Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew

Columbia Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew

Featuring zonal placement of our most innovative technologies for maximum benefit — sweat-activated cooling Omni-Freeze® ZERO on arms and torso, accelerated wicking Omni-Wick® EVAP at center back, and all-over UPF 50 — this performance outdoor tee delivers supreme comfort and protection in extremely hot, humid climates.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
28 out of 35(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Review 1 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Columbia is going downhill

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Boston
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Purchased this shirt plus the degree polo thinking I'd like the latest in columbia technology but both shirts are very tight for an XL.
Also the fabric doesn't feel as good as previous performance shirts purchased from columbia so for both the size and feel of the material I'd rate these very low.
I would have returned these but unfortunately threw out the return form and packing material.
I do not recommend this product.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mens Zero Freeze

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: DC
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this as it is supposed to keep you cool during workout. I have been doing treadmill work trying to increase distance at a given pace and this shirt is giving me a little bit more to go.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shirt

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product. Seems to have an added advantage of being static free. Anybody that wears nylon type shirts in the winter know what I am talking about.
If I had a complaint with this shirt it would be colors. Most are a bit on the bright side for me. I am more of an earth tone or natural color guy, not so bright and vivid.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Omni-freeze zero works!

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a chance to test this shirt in Arizona, Utah, and Ohio. Some positives: light, (extremely) breathable, comfortable and the main function, kept me cool when things got heated.
The material against your skin is almost unnoticeable; no itch, chafe, anything like that. It was really breathable and any little breeze that hit me I could instantly feel the Freeze-Zero kicking in.
Only downside I found was that when in the high temps in Utah or Arizona, because you don't sweat as much, the shirt didn't activate as much as it did in the humid Summers of Ohio. But a quick spray of water fixed that. Even though it didn't work as great out in the desert it still was a way better choice than just a wicking shirt, in my opinion.
Great for anything though; rock climbing, hiking, trail running, cycling, mountain biking...even backcountry skiing in the spring. The shirt kept me cool. Definitely buy it if you got the money.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No for nighttime use.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Monterey, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hiked in it in moderately warm weather. Seemed to perform well during the hike. My less than outstanding review has to do with nighttime. I wore this clothing to bed while camping. Felt clammy and not breathing well or managing moisture well in the front (chest) of the clothing.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the hype - or the price

PostedJune 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I'm an avid outdoorsman, runner, biker, and also do crossfit and other high intensity training. I'm the type of person that sweats with a cool breeze, so I'm always looking for products to help keep my core temperature under control. I have worn this shirt in 3 separate circumstances - outdoors with moderate activity, indoors with high intensity activity, and outdoors with high intensity activity. It is a comfortable shirt; however, it doesn't live up to the "cooling factor". If you are minimally sweating it does have an evaporative effect with moisture wicking; however it doesn't cool the body at all. My recommendation would be to stick with your standard moisture wicking shirt, and but two for the price of this one. I was very disappointed, as it didn't function as advertised.
I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does nothing

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Good quality but functionally simply doesn't perform any better than a $10 shirt I got at Marshals. Not worth the price.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mostly Disappointed

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: San Antonio, TX
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this shirt to wear under my umpire gear with the expectation that it would be cooler due to the Omni-Freeze technology. That hasn't been the case and it seems that the shirt actually retains more persperation than the Under Armour and Nike shirts I've previously worn.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent shirt for active workouts

PostedJune 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Rochester, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this shirt for flat water and lake kayak racing and training. As such, it competes against the NRS Hydrosilk shirt and others, and it does so well. It's comfortable, and the sweat evaporates nicely. I'm hoping it won't develop a smell like my Hydrosilk shirts did, but only time will tell. I can't vouch that it is any cooler than any other shirt, because most of my workouts I've used it for have been out in the waves where I'm getting soaked from inside and outside.
I bought the high visibility color so I could be seen better by powerboats.
After two workouts with it, I bought another one because I like it so much.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Feel the difference

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Houston, TX
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
While this shirt does not deliver a icy cold sensation during normal work out use, it does deliver a cooler fabric with a soft finish against the skin. True to size for a fitted cut.
I now have 4 different Omni Freeze shirts that I rotate through each workout. Last week I worked out in a normal poly moisture wick shirt and really felt overheated on my workout from the sun. Switched back to Omni-Freeze Zero the next day and ran 15 seconds faster per mile at hotter temps. This thing will help me get ready for half marathon season by getting out there more this summer for workouts.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Falls apart rather quickly

PostedJune 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Savannah, GA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I live in Savannah GA where it gets quite hot in the summers. Having just finished my 2nd 1/2 marathon, I registered for a marathon in the fall (which means training throughout the summer), I was hoping this shirt would help for the heat near the end of early morning runs. Not only is it not my go to shirt on warm days, but it actually doesn't even get used unless it's cooler out.
Pros:
The shirt is very comfortable.... that's about it.
Cons:
-the shirt 'cools' a little bit, more like prevents you from heating up... HOWEVER, since the shirt doesn't breathe at all, the cooling benefit is lost as your body over heats.
- I wore the shirt about 4-5 times (enough to lose faith in it on warm days), and when hanging it up today, I realized the 'Blue circles' are now missing from several areas that rub (ie, chest) while running. I'm not talking, just a few circles, but entire credit card sized sections.
So all in all, a comfortable shirt that isn't very good in the heat and doesn't last for more then 4 or 5 runs / washings. Don't waste your money.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Poor results

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: susnhine,louisiana
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I work in a very hot and humid inviroment. Shirt did not provid any cool relief as it claims to do. Not pleased at all. Never felt any cool relief.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew is awesome

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: South Carolina
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a fabric development expert I couldn't wait to try my new Omni-Freeze shirt and have to say it really is the most comfortable shirt I have ever worn. Playing tennis in the heat can be challenging and actually compared to regular shirt while playing and it was obvious how much cooler and more comfortable it was.
Great stuff!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps you cool

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Fresno, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I sweat a lot when I hike , but the new omni freeze zero keep the sweat off of you and works to keep you cool. It really work!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great material

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Rome, GA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i haven't run in real heat with it yet so i am not sure how cool it will keep me but overall i like the material and the fit. looking forward to a 95 degree day to really check it out
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Virginia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found this product does keep you cooler! It works
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Interesting Concept Noticed Cooling in shade

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Doylestown PA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Im a runner living in Bucks County PA . We have Hot humid days and wanted to try this cool climate shirt and compression shorts. Yes i noticed a difference but felt it when i was running in shaded areas. Didnt notice a change when running in direct sun . Not happy with Sizing . I normally have to wear xl in running gear however xl in columbia is much larger than i expected. I m hoping Columbia will create a nice running gear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too small

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I typically wear a large and sometimes a XL. Well, I bought a XL. So, it should easily fit me. Unfortunately, Columbia decided to save money on material. The neck was way to big. The sleeves are way too small.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cool

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice shirt well wroth the money
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shirt!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Havre de Grace, MD
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did feel cooler working out in this shirt compared to the other workout shirts that I usually wear. I did feel more comfortable in the shirt.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>