Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short

Columbia Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short

Strategic reinforcement at high-wear areas, a stretch construction, and Omni-Shield® advanced repellency to protect against the elements make these durable shorts ideal for long days in rugged terrain.
Overall rating:
3.902 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
34 out of 41(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Review 1 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Passo Alto - too big

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm used to most Columbia clothing being a little large. These were ridiculous. I'm 6' 170 lbs. I ordered a Medium, and they fit like a 34-36 waist. Absolutely fell off the waist. If they actually fit, I would give them 4 stars.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Falls short for extended hiking.

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Los Angeles
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased the short for hiking. It's a comfortable short with a decent adjustable belt and nice reciprocating internal material to minimize moisture build up. The stretch construction is great and what I was looking for in terms of flexibility. For the most part the pockets are easily assessable. I would have put two zipper pockets in the rear as apposed to one velcro pocket, as the rear pocket most often contains valuables. One other area I feel design falls short is in the single stitch, particularly around the crotch area, this is where I found the short to rip open after extended use. High stress areas would benefit from a double stitch. Otherwise, a nice short.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Men's Passo Alto shorts

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: fl
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pic does not represent what I actually received which was a two toned black and green.
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Belt loops?

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New Orleans
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great style and fit of the pants. There is a built in belt so I am not sure why there are belt loops on these shorts. I would imagine it would fit very weird if you wore a belt over the built in belt.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite pair of shorts!

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Atlanta, GA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are my new favorites! Love them, the stretch factor is amazing!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Short

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Rochester, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These have become one of my favorite pieces of clothing. Fully functional and can be worn for numerous occasions.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

poor belt design

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New Hampshire
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Other than the design of the belt, they would be the perfect shorts! The material is fantastic, they look good, and were true to size. My problem with them is that the belt is sewn into the waist, so when you tighten the belt, the buckle pulls to the right side instead of staying centered. Kind of looks goofy having your buckle over toward your right hip!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

After a hike up Half Dome in Yosemite Nat'l Park

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Just finished a 17 mile hike up Half Dome in Yosemite National Park total time in shorts approx. 16 hours start to finish.
The shorts are well made. The fabric is soft and does have quite a bit of stretch. It looks fragile but held up well all throughout the day. The fit is true and the overall quality of the shorts is good. Still don't know why there is a built in belt AND belt loops.
The only critisism is the pockets. The main pockets should be deeper. I would not feel comfortable putting money or credit cards there. The secondary pockets are not bellowed. I have a pair of GRT shorts that have a modified bellows pocket that you can put power bars, GU etc. These shorts you cannot. The pockets are tight to the leg.
So for $60.00 I would look a bit further for better pockets.
Carpe diem
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good choice

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland,Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are really nice for walking,hiking and other activities. Made of a very nice fabric that is comfortable. One thing I dont like is the belt snap arrangement that is off center. Another thing is the snap which is hard to unsnap.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My "go-to" short for excessively-hot climates

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are hard-wear, ultra-comfortable hiking shorts, and all I wear on the weekends for both outdoor adventures and running around town. 5'11", 34" waist, L fits well in the butt and crotch, but waist is very large--probabaly a 38? They appear to be the next-higher evolution of the Harpers Creek shorts and are made from the same fabric as the Passo Alto pants--not rip-stop, but just as tough. Soft, smooth, and cool against the skin, but rugged enough to repel the toughest scrub/scree/rocks. I dislike the integrated belt--it tends to cinch a majority of the waist fabric uncomfortably on the right side, which is why I cut it off and use a regular belt. I can't give these a high enough recommendation!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shorts!

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Atlanta GA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: These shorts are great for any outdoor activity! Since buying these shorts (2 pair) I have used them for everything from my job as a Zip-Line tour guide to hiking in the foothills to cooling off in the local creek. The fabric is lightweight, breathable, and stretchy. They don't restrict movement, so much so that I can make even the longest stretches while climbing. They are comfortable and breathable. The built in belt is great because it offers good adjustability without getting in the way of my trekking bag's hip belt.
Con: The only problem that I have seen is that the lighter, black material on the sides and back of the shorts is more prone to abrasion. This is typically not a problem, unless you are rubbing your hips along metal cables every day 80 feet in the air on a Zip-Line course. But this problem could be resolved if I would just push the wires away from my hips.
All in all these are great shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Be careful on size choice...

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Originally these shorts were given to me as a gift in a size 34 inch waist purchased at a store. I wear a 32 so I returned. They didn't have it in my size at store so I purchased online... their size choices wear s/m/l etc... I ordered a medium and those are slightly too large in the waist as well. Excellent shorts for the outdoor activities I am involved with... HIGHLY recommend them... just choice wisely on size as even with adjustable strap... sizing is important in your outdoor gear.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I don't seem to be able to bring myself to wear anything but these

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland Or
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
I purchased these 3 weeks ago and can't bring myself to wear anything else. Super comfortable, the fabric is stretchy. I read the reviews and saw they ran a little large. I have a 32-33 inch waist and could only try on a medium at the store which seemed a little big in the waist so I took a chance and ordered the small. They fit perfectly. No one ever compliments my clothing choices but I have had 3 compliments on these in the last 3 weeks. They have pockets in the right places that seal nicely. Things never fall out of the pockets. I can't tell you how long they will last but they seem to be well made. Columbia has a way of changing things too quickly and a nice product like these will likely be gone next year so I am going to order another pair right now.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

These short stink

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: pittsburgh, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Shallow pockets, high crotch, confusing belt, goofy snap. These shorts are a pass for sure.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Shorts

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Everything is fine EXCEPT the built in "belt and buckle" as when one secures the belt, the entire fit of the shorts is off and the tope area is pulled together in a non fitting way which also causes the shorts to unbuckle and unzip at time, unknown to the owner, until one feels the unfitting belt because the shorts top buckle opened.
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort and functionality

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: MIdwest USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are the best outdoor short I have used to date. I am using these for MTN Biking as an overshort. The stretch of the material, the length of leg, the pockets, the closure all hit the mark.
My only complaint would be the need to zipper the rear pocket instead of the velcro patch closure. .
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Cross Training Shorts

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Wash,DC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wear these shorts hiking, running, swimming, lifting weights and even to yoga. Highly durable and flexible lightweight material that withstand yoga lunges, weighted squats, jagged rocks etc. I am 6'1" and the 10" length sits above my kneews and just below my waist for a perfect fit. Not to mention the ventiliated panels in shorts give them a great look and help keep me cool during prolonged phyiscal activitiy.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing shorts

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i love these shorts! i am 5' 11", 180, usually wear a 34 in. inseam for pants, these shorts fall just above the knee. I am approx. 33 in. waist and the mediums fit great. very stretchy for range of motion, similar to board shorts material. not a huge fan of the integrated belt but provided belt loops leave an option. wearing them deployed in extremely humid conditions and they're my favorite.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great short

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This short fits perfect though it is a little on the short side. I could use an 11 or 12 inch inseam vs the 10" (which was my only option). It is stretchy and super comfortable for a 6'1"
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Passo Alto™ Reinforced Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very small pockets!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: medford OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Almost lost my wallet and phone because they fall out so much! the belt thing is weird, they are stretchy, but not enough.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>