Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Baselayer Lightweight Short Sleeve Top

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Baselayer Lightweight Short Sleeve Top

The last mile, the last sip of water, the last stitch of energy—this ultra-cooling top rises to the occasion just like you do. Our innovative bodymapped design keeps you comfortable and dry by combining hyper-breathable mesh and our most advanced cooling and wicking technologies in areas where you need them most.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Baselayer Lightweight Short Sleeve Top
Review 1 for Men's Baselayer Lightweight Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight Short-sleeve top

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Tom1210
Location: Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Florida near the beach and it's late July. It's hot, muggy and I spend a part of most days at the beach. These shirts are ideal for wearing to the beach because they are so light and dry quickly, yet provide cover from the sun. They do exactly what I bought them for.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Baselayer Lightweight Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's comfortable and feels cooler

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
petite
Location: Honolulu, HI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got a white color one for my husband. He likes this alot. He thinks it's a good fit though it's slightly loose on him. And he feels cool without getting overheated with this top. The top wicks well and doesn't stink due to the antimicrobial feature, he really likes this feature alot. The material is so soft and silky, very comfortable. He likes this baselayer and probably wants to buy some more later on.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Baselayer Lightweight Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lightweight is true

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer avatar
agr641
Location: 42420
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
true to the name & works great in summer & as base layer or alone!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Baselayer Lightweight Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Hot Weather Shirt

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
ParamedicKelly
Location: Leavenworth, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this shirt to wear under my button up uniform shirt to keep me cool on hot days. Am very happy with the way it wicks moisture & makes my uniform shirt more bareable when the temps rise above 90 degrees.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Baselayer Lightweight Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice feel; too big

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer avatar
kolea
Location: San Diego, CA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was unable to test the touted material properties due to fitting; however, fit aside, the shirt is very comfortable and light weight and would serve well as a base. Drop it down a size if you normally are borderline M/L with other clothing brands (I'm 71" w/ ~39" chest).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Baselayer Lightweight Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Technology as advertised

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
BobinMaine
Location: Sidney, ME
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although I would like the XXL shirt to be a little bit larger at the chest, it is comfortable for a large person. The shirt does fit my 19" neck. Amazingly, the shirt does a great job wicking away perspiration and indeed keeping me cool during moderate activity. I tend to sweat a lot. I have used this shirt hiking on a couple very humid days.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Baselayer Lightweight Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Active Shirt

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Katatonia7
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i also own the Insight Ice Mesh shirt, two Nike Dri Fits, Adidas Climacool, and a few other comparable shirts from other companies and this shirt BY FAR is my favorite. it feels like you are wearing nothing at all. i didnt have a problem with it being to tight or anything it fits me perfect. im 6 feet tall 165 pounds so im tall and pretty skinny and i own the medium. ive mountain biked in this shirt and have gone to the gym in it and hiked in it and absolutely love it. i want the solar polar long sleeve now. i cant say enough about these shirts. so worth the money if this is the type of thing you like. there are also very tiny vent holes in the arm pits. the fabric is top notch. i bought one for my girlfriend too haha and she loves it. we will be the annoying matching couple hiking half dome this year. go get one!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Baselayer Lightweight Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sleeves

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
GaryMac
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The sleeves were oddly short and not even long enough to fit the arm and lie down (they flared out).
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.