Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest

Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest

When your outdoor activities call for maximum pocket space, throw this durable, quick-wicking vest on for an instantaneous upgrade to personal storage capacity; it will also keep you protected from harmful UV rays with built-in UPF 50 blocking power.
Overall rating:
4.528 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
31 out of 34(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Review 1 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Vest Style#1441721 Too flimzy material

PostedApril 16, 2015
Customer avatar
VLBW
Location: Oregon City, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 1441721 is not to past quality. My example is former Style# AM1049. Notes: Is a heavier canvas material than Style# 144172
Look: Has 4 large Velcro flapped pockets on front [left & right] as a small Velcro flapped pocket over lower right large pocket.
Has zippered sleeve pockets interior left side.
Has open pockets on lower right & left sides.
Zippered opening
Bring back Style AM1049
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great light vest for travel

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
Lizzafromny
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this vest for my husband. He tried and it looked good on him. Great travel vest and it looks nice. He was looking for a travel vest for a while, this vest is not too bulky.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dangerous inside pocket.

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
MOJAVEGREEN
Location: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
Columbia, Under Armor and The North Face are my go to clothing. I buy a lot of Columbia clothing because its well made and I like the softer outdoorsy colors. I do a lot of camping in very remote and sometimes dangerous areas. I wanted a hiking/camping vest to hold my ACR "PLB", GPS, and maps. Santa came through, under the tree was the Columbia Silver Ridge XXL Vest in a soft green color, I think they call the color Gravel. I was very happy, it looked good and seemed very well made. Best of all it didn't look like a fishing vest and was very light weight, The XXL fit perfect I'm 6'3" 250. New Years eve I packed up the Jeep, my trusty Germen Sheppard and headed to the Geologist cabin in Death Valley. The Geologist cabin is first come and its yours. I arrived to the Cabin in about 3 hours from Las Vegas, 17 miles of very rough dirt road from the paved turnoff. Plenty of daylight left so I loaded up my new vest and hiked to Striped Butte. It was about a 6 mile hike there and back. NOW THE BAD PART! The vest has 1 long inside pocket along with other inside pockets, ( by the way the ACR PLB fits perfect in the zippered top outside pocket) I put my Jeep keys in the long inside pocket and went hiking. When I got back to the cabin I downloaded the vest and there was NO JEEP KEYS! UHOH!!! BIG PROBLEM! Even though it was cool in the day and I had a PLB I was not looking forward to a 17 mile hike out with my dog, to the paved road. The SILVER RIDGE vest has a hole for no apparent purpose. It was designed and sewn into that long inside pocket, the hole is on the side edge of the pocket and it hidden by the zipper flap. The hole/slit it 3 INCHES LONG! Why would they make it like that? Anyway next day set out to find my keys that also had a small $200.00 Al-Mar knife on the ring....GONE!! Could not find them. The good news, crawled under my Jeep peeled away some magic black duct tape and got my hideout key (never go off road with out one} I don't understand why Columbia would make a pocket with a hole in the side, and if there is some reason at least point it out. The way its designed you can not see the hole. So When I got back I went to Santa's workshop (REI) to look at the other vest, They all had the hole, no one at REI knew why there was a hole in the pocket and all thought it was crazy that it was made that way. To sum up I still like clothing from Columbia, I have never had a problem with it until this vest, (that I kept) I still like it but will sew up that pocket. Jeep key $80.00, Al-Mar knife $200.00, hidden Jeep key priceless!
I would recommend this product.
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bySpang
Casa Grande, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about Spang is loaded.
Additional information about Spang could not be loaded.
Thank You!
onMarch 12, 2015
I am still going to buy this vest, but you just saved me a potentially disastrous event like you experienced..
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent vest

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Flavio
Location: Nogales, AZ, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second one, I will order soon another one more color!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very utilitarian yet stylish

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Streusel
Location: St Louis, MO
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great looking vest that is also fully functional. Many pockets to handle whatever life brings at you. Only request I have is for a dedicated exterior pen sleeve/pocket for easy access. Otherwise, it's well thought out and designed!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A couple of suggestions for functional improvement

