Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt

Featuring a perfect storm of innovation, including sweat-activated cooling Omni-Freeze® ZERO, accelerated wicking Omni-Wick® EVAP, and built-in UPF 50, this performance outdoor button up delivers supreme comfort and protection in extremely hot, humid climates.
Overall rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
7 out of 11(64%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Review 1 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissappointing

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
CABALLO
Location: AUSTIN, TEXAS
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Doesn't seem to cool as advertized. Doesn't seem to do anything more than any other dry-fit type shirt. Runs way too small. Not worth the price. WOULD PROBABLY RETURN IT, IF I COULD.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comment / Suggestions

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Roadster1024
Location: Tempe, AZ
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very different feel for me as I won't wear straight polyester. Blends only.
Very light, feels like polyester but does not absorb the heat when out in the direct sun.
Feels cool when in air conditioned area. Downright chilly if walking into the air conditioning while still sweaty - OH YEAH! It does get humid in Phoenix!
Did not feel as drained from the heat when working outdoors.
Fits like a tailored cut shirt, beware of size.
Make a square tail version - I don't like polo and need shirt tails out.
Make the pocket with a bit more support, it sags with my cell phone. Make the pocket flap less cumbersome - it's to hard to open & pull out my phone.
Not crazy about the snaps on this fabric, make a button version.
How about more color selection & patterns?
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not so freeze shirts

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
jwilson106
Location: austin, texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I always look for moisture wicking shirts to wear when I go out dancing because I always seem to sweat more than most men. I got two shirts in this style but was very disappointed with them. I experience no cooling whatsoever even though they were quite wet with sweat on a recent wearing when I went dancing. It seems the material which may cool was not on chest/sternum area where I had a very visible bib look of sweat.
The collar was also very linp and made the shirt look very cheesy or cheap.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fit

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Bellgadget
Location: New York
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Runs too small! Should fit true to size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the Men's Freeze Degree shirt

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
lswallace
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really like this shirt. The fabric is soft and breathable and doesn't look like it will require serious ironing after washing. Very comfortable on warm summer days and perfect for the Northwest Casual look.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Sure

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Fisher123
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Only wore the shirt once thus far in approximately 85 degree weather. Felt cooler than normal wasnt sweating a great deal to feel the activation of the shirt itself. Will keep trying.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not bad so far

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
UncleCarl
Location: Kuwait
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this shirt because I work in the sweltering heat in Kuwait. I'm 5'6" and about 180+ and ordered an XL. I'm also pretty broad in the shoulders and the shirt fit just fine. The snaps on the shirt are a little problematic, as they 'really' work; sometimes a little hard to undo them, but not real bad. In the heat it seems to do pretty decent and it's not quite as hot as other shirts. I'm hoping they make these without tails as I prefer not to tuck my shirts in.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The fabric is great but the shirt design has serious flaws

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
danimal1948
Location: Chicago
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I am referring to the Freeze Degree Short Sleeve Shirt. I will be returning my shirt today after having it only two weeks due to the the fact that the shirt was designed with snap closures rather than buttons. The metal snaps have pulled away from the fabric of the shirt and have made it impossible to "button". I suspected this might be a problem when I purchased the item and have been extremely cautious when unsnapping the snaps but to no avail.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a disappointment

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer avatar
DEK51
Location: Tampa
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The only way this shirt could have been designed is by having one team in a room working on the top half of the shirt and another team working on the bottom half. Worst fit I have ever tried. Top in an XL ( I wear L all day long) was tight to say the least and the bottom billowed about. I'm 51 and can still wear trim fit shirts (okay barely) so there is nothing odd about my build that would cause this. If your shoulders are considerably narrower than your mid section then this is the shirt for you. All that cooling technology might work and the quality was very good - fit was terrible.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems cooler than cotton

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Joe5
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shirt performs well in the heat and humidity of the Midwest. The only question is why metal buttons?
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome shirt!

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
erock239
Location: Southwest Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this shirt for an upcoming trip to the Caribbean and it ended up being an almost daily wear!
This shirt is not only cool, blocks the UV, dries incredibly fast and was almost too cool as it dried wearing it in a good breeze.
If I could only get my company to purchase these shirts!
This shirt is worth every penny!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Freeze Degree™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Technology

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Chewy2001
Location: Houston, TX
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wore this shirt in hot humid weather and felt great. You can actually feel the cooling begin when you get warm. Kept me comfortable all day. Run a little tight in shoulders, but overall great product.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.