Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip

What’s next to your skin sets the stage for your comfort: don’t mess around. Developed with top physiologists, Columbia’s new baselayer series offers maximum warmth, minimum weight, and zoned performance for optimal comfort.
Overall rating:
4.533 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
42 out of 45(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Review 1 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Baselayer Ever

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Customer avatar
I bought the heavyweight version first, and liked it so much, I went for this style too. There's not a big difference between them, but I like this one just as much. It fits the body, and the arms are nice and long.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OMG!!! This is such a GREAT baselayer shirt!!! My husband absolutely LOVED it!!! Working outside from 9-5 and kept his body warm!!! I will definitely buy more for the long winter days to come!!
Activities: Trail, Other, Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Windy, Freezing, Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doesn't wick fast enough to be a base layer for vigorous activity

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Northeast
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was pretty excited to try this item. Took it out on a 12-mile hike on a windy 35-degree day. ALL layers I wore over this item were Columbia brand wicking items. The baselayer did not wick as fast as promised and resulted in moisture buildup directly on my skin, especially chest, and resulting chill. The moisture gradually dissipated, but much too slowly to be practical. I intend to try this item again, but NOT as a baselayer (will probably wear a Titanium long sleeve T or smartwool or silk baselayer and then try wearing this item over it). It did not perform as promised as a baselayer for high-activity (might work well for sedentary outdoor application where one doesn't sweat). If you sweat a lot while hiking, forget this as a baselayer. It may well perform better OVER a faster-wicking baselayer, and I'm excited to try that application, as I really am a fan of Columbia products.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Sweaty, Windy, Freezing
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm but small....hey is that why it is so warm?

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Really interesting technology for a base layer. Super warm. I am a pretty small guy and the medium was tight for me. It fit like one of those buffed out and chizzled manikins you see in sports stores advertising under armor for football players.
The material on the inside looks so different that it took some mental adjustment….my brain expected it to feel sticky on my skin. It didn’t.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byCutlas
Sacramento, CA.
 
Please wait while more information about Cutlas is loaded.
Additional information about Cutlas could not be loaded.
Ordering a second one
onNovember 16, 2012
I use this as a sole top for rowing in temperatures around 50 degrees. Very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Contractor's Best Friend

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland
My husband works all day in Oregon weather. He loves the Baselayer's versatility. It keeps him warm, wicks the sweat, and is not bulky. He requested Baselayers for the crew for Christmas gifts.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product but runs small

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality product and works as well as described but fits smaller than usual sizing. Overall a great product, just order 1 size bigger.
Activities: Running
Conditions: Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow, just wow.

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Virginia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shirt fits very well, provides optimal warmth as a base layer, and is very comfortable. This is a great buy.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Men's Baselayer - Under Sized

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Placed order based on Columbia guidelines (neck size, arm length) and the size I usually buy for other clothing. I ended up taking the Baselayer Midweight that was shipped, to a local Columbia store and exchanged my Large for a XXL. The fit now is snug but comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Skin Tight

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Boulder Junction, WI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Way smaller than you would expect for an XL. Otherwise very nice product.
Activities: Running
Conditions: Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm and light weight

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great lightweight, warm and not bulky. Dressy enough to be used as a shirt' I love the omni heat feature all the way down the sleeves.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Broad Spectrum Top

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Raleigh, NC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This mid-weight Omni-Heat top does a great job of keeping me comfortable and dry. Used as a base layer for bike commuting, resort skiing and also 50F mtn biking in the desert north of Fruita. Performed very well in all cases.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Prooduct

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Clinton,Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found Columbias product in Cabelas one day in the bargin cave. I bought a mid-weight top and a mid-weight tights for men with the Omni-Heat. What a product. I have gone and bought two more sets tops and bottoms and a half zip top. I will tell every one to buy this product. I do belive in it and I have no complaints. I will be buying more gear from Columbia. Thanks for a GREAT Product once again.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and it looks great

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sandpoint, ID
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
You had me at quarter zip tee. Glad I read the reviews because they encouraged me to size up and I would pass that recommendation on. I am tall and thin (6' 4" and 185) and I definitely need the extra large for the chest. It fits very snug which is how a baselayer should fit and it is also plenty long which is often an issue for us tall guys. I have been wearing this with a short sleeve undershirt under my soft shell ski jacket and I have not been disappointed, even on windy days. By the way, it is great looking. I only regret that I didn't buy another color at the same time
Activities: Skiing, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome !

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Batesville, IN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Definitely no problem keeping you warm. I wore this during a 10 mile trail race in early January in Indiana. Temps were in the upper 30's with a stiff wind. This was all that I wore as a top and I was plenty warm. Followed that up the next weekend on a training run with much colder temps so I wore it under a light jacket and again, I was warm and comfortable. Does a great job of keeping you warm with your body heat as well as wicking mositure away from your skin. I have since ordered the lighter weight version as well. Just be careful on the sizing, it runs small. Unless you want it to fit real tight order a size up.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Snowshoeing, Running
Conditions: Snowy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for winter activities

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Order more than one, because you'll want to wear it every day. When the weather is 20-30 degrees, and your days are full of downhill, cross-country, or skate skiing, or snow-shoeing, this is the perfect layer. Downhill it was great with as a base layer; skate-skiing it was all you needed under something windproof. Love it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Indianapolis
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Enjoy the style and fit. Works very well in cold weather. Really glad I purchased. I can not wait to start building my "Columbia Collection!!" Being born and raised in Oregon I am a little partial :) But the bottom line is this product works and looks great!
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Camping
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Missoula, MT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I worn this for the first time for a biathalon a couple weeks ago. I found the Omniheat to be very responsive to the changes in my body temperature. It is a very comfortable garment while conducting strenuous activity and I never felt wet which was a huge bonus!
Activities: Climbing, Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Mountaineering, Running, Mountain Biking
Conditions: Snowy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great on arrival

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have not yet field tested this product. Upon arrival though it met my expectations for look, feel and comfort. Backpacking next week, so I'll be able to test it and update this review. So far, so ... great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice and not nice.

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Baltimore, MD
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seems like a nice product, but is way too tight in the arm pit areas. I am familiar with snug compression type clothing, but this binds up in the armpit areas. I also have many other Columbia products that I fit in fine as a large. If it fit properly, I think it would be a great product.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb base layer

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great baselayer shirt, but unlike most Columbia products, it doesn't run large. Be aware when you order your "regular" Columbia size, it will be a lot more fitted than normal! Pleasantly surprised, but the Omni-heat dots weren't even noticeable, other than the warmth.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>