Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt

Columbia Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt

This versatile plaid buttonup features the outdoorsman’s trifecta of awesomeness: Insect Blocker® technology wards off bugs, UPF 30 wards off harsh UV rays, and Omni-Wick® advanced evaporation keeps you cool and dry during dynamic activity.
Overall rating:
4.176 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
14 out of 16(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Review 1 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant shirt when far from everything.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
FildeFer
Location: Australia
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had two of these during a work trip to Kazakhstan, touring various sites around the country for 3 weeks. We were outside most of the day in 30C weather, no access to washing machine, poor living conditions. These shirts wash well in a shower! Walk in wearing them, shower with shirt, rinse, actually shower, wring it out, it'll be dry in 30 minutes. They are super light for working in the heat, wick moisture away, dry quickly and look pretty smart.
It might run a little small, but it's pretty close to the usual sizes in the UK.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Insect Blocker Shirt

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
trout
Location: South Texas Coast
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As said in other reviews runs small. Quility of the shirt is great and comfortable. order a size up and you shouldn't have any problems. I would recommend this shirt
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

insect blocker

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
rebboss
Location: space coast
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
used this am in florida bugs did not come around. and this time of year there are a lot shirt runs alittle small not much
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice shirt

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
tlhorsecare
Location: Buffalo, NY
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like other reviews state, it does run small. If you are a medium definitely get a large. There's only 1 thing I don't like about this shirt, it has stitched on the arm, "insect blocker". I bought the shirt for my brother to wear during the summer for work events since he can't wear short sleeves & now I'm going to have to send it to the tailor to get that stitching taken out. Beside that, it's a great shirt, I'll definitely buy more.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fit is way small

PostedJune 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
DCBoomerSK
Location: Washington, DC
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I read earlier reviews that said this shirt fit small so I ordered it one size larger than usual (I wear Medium, so ordered Large). Could barely get it on. By contrast, I also ordered two other shirts - a Bonehead Classic and a Blood and Guts Superlight - both of which fit perfectly in Medium. I returned this shirt.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Hiking Shirt

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
NDEE
Location: Southwick, Massachusetts
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this shirt based on previous purchases of "bug off" clothing. I already know that the technology works for keeping the mosquitoes at bay. I like the design of this garment and find it acceptable to wear to a cook out or on the trail. The shirt ran small and I bought the next size up. I usually take a large and bought an XL instead. 4 Stars due to sizing issue, otherwise 5.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good shirt -- order one size larger

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
MartyR
Location: Berkeley, CA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like most other reviews, I will echo that you should ignore the "true to size" summary about size and order one size larger than you expect. I am usually between a small and medium and could not put the small on. The medium was a good fit.
I have not field tested the shirt yet but have used earlier versions that work like a charm for mosquito protection. I bought this to go to SE Asia and so I like the very light breathable fabric. Design and quality appear to be good.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runs Small

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
scubamike
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear a Med. in the PFG - same style shirt and ordered a medium in this shirt. To say it was a tight fit is an understatement. Will be using it in Haiti while helping to build Habitat homes - will update the review when I get back as to how the Insect Blocker works.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Avoiding bugs in Africa

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reserve66
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got back from several weeks out in the wilds of Southern Ethiopia where mosquitos and other bugs are very common. This product was very comfortable and worked extremely well on the basis that I didn't get a single bite.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable, functional shirt

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
keepersg
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent materials and construction. Wore this out to Mt. Yoran which involves an approach hike past multiple small lakes. No bites. Had it on during the climb and it held up on the rock. Shirt runs a little small. I often wear a medium but the large was a better fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
SFL247
Location: South Florida
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had my reservations about the Insect Blocker products. I have tried other brands in the past and been disappointed. That is not the case with this product. I bought the shirt for field work in the Everglades where mosquitoes are ferocious in the summer. I hate bug spray and conventional bug jackets are HOT and do not breath. I have had the shirt for 2 months now and it works great. The product runs a little small but I liked the fit.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Performs as advertised

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Orduckfan
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased this shirt, a pair of long pants and a hat, all from the Insect Blocker line. I spent 5 days in northern Ontario, Canada and they only time the mosquitos got me was when I was not wearinf the clothing!
I made portage's at sundown and I can tell you once you hit the shoreline watch out, my fishing buddies were laying on the deet. The only place I used a small amount of deet was on my ears, a few would try to fly under the hat.
Great Product, highly recommend
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Inscet Blocker Shirts

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pete27
Location: Pittsburgh
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought two of these from Cabelas in XL which is what I normally wear based on their size charts. They were too small and I had to pay to return them and then buy from Columbia as Cabelas does not carry XXL. The result - I paid shipping charges 3 times which I am not particularly happy about.
The XXL fits better but the cut is still not particularly generous for a field shirt (and I never wear XXL).
I cannot comment on how well they function as I have not had them in the field yet.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Size not even close

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Africa1060
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased both the Insect Blocker Shirt and Pants. The size is not even close to other Columbia items of the same size. They are at least one size smaller if not more. I am returning for the next larger size to see if that helps. Someone certainly did not right size these products. Otherwise, construction, design, color all seem very good so I would recommend the product, just get the next larger size.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit/look...and Insect Block also!

PostedMay 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
DogFather
Location: Indiana Dunes
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased two of these because we live in an area where my dogs can get a dozen ticks in 30 seconds walking on the side of the road. But I haven't fully tested them for Insect Block...
I've been using them as "business casual" shirts. I love the fit (on my admittedly skinny 70 yr old body), comfort, and how they look. I wore them almost exclusively on our recent 10 day trip to Europe.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Praying for rain

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Missouri
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We haven't had much rain since I got this shell, so I can't really rate its function yet. The fit and features are first-rate. Waterproof zippers and ventabke armpits are awsome. My biggest question mark is how well the garment gets rid of water vapor while exercising in moderately warm weather.
I would recommend this product.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Insect Blocker™ Long Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tight fit

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steuss
Location: Poway CA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirts, good colors, but had to return because they were noticeably smaller than other Columbia shirts I've purchased of the same size.
Activities: Trail, Fishing - Flats Fishing, Boating, Other, Vacation
Conditions: Windy, Hot
I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.