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
ZiggyJoe
Location: Washington , DC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The vest is long and would benefit from a 2 way zipper up and down.
The inside pockets are great for a photographic lens or water bottle. A button or fastener 1/2 way across the top of the inside pocket would help distribute the weight in the pocket better and secure the item from falling out, when it it taken off and folded . Otherwise it is well designed and quite functional. the weight is perfect. More when I get back from a 10 day trip to Ethiopia
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Vest

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Stumpy
Location: College Station, TX
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight and cool; especially important qualities here in Texas. Excellent fit. Performs very well in the activity for which I purchased it. This is my second one and I intend to buy another in a different color. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"man purse" replacement

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Farmgirl
Location: San francisco, Ca
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband has a collection of cell phones, work radio, pocket calendar, and other odd things. He hated the fanny pack idea, and all the stuff on his belt wasn't working.
He loves his vest(s), and wears it everyday - we got different colors.
only wish there was a XXXL for one of his work mates.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for on the water or on shore

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
n2Mystic
Location: North West Fl/ Wa. State
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have found the Silver Ridge Vest to be a perfect match for my Life on the water . The winter finds me cruising the north Florida coastal waters and in the summers I’m exploring the Pacific North West . The Silver Ridge Vest designs combines all the important features including OMNI-WICK that keeps me dry and OMNI- SHADE to protect me from the sun . The pocket arrangement is perfect for keeping me organized . This vest has become my go to garment whether I’m cruising on the water or hiking a trail on shore . It’s a real must have .
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great style, fashionable and functional!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
TBB2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These vests are hard to find. It's lightweight, fashionable and functional. I purchased grill which is dark grey (black is very hard to find) and it's a great color. My husband loves this vest and also has one in tan. Great for hiking and general travel.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatility in the Men's Silver Ridge Vest

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
IBMOM123
Location: San Diego, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the vest for my son. He said:The vest fits true to size, but with enough space to wear a sweater underneath when your out skiing. It has enough pockets to carry cellphones, keys,etc. It is light weight and perfect to take on the slopes in MILD winter conditions, yet it is also perfect for evenings around a college town while your riding your bike.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unknown value

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Curt54
Location: Michigan
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
I would love to give a review if I only had the vest to give my opinion. I was supposed to have the vest on the 19th and as of yet I have not seen it. It is a gift for my son who is in Michigan for Xmas but will be heading back to Fort Worth, TX Saturday 12/28. It looks like that when and if I receive the vest I will have to pay the additional cost of shipping the vest from Michigan to Texas. My opinion thus far overall, Not Too Good.
-29points
1of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great vest for travel..

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Crazyhorse11
Location: El Cajon,Ca
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plenty of pockets for airline tickets,passport, cell phone ,etc...
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice vest for CCW and general travel

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Dave86
Location: Vermont
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great. Looking vest with functionality of a military vest but maintaining a more casual look
Only complaint I bought two same day for retail price and a week later they're on sale for 25% off. :(
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why not two?

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Birdman4U
Location: Portland, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I liked the first one so much that I purchased another.
Different colors of course.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
misternick
Location: Houston TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wanted a vest that would provide additional pocket space, protection in a hot climate and look and feel good. This does all that.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect outerwear!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
troxel87
Location: Africa
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this for East Africa and do not one bit regret it. Mesh linings keep it cool, the pockets carry half my EDC without being *too* bulgy, layers over my Bahama II and Tamiami shirts just right for the evenings. I love this thing... ordered a second one in gravel just for some diversity...
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is one of the most useful apparels ever made....

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
programmer1
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just very useful for traveling and even for day to day activities, you can carry anything you may need at any time.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SILVER RIDGE VEST

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
MCGUIRE
Location: ASHEVILLE, NC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THIS IS SECOND VEST THAT I HAVE PURCHASED AND BOTH ARE EXCELLENT IN SIZE,COMFORT, AND QUALITY. I RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE WHO NEEDS TO LAYER AND POCKETS.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit, look, and function

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Tjfunk
Location: NYC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Silver Ridge vest for a camping trip to Yellowstone in the fall and I wouldn't have survived without it. Kept me warm when I needed it to and nullified the wind. Plenty of pockets came in handy. The turtleneck keeps you very warm and combined with a thick flannel, the combo is unstoppable in all but heavy winter weather. Works well as a lining for a heavier winter coat as well. Fit perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>