs, to the pockets, to the pattern of the way this shirt is cut and sewn together. Subtle, but noticeable. Fit is excellent and a very nice range of colors and patterns. Columbia, give this designer an award for doing something new and interesting!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shirt

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Cake3
Location: Nashville, TN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great shirts.. They are lightweight and stylish too. They are good for doing anything outside and grabbing a beer in town too.. I bought 3
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
GFish
Location: St. Louis, MO
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Three years ago, I purchased three Columbia Platinum shirts for a trip to Egypt. I've worn them constantly since, as I like their look, comfort in hot weather, and versatility with the adjustable sleeves. The two new Silver Ridge shirts I just bought fall far show of these original purchases. The medium size fits slightly tight in the shoulders (and I weigh only 142 lb.), while the sleeves are too long. Most objectionable to me is the fact that the second button is 4" from the collar button, unlike the 2.5" spacing on the Platinum. This causes the collar to sag open, creating an unkept look. I currently have the shirts at a seamstress to attach a snap or velcro to close this gap. Other problems are the curved sleeve cuffs and the long tab attached to the back of the collar. Can't figure out what purpose these features are supposed to serve, but they both create problems. In short, I won't buy another of your shirts, unless they return to a design like the Platinum.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for long days in the sun

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer avatar
CurlyQ
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I first purchased this shirt thinking it would be a great desert shirt. Unfortunately, I haven't had time to test try it out in one. Instead I have worn it on numerous day hikes and casually around town. I have found that it wicks moister away very nicely and drys nice and fast if wet. The vents are also nice because unlike other vented shirts I own the vents are less noticeable, giving the shirt a more polished look. My only concern is the material its made from though soft and comfortable against my skin may not be as durable as I like in the long run. Especially if you use it for rock climbing or hiking through brush.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shirt

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
RiverGoddess
Location: SLC, UT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a river guide in Moab, UT and in Idaho. Ths shirt is great for a quick cover up of the wind picks up or for sun protection. I am a woman and like these men's shirts because of the length, especially in the sleeves (I'm 6' , 34" arm). The colors are bold and neat looking. The shirt dries quickly and has enough room in the shoulders so rowing and lifting are not a problem, even with a PFD.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good shirt

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Harrywis
Location: Southeast Arizona April 2013
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
its a good outdoor shirt and i like the plaid. its cool.
it might be of interest to some: while hiking in Arizona
and brushing up against tree/brush
thorns, -- they pull out fabric strands.
other desert shirt fabrics aren't as prone to doing that.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>