Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Half Zip Top

Columbia Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Half Zip Top

Built for warmth and movement in the deep cold, this toasty baselayer features a performance blend of stretchy, body heat retaining thermal reflective waffle fabric with Omni-Wick® stretch jersey inserts at the side/underarm to disperse excess heat and wick sweat during dynamic activity. Raglan sleeves deliver better range of motion, and a dropped hem in back provides more coverage where it counts.
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
5 out of 7(71%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Half Zip Top
Review 1 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Half Zip Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

light

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Affinity
Location: charleston, sc
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice and light but not as warm as a hoped, moisture wicking works well and great for heavy activity.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byVeronaDave
ohio
 
Please wait while more information about VeronaDave is loaded.
Additional information about VeronaDave could not be loaded.
Disappointed.
onJanuary 23, 2014
The first time I wore this, as a baselayer while skiing, it snagged. I have to wonder how long it will last before it starts to unravel
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Half Zip Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
BenC
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted this for a base layer when I ride my motorcycle in the winter when temps are in the high 30's - low 40's. It has been a great success.
This is well made, the OmniWick works really well to keep me dry even when I start to sweat. And the Omni Heat is noticeably warmer than other items without it.
The best part is that this garment is so well cut and constructed that it is comfortable to wear all the time. I wear it under a tee shirt and feel perfectly comfortable. I can't say enough good stuff about this. Great experience with it.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Half Zip Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
mbfirelt
Location: Alabama
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hunt 50+ days per year and these are the absolute warmest thermals that I have ever owned. These are for long periods of low activity as with even moderate activity you will start to sweat, even in frigid cold. This thermal with the omni heat 1/2 zip pullover is my "Go To" layering on the coldest days. Great Product!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Half Zip Top
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Snags Easily

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Milky775
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved the look and fit (size large - 6ft 170lbs). I wore about 3x before I started noticing a ton of snags throughout the shirt. Not a big deal when wearing as baselayer but I liked to wear as light jacket as well.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Half Zip Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
OldRail
Location: Loveland CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second purchase of this product. It lives up to Columbia's hype.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Half Zip Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sexy and Warm

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Joey36
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This works if you have a good body. If you don't, only the omni heat works. Great product !!!
I would recommend this product.
-11points
1of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Baselayer Heavyweight Half Zip Top
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor quality

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Swivs
Location: Boston
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Only wore it once, didnt wash it yet and its already pilling, threads are coming out, id return it if it wasnt such a hassle.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.