Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew

Not your average running top, the Solar Polar solves three common trail problems all in one fell swoop - and it looks good doing it.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
8 out of 10(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew
Review 1 for Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

looks great but runs a size too small

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brosko
Location: Green Bay, WI
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
runs a size too small. very nice look and seems like it would be great in the heat but had to return it.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super fit

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Denise27
Location: NJ
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
truly a great product, super cool fit and looks sharp. Highly recommend if you want to impress the crowd
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fit

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elmer
Location: Weirs dale fl. 32195
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Fit is small. One must order a size larger. My shirt fits but am afraid when I launder it I may be in trouble. Going to give it a try, hope shrinkage is minimal. Wish I had ordered a XML.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too Expensive

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grandmeister
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Functional active wear shirt, but very expensive compared to other brands with similar style and function. I would not buy this again just because of the price.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this tech!

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
SeattleErrandRunner
Location: Seattle,Wa
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The omni-freeze technology is great. It and the omni-shade tech are the reason I got it and the reason you should too. It also looks pretty good too.
A lot of brands that I get size small in are too big. This one was a pretty good fit.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps you cool

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pdxthom
Location: Battle Ground, WA.
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these shirts for my Grandson who lives in Las Vegas and plays rugby down there. He's very happy with the way the shirts keep him cool in that desert heat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool technology

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
JasonL527
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this because it was featured in a Popular Science article. I do notice a cooling effect when I start sweating (there's an air current along my back) but once I'm about 30 minutes into a workout I'm not sure if it makes a difference. I'd like to think it does but I practically saturate my shirt with sweat. I wonder if the micro rings that expand ever contract and cycle b/c that would be better. I also desperately needed a new short sleeve shirt and I'm very active outdoors so it was a good choice. If you've got the money and looking to splurge a little, what the heck? enjoy it!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome.

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
HomoNovus
Location: Georgia
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yesterday I ordered 2 more of these, so in total I will have 5. Perfect fit, fabric is rather thin but very good deals with moisture, and is quite strong. I wear these T-shirts all the time, I live on the south of Georgia, and being not local sweat a lot. These T-shirts save me. Plus, the t-shirt looks very good. Blue ones are of awesome bright blue color, grey ones - of silver metallic. I already have 5 of these, but still gona wait and see maybe there will be some nice deals. This is the best summer T-shirt that I ever wore, especially for sunny summer days.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome shirt!

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
unicycledude86
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shirt is great for running, working out, or hiking. It wicks moisture very well, and the fabric feels great. It also fits very well for an athletic build.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep you cool and dry

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alli113
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I sweat - a lot. These shirts keep me cooler than any other wicking shirt I've used. Period. They are comfortable to wear, keep you dry and cool and most importantly are very fashionable. Love them!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wooo! Had to check to make sure Columbia didn't send me the wrong size!

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
EricS
Location: Atlanta, GA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Can't say much about this shirt as I have not worn it due to the fact that it fits way too tight. I would not even begin to wear this out.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Solar Polar™ Short Sleeve Crew
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cut and materials, but with a few areas to get use to

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
scharlestonc
Location: Charleston, SC
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great shirt with its fit, and the material is incredible with keeping you cool in hot weather. It truly lives up to its name. The only odd area that just needs some getting use to is the back patch that just gets a little sticky when you sweet; its not bad, just a little out of place.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.