Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short

Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short

From boulder hopping to fjord fording, this multi-talented cargo works overtime to keep you cool and comfortable. It’s lightweight yet rugged, with an über-comfy cut featuring a gusset detail for ultimate freedom of movement.
Overall rating:
4.304 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
67 out of 75(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Review 1 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Pockets

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Customer avatar
MrDragon926
Location: Medina, OH 44256, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have bought these exact shorts a few years ago and thought they were great, but the new ones are constructed very well, but the pockets are worthless, except for the one cargo pocket with the zipper. My old shorts had a zippered pocket for money or keys, then the back pocket was zippered for wallet, then both cargo pockets were zippered, kept my stuff very safe. The new pockets are terrible, I have had my wallet fall out, I have had my money clip fall out, I have had my keys fall out. If you don't plan on carrying anything in your pockets the shorts are good.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Customer avatar
NerdyBusiness
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm in love with this shorts - excellent material with lot of covered zippers and pockets. Its very comfortable and stylish. Highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Waist size of colors not all the same

PostedJune 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Eoghan
Location: Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought two pair one in tusk and one in grill. The waist was not the same in both. The tusk was smaller although they are both listed as the same size.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shorts

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
cabnat
Location: kalispell, mt
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts are comfortable and cool and made well. The belt is not of the same quality.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Climbing Instructor

PostedJune 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Climber
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed. I have to agree with other revues posted that the Silver Ridge Cargo pant is not up to the expectation of Columbia.
1) The Velcro (small strips) holding the pockets together is very small, and does not secure the pockets tightly....my cell phone fell out of the right hand cargo pocket, because of the weak/small amount of Velcro.
2) The front cargo pockets "flop" with every stride I make while approaching or climbing. Would be nice if they were a part of the pants, rather than a loose pocket of its own. Very annoying. Too much "flapping" of the legs with each stride.
3) The left hand pocket has a zipper and this is nice, and does hold items securely. Not so with the right cargo pocket.....barely any holding power.
4) The same with the rear pockets. Will not secure a wallet or anything sizable or bulky.
5) The two front pockets are very "shallow" and will allow anything to slip out...even with the small minimal Velcro strip that is in place.
But the fit, and comfort is very nice and wears well, with quick drying properties.
The biggest drawback is the "flapping of the legs" cargo pockets, with small Velcro strips. Annoying.
If both cargo pockets had zippers/or full Velcro closure and were a part of the pant legs they would be wonderful.
Consider zippers on the two rear pockets, or at least a full Velcro strip for total closure.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice Shorts But Did Not Fit Me Well

PostedJune 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Arthur11
Location: Chico, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shorts are good quality, but the fit was not for me. I have worn the older Silver Ridge shorts for a few years and they fit me well. I could not find the correct size with the newer shorts. I am 6'1'' and weigh 165 lbs. and wore the medium longs (12in. inseam) in the older shorts: I usually wear a 32 waist in all shorts and pants. Theses current shorts fit small in the legs. I ordered a 32 waist and it was perfect, but the legs felt tight; putting my hands into the pockets was a really tight squeeze. Sitting down was uncomfortabIe. I don't have muscle bound legs--I am pretty lean--so the lack of space was surprising. I returned the shorts with no issues, and got the 34 waist. The waist was huge on me, but the constricted leg issue from before was gone (a belt was no good to help the waist: too much fabric to gather). Returned those too. Unfortunately, the sizing was just a poor fit for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wrong size

PostedJune 8, 2015
Customer avatar
AMLynch
Location: LI, NEW YORK
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After reading reviews I decided to go up a size...... Big mistake. Shorts were huge! Just order next two sizes down. Hoping one of them will fit.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not as good as last year's

PostedJune 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fred77
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought a couple of these last year or the year before. I liked them so much that I decided to buy a couple more this year. While I have not worn them much yet I have already found one feature that was nicer in the older shorts. Namely the belt. The new belt clasp is not as easy to use, feels less secure, and feels cheaper than the old belt. Beyond this the shorts are still comfortable and provide all the features I require in a hiking short. A year ago I would have rated these 5 stars overall and 5 stars for quality and function. I would probably still have rated them 5 stars if I did not have the older shorts to compare. Just a minor step down in quality.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally found a replacement

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer avatar
BSBSR
Location: Stockbridge, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My old Columbia cargo short finally became painting shorts after 6 or 7 years of constant use. I am a creature of consistency and wanted the same style and fit. I got what I wanted. They look and feel even better and they fit perfectly.
I recommend buying these shorts.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedMay 11, 2015
Customer avatar
BeaverDAMage
Location: Southern Oregon, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these shorts, I own 5 pairs of them. The material is so great, it is tough and resist tears, light weight, drys quickly. Perfect. I wear them on warm days when hunting, the material isn't very load, and it is so much lighter than many other tech shorts I have owned. But don't confuse light weight with weakness, I climb all over the place in these, through some of the thickest brush Oregon has to offer, both on the coast and here in the Rogue Valley, and I have yet to rip or tear a pair. The zip pockets are great, plenty of storage room. I really cant say enough about these shorts. Get a pair and you'll know what I mean.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Silver Ridge Cargo

