Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Insect Blocker™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt

Columbia Men's Insect Blocker™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt

This versatile plaid buttonup features the outdoorsman’s trifecta of awesomeness: Insect Blocker™ technology wards off bugs, UPF 30 shields you from harsh UV rays, and Omni-Wick™ advanced evaporation keeps you cool and dry during dynamic activity.
Overall rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
5 out of 8(62%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Insect Blocker™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Review 1 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Small in shoulders too many loose threads

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Gainesville, VA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered the same size shirt that I always get from Columbia. It was too tight across the shoulders - tight enough to bind uncomfortable when I'm active. No, I'm not athletic or broad shouldered.
In addition, I had to trim off 15 or 20 loose threads - far more than should be on a new quality shirt.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

fit issues

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
frumpy
Location: MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I have both purchased this model shirt in the past. The only problem before had been shrinkage. We are not large people but usually buy medium due to athletic builds. This time we bought large and find that while the shoulders are only slightly large, we swim in the shirts clearly intended for overweight people. Hopefully there will be enough shrinkage to make them fit ultimately.
The quality is great and we like the new bug repellant feature....now if they could only make an athletic fit.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish, effective bug repellent without the spray

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Higuma
Location: California, Utah, and Pennsylvania
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Insect-Blocker is a great technology for keeping mosquitoes away. In really severe deep woods conditions, you might still need DEET on any inch of exposed skin, but for normal use this shirt eliminates the need for bug spray on your upper body. They make Insect-Blocker pants and socks, too, for the other half. These have become my standard summer outer-layer for fishing and have performed exceptionally well, both fly fishing in the Wasatch Range of Utah and bass fishing on lakes in the woods of Northeastern Pennsylvania. The bugs stay away even after twilight and into the evening. And best of all, there is no odd smell to the fabric, at least not to a human nose. Large Tall is usually the best fit for me, I went XL and it's almost perfect, so I'd say the sleeves run a little longer than average and the body runs a little slimmer--perfect for me.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice shirt

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Alpinist
Location: East Lansing
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice outdoor shirt. I love it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps the Bugs Away!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
moosaki
Location: Martinsburg WV
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second Shirt. I bought it because it works & it is Plaid. The insects avoid you just as they did with my first shirt & 4 pairs if socks,
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable, functional shirt - Excellent customer service

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer avatar
paleface
Location: Georgia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found this shirt at a major sporting goods store while traveling, and bought it without trying it on (my goof!). Upon trying it on, I found that it does indeed run small (for me in the shoulders, and the sleeve diameter at the shoulder). Problem was, I was scheduled to leave for a fishing trip in three days. The girl that took my order helped make sure I had the shirt in hand before leaving. One size up from my normal size was perfect, and the shirt is now on my outdoor wardrobe "hits list." I'm a pale skinned guy, and the combo of omni-shade and the insect blocker makes for the perfect shirt for me. I would recommend this product to anyone, and I plan to buy a couple more before my next trip.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesnt work

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Camper5044
Location: Mississauga
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used this item once, a month after getting it. The first day it worked great but the second day, i got bit like crazy.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't go wrong

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer avatar
1qwk914
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt. Fits perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Plaid Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice shirt

PostedMay 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Geoff0114
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice shirt, looks great, and the material is comfortable and keeps you dry. This shirt runs smaller in the shoulders and upper back than previous Columbia shirts I have had in the same size.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.