Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short

Columbia Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short

Discover rugged comfort with the Brownsmead. Made of stonewashed cotton twill, these shorts are softer than many cargo shorts on the market. Featuring our strongest UPF 50 sun protection, they’ll keep you covered when the high summer sun beats down and with six pockets total, you’ll always have a place for gadgets and gear.
Overall rating:
4.175 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
46 out of 54(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Review 1 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These shorts are of great quality and comfort.

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Angels Camp, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear shorts everyday of the year and these shorts look good at a backyard party, the golf course, or at a causal restaurant. The material is soft yet very strong and the quality of workmanship shows very well at the stitching on the pockets, seams and hems. These shorts are very durable as well. I had a few pairs previously that lasted for several years. I purchased 3 pairs and will be buying the other colors that are available. Overall experience: EXCELLENT !
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fix the buttons

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: San Diego and Mesquite, Nevada
First thing I noticed was that the waist buttons on both of the shorts was way too loose. So I sewed them on a little tighter. Shorts are fine but they can't compare to the product you made for JC Penney a couple years ago, they were the best. Make them again and I'll buy them all.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good in the Shorts

PostedMay 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: CA
The Brownsmead shorts are just about perfect; great fit, nice length, lots of poackets and good looking. They are a cargo type short that does not make you look like you just returned from living in the bush country. The only suggestion to improve upon them - add a button or velcro closure to the back pockets. Keep up the good work!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

shorts

PostedApril 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Sumner WA
nice soft, fits good
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Couldn't fit in

PostedJune 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
I have shorts by several manufacturers of the size I ordered from Columbia. It was as if the product was marked incorrectly and was a full size (2")smaller. This was a trial run to see the fit vs. actual size. I have many Columbia products and couldn't be happier with all of them. This really surprised me as Columbia's sizing is very generous overall.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fit

PostedJune 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: California
These are great outdoor shorts for men. Only area of concern is that the buttons are plastic which was a surprise.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish

PostedJune 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Comfortable fit with good design.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Classic Cargo Short

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Washington State
Comfortable and functional shorts that get a lot of use.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great shorts

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: planet earth
i was looking for a good pair of shorts, and these fit the bill !!!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable fit; great price

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer avatar
The fit is great, material is comfortable, and you can't beat the price for the quality product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor craftsmanship

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought two pair. Buttons fell off both the first time they were worn. Don't have high expectations of these lasting very long.
Activities: Other
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bySeattleErrandRunner
Seattle,Wa
 
Please wait while more information about SeattleErrandRunner is loaded.
Additional information about SeattleErrandRunner could not be loaded.
same problem
onJune 7, 2013
I bought these. The buttons cut through the thread. I sewed it back on once or twice and it came off .
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Shorts

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Missoula, Mt.
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:Yes
  • Employee
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts and I really like the material. They look good and are very functional.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cargo Shorts

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: TN
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It would be nice if there where 8 inch inseam cargo short in a 36 size waist in this brownsmead. I have two old pairs of Columbia cargo's that I love, but they are wore out and have holes now. They are almost 10 years old.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bytomW
 
Please wait while more information about tomW is loaded.
Additional information about tomW could not be loaded.
good old columbia's
onJune 24, 2012
Maybe columbia will get the message in 10 years. The old products are what we want. Functional clothing, 28 oz cotton and pockets that work. with a good button closure. not a snap that pops when you jump or squat. how about that large mouth short that lasted 10 years, thats what I am wearing out finally and it was discontinued in 2002. Thanks columbia of yester year
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality Product

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As expected, the same great quality product, which is why I come back time and time again and usually buy several pairs. — Thanks Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Missing details

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
although this garment is my favorite for fit and function I was disappointed to find that the velcro on the back pockets was missing. I would not have purchased them had I known this detail was missing. I feel this incomplete product was passed on to me because of on line purchase.......
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A solid performer

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Houston
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had similar Columbia shorts and always found them to be dependable and rugged, these are no exception. As a new owner this pair has only been put to the test twice, each time on an eight mile hike. There has been no signs of wear or fabric pilling in the crotch, as happens in cheaper shorts that I bought recently when in a pinch. Also compared to the shorts that were about one half the price, the pockets are easier to get into and the color stays fast after washing. The cheap shorts are now relegated for yard work. The Brownsmead short is a good value.
The only complaint is the length, I prefer a 9 inch inseam while these shorts come in 8 or 10 inch only. So I bought the 10 inch and did notice the fabric brushing at the back of my knee. Perhaps I should have purchased the 8 inch inseam, but the value and performance of the shorts remains solid.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Columbia Shorts are THE best

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: East Patchogue, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want a quality pair of shorts that will hold up, hold tons of stuff and looks great, you look nowhere else but Columbia. I don't buy any other shorts but Columbia. The fabric is terrific and holds up to summer activity and washes well also.
If I can't find a pair of Columbia shorts at a store, I go somewhere else until I find them.
Keep it up Columbia and DON"T ever change what you are doing!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfotable short

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle,Wa
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Serves the purpose for purchase.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Bristol, RI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product was "as advertised" and at a fair price. Good value in my opinion: as usual with Columbia products.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Brownsmead™ II Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tight in the rear

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Pensacola, FL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have gained some weight since I retired so I ordered 42 waist because my other pair of Columbia shorts fit well. The new ones are a bit small in the rear. I would like to see a few more bealt loops too. Otherwise they are great.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>