Customer reviews for Columbia Men's ROC™ II Short

Columbia Men's ROC™ II Short

A clean, understated pair that always stays tough, the newly updated ROC II features a cleaner design with a sleeker fit and a new zip-closed hip pocket built to hold your precious smart-phone in the face of rough terrain.
Overall rating:
3.714 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 70 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
8
1 Star
8
50 out of 66(76%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's ROC™ II Short
Review 1 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shorts!!!

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Georgia
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are the most comfortable shorts I have ever worn! They fit great and look good too! Perfect length with the 8 in inseam, I wish I had about 5 pair in each color! Columbia delivers again in quality and comfortably!
Activities: Trail, Canoeing, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Boating, Kayaking, Vacation, Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Bug Infested, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ROC Shorts

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Overland Park, KS
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shorts but too big in the waist compared to the same size (33) in the ROC regular pants.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byRocI
 
Please wait while more information about RocI is loaded.
Additional information about RocI could not be loaded.
Old style Roc -v- Roc 2
onMay 13, 2013
Definetly a difference in the old Roc and the new RocII,the fit is just not there any more not a bit comfortable esp. when sitting just a big difference all together,I wear a 35 waist and 8" inseam and love the old Roc shorts and would pay a premium price for them just to satisfied. I wish I had known columbia was going to make the change I would have bought 5 year supply. who else makes shorts like the old Roc's?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Qualified Excellent

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Holland, MI
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered my ROC II Shorts because of the placement of the pockets and the rugged, yet classic, look. They are living up to my expectations as long as I wear a belt. Normally a size 38 fits me just right and sometimes a little snug after washing. My ROC II's are a generous 38 and do not shrink with washing. I was also disappointed when they arrived and the velcro fastener, on the right leg pocket, was only tacked in place and came off the first time I tried to use the pocket. Not the normal quality I have come to expect from Columbia. My wife sewed the velcro in place and I wear the shorts all the time. The velcro situation kept me from giving these shorts an Excellent quality rating.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BRING BACK THE ORIGINAL ROC SHORTS!!!!!

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Findlay, OH
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I would like to start by saying I have worn Columbia shorts, pants, t-shirts, polos, and button down shirts for about twelve years now. I have been satisfied with the overall quality of all of my Columbia clothing. I have owned many, many pairs of the ORIGINAL ROC shorts over the years and have enjoyed the fit, quality, and look of them. They were a nice combination casual and ruggedness, which is my style of clothing. These new ROC II shorts are not a quality product and I am very disappointed Columbia decided to change/replace the ORIGINAL ROC shorts. Here is my list of pros and cons for these shorts.
CONS:
-The weight of the fabric seems thinner, lighter, and more relaxed than before.
-The right lower leg pocket has no pencil/pen slot and the velcro is not sewn solidly.
-The loss of the inside coin pocket inside the front right pocket. It was nice for keeping change/smaller items organized.
-The back pocket velcro is not sewn solidly and isn't large enough.
*The biggest problem is the lower rise and overall cut. The rise is too low and the cut is too slim. I liked how the ORIGINAL ROC shorts sat at the waist and were a relaxed fit. I normally wear a 38" waist and 8" inseam, so no matter if I go up a size or not these shorts are not going to fit comfortably. Who are you making these shorts for? People who enjoy drinking a good American lager (down to earth regular people) or people who drink canned energy drinks and wear their hats backwards and pants down to their knees (in other words, idiots).
PROS (very few):
-Good variety of colors.
-The belt loop length and width are nice. The number and spacing of the belt loops is nice, too.
Overall Complaint:
-Why do so many of your shorts have inseams that are 10-11 inches long? Are all of your customers 6 feet or taller? What about your customers who are shorter? Not everyone wants to look like they are swimming in their shorts.
I am very disappointed with the recent pairs of ROC II shorts I purchased and I will be returning them to the store where I ordered them. I will also be purchasing replacement shorts from a different company because you do not offer anything that I am interested in purchasing and wearing. I have looked at your whole selection and everything either has too long of an inseam or the rise is too low. You have lost a customer and I will not purchase any additional clothing from you until you bring back the ORIGINAL ROC shorts.
I do not recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Less than the Lander short

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Tennessee
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love my Lander shorts. They are tough, functional, easy to care for, and exceedingly comfortable. These ROC IIs seem to be the closest I can find. These are thinner material and lack the gusseted crotch, but they have a slightly dressier (although "dressy" is not a term accurately applied to a pair of shorts) appearance. I miss the Lander. Best shorts ever.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent fit, great looking!!!!

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Long Beach, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these shorts only recently so can't attest to longevity but the fit is excellent and the look is better. I chose the 8" inseam and it's nice to have shorts that don't drop far below the knee like modern styles dictate (especially if you're not particulary tall/I'm 5'9"). They look great and I will buy several more colors in the same style when I can afford it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sizes are not Correect - a QA Problem

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the ROC shorts with their zippered pockets for my wallet BUT be wary of ordering them on-line. Twice I ordered a 35" waist and got ones marked 35" but measuring 38"! Their phone support was very helpful for the returns but they obviously have a bigger problem with their vendor.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all they are a lot better looking in person. I'm super tall (6'6) and they fit perfectly (I like them to hit several inches above the knee cap). Second, they are extremely durable. I wear them all the time in all kinds of scenarios. I have the crouton and fossil. The colors arent exactly accurate in these pictures either. I plan on buying more pairs of these.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ruined a Great Thing

