Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Coolest Cool Jewels™ 9 Inch Short

Columbia Men's Coolest Cool Jewels™ 9 Inch Short

These performance all-day briefs are the perfect combination of comfort and technology, featuring ergonomically wrapped seams, slight compression for comfort and support, and a powerhouse combo of ultra-light Omni-Freeze® ZERO fabric, which reacts with sweat to lower the temperature of the material, and Omni-Wick technology, which transmits heat and moisture away from your body.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Coolest Cool Jewels™ 9 Inch Short
Review 1 for Men's Coolest Cool Jewels™ 9 Inch Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Delivered

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
TexasMark
Location: Houston, TX
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wore this all day underneath cargo shorts. It delivered on it's purpose. I stayed cool despite the hot weather and did not have that dampness that all cotton gives. I'm glad I got the 9 inch length since these also kept my shorts from causing any abrasion while walking for a few miles that first day of use.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Coolest Cool Jewels™ 9 Inch Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good baselayer

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
llonacho
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is a very good baselayer, thin and lightweight. It does not have omni-freeze in all the short, only in a small part at the rear.
I wear 34W pants, so I bought a M size, the first time I tried the short on, the thread around the waist teared up.... I still use it because it has an elastic waistband.
The shorts are very good, a bit small than expected, but overall quality is good.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Coolest Cool Jewels™ 9 Inch Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
SierraBuster
Location: Sierra Nevada, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear these shorts all the time when hiking or backpacking. They are lightweight and breathe well. They also prevent any chaffing that I used to have. This was one of the best purchases that I made for improving my hiking experience.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Coolest Cool Jewels™ 9 Inch Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

little big

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
frmedic100
Location: Alabama
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like the quality and workmanship of product they appear to be well worth the price. I apparently need a youth size however.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Coolest Cool Jewels™ 9 Inch Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
MickeyJr
Location: Houston
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit & great comfort. Much better than traditional compression short, cooler, and way more comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Coolest Cool Jewels™ 9 Inch Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Using as Workout Gear

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer avatar
emanks2
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these shorts along with a Coolest Cool Performance Top featuring the same Omni Freeze technology. I love these shorts! They have the perfect performance fit: tight contour yet never bunch up, and the Omni Freeze technology definitely kicks in during my workout, mostly around my rear end. I agree that they have a fit similar to cycling shorts. I can attest that your Jewels won't be bouncing all over the place in a pair of these. I am 6'3 and the 9" shorts runs to about the top of my lower quad. They don't show under my shorts when I sit down. I don't understand why the Coolest Cool Top didn't perform the same as these shorts despite both having the same Omni Freeze technology woven into it. I would recommend wearing these shorts as everyday underwear, probably the 6" short more so than the 9" in this case. The material has some strength to it, but I've had similar material tear when a zipper catches it in the laundry. Definitely worth owning a pair.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Coolest Cool Jewels™ 9 Inch Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best.... Product... Ever

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
japh
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time I wore this was a hot July day at the Rock Gym. They kept "everything" in their place and nicely cool. I didn't even realize just how hot it was until my wife complained about it at the end of our session.
My wife also says that if you make a sports bra with this material, she would be the first in line to buy it.
In short, these are the epitome of awesome.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Coolest Cool Jewels™ 9 Inch Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool Jewels!!

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Customer avatar
MimiRN
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The technology is amazing and is serving our soldiers in the middle east well! It is HOT over there and Cool Jewels do wonders to keep our guys comfortable in the heat. The only complaint is a lack of a placket...it is not convenient to have to strip off body armor when you have to use the bathroom.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Coolest Cool Jewels™ 9 Inch Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts, especially for the hot days here in Las Vegas

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
DougH
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts work great and keep me cool in the very hot weather here in Las Vegas. Will be getting some more.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Coolest Cool Jewels™ 9 Inch Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

another excellent garment from Columbia

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer avatar
tbasso
Location: Davis, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent base layer shorts. Has a lot of applications. These work well for just hanging around the house, sleep wear, etc. Even washing the car. They have the look and feel of a bike short.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.