Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top

What’s next to your skin sets the stage for your comfort: don’t mess around. Developed with top physiologists, Columbia’s new heavyweight baselayers offer our highest warmth-to-weight ratio for optimal comfort in extreme winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.909 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top
Review 1 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great garment

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Coldcamper
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I slept warm for the first time on a Boy Scout campout.
Activities: Camping
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice product

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Moonbeam
Location: Duluth, MN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is very comfortable. Lightweight. I am 5'6", 165, and an extra large fits just right. After I was complimented on how I looked I ordered another!
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Other, Running
Conditions: City
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent baselayer

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
ColRiv
Location: Columbia River Gorge
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I work in the Columbia River Gorge in all sorts of conditions. Wearing layers of clothing is critical to staying warm and dry. The Columbia Baselayer keeps me warm and dry no matter what the weather conditions.I'm very happy with it.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great baselayer

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
OpDeepfreeze
Location: Antarctica
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm currently working in Antarctica where conditions change in a hurry and layering is a priority. This top makes for a great base. When conditions are cold with no wind I can use this with a light fleese. When the wind picks up a bit I add a windbreaker. It breaths well so I can keep it on indoors without being over heated and so far it has stayed dry and warm. Can't wait for the really cold weather with high winds so I can try it out with additional layers.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

useful so far

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
psboma
Location: Boston, MA
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
not been tested in elements yet. does very well as a base under a sweatshirt in 35-40 degree weather. also keeps me very dry.
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Windy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great baselayer for real cold conditions

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
PhilT
Location: St. Paul, MN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The heavy base layer is comfortable and does not get hot when indoors. It doesn't feel heavy or bulky and fits great under two or more layers without feeling bulky. Paired up with the omni-heat base layer pants it really minimizes the amount you need to wear as outer layers.
Activities: Trail, Skiing, Snowboarding
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
RobH
Location: Massachusetts
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Now that I have this shirt I'm totally hot.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Boating, Other
Conditions: Windy, Freezing, Open Ocean, Other
I would recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Baselayer

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Denver, CO
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been a very warm base layer. I use it to ski and hunt with. Its really good for hunting when your not moving around much and generating much heat on your own. At the same time, I don't get sweaty when I ski.
Activities: Skiing, Hunting Big Game, Hunting Upland
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits Great, Really Really Warm

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
PDOWENS
Location: Raleigh, NC
  • Expert
I purchased the heavyweight base layer top and bottom to wear this winter under a heavier jacket while fishing. This weekend, I was out on the water during 40 degree temperatures with wind and rain. While my hands were very cold, my entire body under the base layer material was extremely warm. The Omni Heat technology is absolutely amazing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Get it

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
AJohn
Location: Portland
I got one of these and it is fantastic base layer!! As normal for Columbia, great quality matched with wonderful functionality and style.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great innovation. Thanks Columbia

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
JamesM
Location: New Jersey
Great product, great idea. The future of cold weather clothing.
Fit is just right, with a little looseness around the cuffs.
It seemed really thin at first, but the reflective dots work great, and it's amazing how warm you stay.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ColoGuySkiFreak
Colorado Springs, CO
 
Please wait while more information about ColoGuySkiFreak is loaded.
Additional information about ColoGuySkiFreak could not be loaded.
Nice Fit
Posted January 20, 2012
Ok, well sorry to be a bump on the log, but I think the omni heat dots are a bit over-rated. While I love the fit, quality and soft feel, I think the dots are a bit sticky and sweaty directly on the skin which isn't too desirable for a base layer. Mine fits ok to wear a thin shirt underneath which eliminated the sticky feeling, but doesn't seem to keep me any warmer than a normal long sleeve of its thickness. My merino wool long sleeve made by a certain "smart" company is way warmer at the same or lighter weight. That said I would still recommend based on looks and feel of the outside alone, just don't expect miracles with the little dots. If the sold the same shirt without the dots, I would buy it instead...Maybe its just me (appears so based on the other reviews)
p.s. As a plus, dog hair doesn't stick to it - a HUGE plus actually.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)