Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip

Built for low to mid aerobic activity in extremely cold conditions, this high-loft fleece layer features thermal reflectivity at back neck for maximum warmth and wicking, stretch inserts under arm for comfort where it counts.
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Review 1 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fully Functional

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jerome
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm very satisfied with this product. I wore this, while I was shoveling snow in January (20F w/ a slight windchill), over a another cold weather base layer (2 layers under my jacket and shell).
Usually when I work out or do manual labor I sweat profusely. I assumed that the "base-base" layer was going to be drenched. After taking off my shell and down jacket (which were both lined with a good amount of sweat), I found the Columbia Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip exterior was covered in sweat. I realized that the inside lining, though, was bone dry. The "base-base" layer was barely damp; impressive.
The 1/2 Zip kept me warm and dry.
At 5'11" I'm 170lbs. I chose "Runs Small) because I usually order mediums but after reading how it runs a little small, I bought a large. It fits me perfectly but not for someone who actually wears a large. I'd get another one if another large was available. The zipper is of good quality and the thumb holes haven't been of any use for me, yet.
All around, an excellent product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warmth goes high-tech

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
jriverspirit
Location: Minnesota
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice material and well constructed. The only complaint is that it is a little bulky around the arm pits. I know it was constructed this way for movement, but there is still a little to much fabric.
This shirt is pure warmth which I need in this -45 degree Minnesota weather.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits great

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
HHank
Location: Long Island, NY
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Has insulation that should be good in cold weather.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Baselayer

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
J5Dan
Location: Florida
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Wore Columbia BAselayer on a trip to Alaska this past February. A great product. Wife ditched her other brand product and wore my Columbia Baselayer outfit. While a little larger than she would have liked, were warmer and not as bulky as the product she had purchased. Glad I bought more than one pair. Keeps the wind out and the warmth in. I have told a lot of friends about the Columbia Baselayer when asked what we wore to keep warm in the Alaska cold. Most of time I wore just the Bselayer, jeans, a tee shirt and a heavy Carhart shirt.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fishing In 37 Degrees Or Less For Seven Days!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
PhilWildman
Location: Portland Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This baselayer was excellent in the cold Wisconsin conditions I used it in. The temperature never got above 37 and most of the time it was down in the teens when we got off the water. I had read some reviews that said it fit small for it's size. I am 6'3" and weigh 220#. This baselayer fit comfortably snug, but that is how I want my baselayer to fit. I want it to snug up to my skin creating a layer that no cold can infiltrate. Of course I layered out from there with one of my oldest and favorite Columbia fleece long sleeve tops. I wore a Cathedral Peak Vest over that. I topped all of that with a brand new Columbia PHG Tech Hoodie. Finally, to keep the wind, freezing rain, and snow out completely, I wore the Columbia Watertight Jacket. Wearing those layers kept me warm even on the coldest morning of the trip, 9 degrees.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

under shell

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Welches
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this for undershell alpine skiing. It is great. It's warm, flexable and it has thumb holes in the sleeve for easy on and off.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Usefull

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Skiforfun
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works well in cold weather
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

work out side

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
kolbas06
Location: vestal ny
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i work out side in the winter months and it get cold up here in new york and so far they have worked great. i like the extra longer shirt anybody who needs to keep warm i would suggest to buy them
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This does what it is supposed to...keep you warm

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Seamus68
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear this under a jacket for cycling and it keeps me warm on the coldest of rides in Colorado. It is light and functional and fits well. I will buy more of these because it makes my other base layers obsolete.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Runs Very Small

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's a baselayer it should run a bit tight, but not this tight. There ought to be a little give at least...
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fleece extreme basewear

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mom3
Location: Kearny NJ
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this fleece basewear for my son who works upstate New York, he told me its the best basewear he own's. It keeps him warm all day there is no body ordor from sweat and its very comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cold weather baselayer

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kink
Location: Brighton, Utah
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear this when it's single digits or below. Warm, wicks well, well made.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Warm base layer

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
SDPoacher
Location: San Marcos, CA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used this undergarment while fly fishing in the sierras. Lots of walking between spots and wading in the water. I was warm, but I also had a fleece pullover on.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice layering piece

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
tknapke
Location: Denver, CO
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality layering top that keeps you warm. I've worn this in 35 degrees with a slight wind and it kept me warm while I walked my dog. I also used it skiing and it kept me extremely warm under my heavy jacket. It does run small though...I'm 6'4, 205 and the XL is still snug. I normally wear a L in everything so definitely order up a size on this one.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kwodjo27
Location: Lowell, MA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work in the cold very often and needed something warm during the long hours out in the cold this base layer produced when I needed it to. It is comfortably warm not like some base layers that become uncomfortable when the weather gets warm this base layer stays comfortable. Guys in law enforcement and the military this is what you need in the cold.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extreme fleece

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chino
Location: Peru
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,comfortable and warm
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

From Sea to Ski

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mardi
Location: Seattle, Wa.
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this for sking. I dropped a layer under my ski jacket. Don't like the long arms with the thumb hole. I use a tight base under this (feels better). I get cold easy and don't sweat much but this did very well at keeping me warm (not to warm) through the ride to the ski area, on the chair, and a hard run down (my jacket was soaked but I was nice and dry).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Size

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
TrapShooter
Location: IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runs very small. Too tight, especially around the neck. Not comfortable.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet Baselayer

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
emccoy
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought both the top and bottom extreme fleece and have woren it for work. Loved them! Going to buy another pair soon
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men’s Extreme Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just okay

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Climbhikepaddle
Location: Jorge
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
First they run small, tight to skin. Doesn't feel right against skin, need to wear a tee shirt or some other layer. While sitting still didn't really notice it keeping me any warmer, but when active it did seem to heat up quicker and seemed to wick/ breath very well.cant say it really is better then other similar brands clothing but it does work ok.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next>>