PostedMay 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Reddrum21
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I spend a lot of time on the water and mostly in a kayak. I love that these are sturdy, lightweight, and long. I'm not a big fan of short shorts, so being able to choose a 12" length was valuable to me. Favorite shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

would buy again

PostedMay 8, 2015
Customer avatar
rojas
Location: thousand oaks
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice quality; lightweight.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very nice

PostedApril 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Stevn4
Location: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
UPF and light weight, very comfortable!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Shorts made

PostedApril 12, 2015
Customer avatar
leanandmean
Location: Fair Oaks, CA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit, true to size. I'm 6'6" 215# and these fit me well. You can get them filthy stained with blood, sweat and tears, wash them and they come clean and the look new. Pack them, pull them out and shake them and they look newly pressed. They are very durable and take the abuse. I do yard work, golf, walk, hike, swim and go to nice restaurants wearing them. I'm slowly replacing all my shorts with Silver-Ridge. I highly recommend them.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love'em!

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Yoshi
Location: Missoula, MT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok, so I was apprehensive about buying these shorts because of the mixed reviews and size/fit concerns but I pulled the trigger and bought a couple pairs and here is what I think.
I usually wear a 36 waist pant from Columbia, and that is the same size I bought in these shorts (36x12). I would say they are the same fit around the waist as I am used to buying.
The crotch area which other reviewers have stated to be "very snug" in that area, I did not experience that with these shorts, they have the same fit as any other Modern Classic fit items...they may have made adjustments to the fit for 2015 too, not sure.
I ordered the Everblue & Columbia Grey colors, and they are 2 great new colors. Love that Columbia is experimenting with actual "colors" instead of just the usual earth tones...
I will be buying a few more of these for the Peace Corps trip I have in Africa next month. Hoping these will be the right summer weight shorts for year round temps around 100F. I have high hopes for these, as being easy to hand wash, quick drying, wicking sweat, providing sunblock without applying any, and meeting my outdoor style. The only thing that would make these better is if there was also Insect Blocker in the fabric.
I also think it would be cool if the 2 cargo pockets were reversed (zipper pocket on the right, and velcro pocket on the left), but it is not a big deal or inconvenience in any way.
I also think a future modification would be to make these with a Snap closure as opposed to the Button, for some reason I just think it would be better that way. Also the included belt is a nice touch, it IS removable and is not sewn into the shorts like I have heard some people say.
Needless to say, I like that they come in the 12" inseam too. I don't like my shorts too long or too short, these sit right at the bottom of the knee cap. These do not weigh much at all, which is one thing I look for in backpacking clothes, or when being TSA baggage weight conscious, they fold up quite small too, so bringing multiple pairs will not be an issue.
These will pair up great with the many Silver Ridge Shirts I own too.
Great job Columbia on these, keep experimenting with color options, and continue to make future versions of these cooler! Will buy more!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Shrinkage

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Herm
Location: NH
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shrunk from 38" to 37" waist size after washing in cold water. Sent back a larger size thinking the next size down would work perfectly. Didn't happen! Should have kept the larger size.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Silver Ridge

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
bajawanderer
Location: California, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Silver Ridge Cargo shorts fit well and are quite comfortable on those long hikes, however the quality and functionality is far inferior to Columbia's previous hiking shorts.
*The cargo pockets do not expand.
*Security pocket (only One) is on the left side making it more difficult to open and use for right handed folks like me and the other 85% of the population.
*There are no pull tabs on the zippers heads thereby drastically reducing their functionality.
*Zippers require two hands for opening and closing as where previous models could be worked efficiently with one hand.
*The elastic on the waist line is minimal.
*The belt loops are okay for Levis but not nearly wide enough for hiking shorts. Such a design flaw eventually allows the belt to ride up against the flesh.
*The Velcro tabs on the front pockets are minimal and as a result require too much attention to secure while on the move.
I would rather pay half again as much and get a great pair of hiking shorts as Columbia once produced... especially when you consider they are going to be with you for many years in the future.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent utility shorts

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
willfish
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great comfort with reliable construction
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bring back the Front Security Zipper Pocket

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
scubamike
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have worn these for several years now - on the 2014 version Columbia eliminated the extra zipper security pocket on the right side and added a zipper to the existing left front cargo pocket. The former shorts actually had a "double" side pocket, the zipper allowed you to secure keys or money clip etc. with no fear of losing them whether hiking or on an airplane. Also the items rode on the side of the leg, whereas if you are hiking anything in the front cargo zipper pocket bangs on your leg. I guess this was a move to save money.
This is the one reason I buy Columbia over Under Armor, North Face etc. - I liked the security of the zipper side pocket. I hope for 2015 they will bring this back.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small Pockets

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer avatar
CaptJ
Location: Gulf Coast
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great shorts for quality and I love having cargo pockets. However, the normal pockets seem a bit small and I had the tendency to have gear slide out of the pockets.
Overall great shorts, but I would caution anyone that works around water to use the cargo pockets and not the regular ones just to be sure that nothing goes for a swim by accident.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 Next>>