Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Cool Jewels Lightweight 9" Short

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Cool Jewels Lightweight 9" Short

An asset in any sticky situation, this compression-inspired brief feels barely there thanks to Omni-Freeze ICE™ technology and ventilated body mapping.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Cool Jewels Lightweight 9" Short
Review 1 for Men's Cool Jewels Lightweight 9" Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Compression Short

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Wolfpack22
Location: Raleigh, NC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They run bigger than other brands in XXL, but they are much softer and just seem to have a much better fit than other brands. Use them for soccer and are amazing!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Cool Jewels Lightweight 9" Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Performs as advertised.

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
RobertS
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wish I had bought something like this a long time ago. Fits great and keeps me cool where I need to be cool.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Cool Jewels Lightweight 9" Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Where's the fly?

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
DaddyDave
Location: RI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As you know, Cotton when wet never dries out! Very uncomfortable. However these under shorts are extremely light and definately cool. Never get that soaked feeling. Dry quickly. Would recommend ordering 1 size smaller than waist size. Hopefully you won't have to relieve yourself too often. This garmet has no fly opening? Requires a bit of undressing... The large tags didn't seem to be a bother. Cutting them risks a problem with fabric. I'll take cool and dry over lack of fly any day.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Cool Jewels Lightweight 9" Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Gift!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
KatyandZack
Location: Ripley, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my boyfriend to celebrate his achievement in school. He picked them out and was so thrilled to wear them - he is always complaining of the heat and these kept him cool!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Cool Jewels Lightweight 9" Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home Run

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
timboc
Location: DFW, TX
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At first I thought I must be going crazy spending this much on undies...but WOW. These made a big difference during my 9 day fishing trip at the Gulf Coast in June. I'm a bigger guy and all the heat and humidity can be a bummer, however, with the cool jeweles on I never even noticed it down there. If you try them, you will love them. They are long, so if you wear short shorts they may be visible.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Cool Jewels Lightweight 9" Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too Large

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Pattycake
Location: St. Louis
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I normally wear a medium base layer. This is way too large as a base layer.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byMelski
 
Please wait while more information about Melski is loaded.
Additional information about Melski could not be loaded.
onAugust 9, 2012
Other reviewers have said this item is true to size.
Your review isn't helpful if we don't know what your size by measurement.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Men's Cool Jewels Lightweight 9" Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great material, but details are lacking

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer avatar
scharlestonc
Location: Charleston, SC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a good product that is soft and keeps you cool. And the function is great. But the first frustration is the tag, its large and sewn in the main sticking (so it rips the shorts when trying to remove). And the bottom hems material is a little too "holding". But still a good pair of base shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Cool Jewels Lightweight 9" Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pricey, but comfortable

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Cane11
Location: North East, FL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stands up to the claims of comfort and moisture wicking
Too many hard-to-remove tags
Excessive packaging
A little pricey
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.