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Grand Rapids
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been wearing these shorts for years. They were the best. When I went to reorder for this season I saw a lot of comments about poor fit and reduced quality. I decided to see for myself.
The fit was terrible. 2" off in the waist. I bought the same ROC II in the pants and they were fine. No reason for this inconsistency.
The fabric is lighter weight and will not wear as well. I put them side by side with my old paid and did a comparison.
To make things worse I had to pay for the return. Others take returns prepaid. I know because I buy from them for my family as well.
Something is going on a Columbia that I do not like. Did I mention that the kids fleece pilled much sooner than they should have? I have switched them to other brands. More expensive but better overall value (cost + quality+ brand image)
We but a lot of gear for my family of five and can shop where we like. I am unhappy with Columbia products.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shorts ever

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Phoenix
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very happy to see ROC II shorts offered online. I have a ROC shorts wearer for many years.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Shorts by Columbia

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Nevada
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits true to size. The button works much better than the snap on the Ultimate ROC, which also fit tight. The leg pocket is just right too. Good fabric - not as heavy as the ROC I - but it's wearing well. Pockets are good. Zipper is now nylon, but these are as long-wearing as brass, even if they are not as substantial looking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Rockwood
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These are lower quality than I figured. Fabric is decent but velcro pocket closures are a disappointment. The extra zipper pocket is kinda cool, and the smartphone pocket holds my LG well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too big, otherwise good utility short

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Atlanta, GA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
While I appreciate the quality and function--good weight canvas with velcro and zipper in all the right places, they run WAY too big. I am 6' and 165 lbs with a solid 33 inch waist, but these 33's were hanging off of me. I had ordered a 32" waist as well, which fits better, but is still on the loose side, even after a wash and dry.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Falling Quality

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Switzerland + Irvine CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The ROC short used to be my favorite hands down. I recently bought 2 pairs of ROC II's to replace my old and worn out ones and not only do I have to agree with many reviewers that the quality is lower, but it seems that quality control has also flow out the window. The inseam length on the shorts I purchased is closer to 11' than the 10' I ordered, which as a matter of fact is the only length offered for the ROC II.
Also worth noting if you are buying on-line is that the colors on the web are misleading. The fossil which I bought is significantly lighter than what it appears when buying on-line.
Last but not least you cannot get them outside the USA so for all of us who do not live in the USA buying Columbia products is a matter of trust in their quality... and I'm now no longer willing to buy Columbia products expect in a physical shop where I can check the quality.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Men's Roc II Short

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Chilmark, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My significant other, that I ordered the shorts for, has been wearing shorts from Columbia for many, many years and has always liked the quality and fit. This batch of shorts did not fit well, the quality of the material was poor and so was the workmanship. I had to send them all back. It is a shame, I wish you had not changed the quality and construction of a previously great product.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If it isn't broke, don't fix it

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Seriously, I am looking everywhere for your original ROC short. They were great. I live in a coastal community with lots of sportsmen who fish and loved your shorts. Your length is way too long for any of them and the fit on your new shorts is way off.
You have lost alot of customers. My son is 19 and loved your shorts as did my husband who is 50. Who is your target market?I can't even find the 8 in inseam in a 38 or 40. The others even on a 6 ft. person is too long.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bygtg742t
Brunswick, GA
 
Please wait while more information about gtg742t is loaded.
Additional information about gtg742t could not be loaded.
Where to find good ol' regular ROC shorts!
onSeptember 4, 2012
I too live in a coastal community! As much as it pains me to give away the location of my supply of good Columbia stuff....I have found both the original ROC and ROC II shorts at my local BELKS. I just got two pair of the ROC II shorts from my bro-in-law because he said he hated the length (too short). I have been babying my original ROC shorts for the last seven years! Please Columbia/Ma Gert go back to making the original ROC shorts and pants!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great, with a couple caveats

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been wearing Roc series shorts for years. The only other ones are Patagonia Stand-Up shorts.
This latest pair still fits the bill of reasonably priced, well-built, well designed shorts. I only have two small quibbles:
Sizing at Columbia is nuts. What's labelled a 30" waist measures 32". Other comments are that they run small. From year to year, all I can conclude is that the sizing is unreliable, so be prepared to send them back if you're not buying them in the store.
In addition to the waist, Rocs are getting longer and longer. They're now tickling my calves. Really, why?
The other, trivial quibble, is what's with the double back belt loop? Just to encourage people like me to miss one and look kind of silly?
I still love these shorts, don't get me wrong, and recommend them highly. I just wish I could have cloned my worn out pair.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but used to be better made

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: San Diego, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
As others have noted, the smartphone pocket is shallower than it used to be, and the velcro poorly attached. Waist is vanity sized; I bought a '35' but fits the same as the old 36. Low rise.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts!

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: South Carolina
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been wearing the ROCII's since before you were adding the rivets and the overall fabric may have been slightly different, but still a great design. As a contractor I put clothing through every rigor imaginable and 9 out of 10 days during warmer months I am in a pair of these shorts. One point of note, PLEASE KEEP PRODUCING THE SHORTER INSEAM! I ordered the 10" this time, and they are okay, but the 8" inseams are much preferred. I couldn't find a single size/ color combination that you guys were actually offering the 8" inseam.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's ROC™ II Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not a good fit

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Salisbury NC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
these shorts were too large, everything else I wear is a 36 inch waist but these 36 inch shorts were not wearable, even with a belt.
Also, the inseam seemed too shallow. they fit real low on my hips. I have returned these shorts.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 Next>>