Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Baselayer Bug Shield™ Long Sleeve Top

Columbia Men’s Baselayer Bug Shield™ Long Sleeve Top

Mosquitoes harbor more than an excruciating pinprick—West Nile virus and malaria lurk deep within this summer pest. Don this Insect Blocker™ top and you’ll be armed with a force field of protection against biting bugs.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Baselayer Bug Shield™ Long Sleeve Top
Review 1 for Men’s Baselayer Bug Shield™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mexican Bugs can't read English label saying insect block fabric

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer avatar
TTOBIAS
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought four of these shirts to take with me on a four week work trip to Mexico and two as gifts for my Mexican counterpart/ government companion. I am a forestry surveyor and my company was invited by the Mexican government to help map and survey areas in Chihuahua Mexico, I spent two weeks in the Chihuahua desert and the shirts were a great base layer especially at night when the desert gets cold. After two weeks in the desert and low insect activity the shirts worked great then we moved to the Sierra Madre Copper Canyon this was mostly alpine environment and in lower elevation thick jungle rain-forest. THe shirt were very nice in the higher elevation and moderate bug activity but when we traveled to the lower areas the effectiveness of the bug shield was reduced to maybe 75% effectiveness. I would continuously swat bugs off my arms and face and legs while wearing bug shield base layer shirt and pants and hat. My Mexican counterpart/protector assigned by the Government(carried firearm) had a great sense of humor and one night kidded and said These are Mexican Bugs and they can't read the English label saying insect block fabric. Over all these shirts were great they wicked moisture away very well and totally worked well in the desert and ok in the high humidity and bug infestation of high humidity jungle/rain forest terrain. The fit was perfect not to tight or too loose. I did not get one bug bite while in the desert or the alpine environment but did get bug bites in sub-tropical lower elevation climes. I outfitted myself with bug pants, shirts and hat and wore the l/s Bahama ll shirts if interested check out my reviews there.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Baselayer Bug Shield™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bug Repellent Baselayer

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Higuma
Location: California and Utah
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For those of us who hate the smell and feel of bug repellent sprays and lotions, this is a superior solution. I wore this shirt fishing bug-infested lakes in the North woods of Pennsylvania's Pocono Mountains in the twilight, late evening, and full darkness. I got very few bites near the shirt and generally few bugs around my head and shoulders, which was great. My legs and feet were another story . . .
Apparently I need Insect Blocker pants, too.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Baselayer Bug Shield™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Shirt

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Customer avatar
mlw9030
Location: Fort Smith, AR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a Pro Fisherman on the FLW Tour. My arms starting getting dark sports on them from the Sun. My wife ordered these shirts to help protect my arms from the Sun. I could not believe how cool they were in 100 Deg weather with the sun beaming down on me. I had 100% protection from Sun and was cooler than having a short sleeve shirt on. Anybody working or playing in the Sun need to try this product it’s awesome.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byAmLux
Luxembourg
 
Please wait while more information about AmLux is loaded.
Additional information about AmLux could not be loaded.
What about the Insects?
onNovember 5, 2013
Did you get a bunch of bug bites while being protected from the sun???
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Men’s Baselayer Bug Shield™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is as good as advertised.

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
RAC7
Location: Long Island, NY
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Excellent shirt for working out. Very comfortable and fits really well.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Baselayer Bug Shield™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

COLORS

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
AIRBORNE
Location: SALEM,ALABAMA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I WAS DISAPPOINTED THAT THERE WERE ONLY ONE COLOR TO CHOOSE FROM
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Baselayer Bug Shield™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Shirt

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer avatar
NocturnalBiologist
Location: Kentucky
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
About all I could ask for in a light weight long sleeve shirt. I spend long hours outside after dark in the summer in this shirt is a perfect fit for keeping biting insects away, while not being overbearingly warm.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Baselayer Bug Shield™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a week in the wind river range

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
cowboy35
Location: birminghm,al
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wore this shirt for a lot of my trip. There were not too many bugs around i did notice some right around dark i did not get bit. They also didn't land on the shirt but a few on my hands and neck.
super comfortable, great fit, kind of pricey, cool shirt when worn by itself.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Baselayer Bug Shield™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
DanBurt33
Location: Athens, OH
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the light packable size of this shirt. Keeps the sun and bugs off your skin without you hardly even knowing its there. I commonly pair this with the Insight Ice short sleeve crew and the combo works great for summer backpacking. I'm 5'11 160lbs. and the medium fits me perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Baselayer Bug Shield™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

BUG SHIELD vs deep wood off w/deet

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
TerryM
Location: Jackson,MS
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wish there where more reviews pior to ordering. The shirt says it will last up to 70 washes. I guess the scent will last about this much or less. First use was in Destin, FL fishing the flats. Other on the boat and my self didnt feel anybites from any insects or see any. -1 Second trip, Shell beach, LA, I was sure to put it to the test against the no see um bugs. -1. The bugs where there and I was live bait. I dont think there is anything to keep them away. The result after three uses, its to much money, you will be better off with a baselayer to cover skin and stay cool than the Extra $ for the bug scent, use the extra money for some good bug spray. Wish it offered more color options. Washing it seperate from other clothes can be a pain.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Baselayer Bug Shield™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and functional

PostedApril 3, 2012
Customer avatar
emankcin
Location: Frisco TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fit, very comfortable and breathes well. Not one single bite after a night of star gazing.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Other
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Humid, Bug Infested, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.