Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant

The Layer First Pant puts classy back into comfortable. They’re sharp enough to take you from daily errands to evening happy hour without blinking an eye.
Overall rating:
4.345 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
24 out of 26(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Review 1 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these pants

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Kird9758
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are my favorite all time piece of clothing. They go from errands to dinner out with friends easily. Flattering and they come in lengths!
Please re-stock these, I am desperate to buy more...
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Material

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
TheMaLia
Location: Calif.
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit, Inseam needs to be longer for sitting or climbing rocks.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable pants

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
kim32
Location: north carolina
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered a whole slew of Columbia pants and these are the pair I kept! I am 5'4" 110 pounds and based on the other reviews, I ordered a small regular. They are maybe an inch or so too long but I think the short inseam would be too short. They are comfortable and fitted but not too tight. My new favorite work out pants. If you prefer a tight fit, I would recommend sizing down.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This pant was better last year

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
EP426
Location: Bellevue, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought what I think was this same pant in black last year and have been wanting the gray every since. I couldn't find it in the same store so bought it online. Last's year's pant fit perfectly and was a thick, wind-resistant, fleece interior pant. This one was very thin fabric, was too big in the waist and did not have a nice drape on the legs. I've looked at all the other pants available and did not see any others that would have been the same pant I bought last year. Very disappointing....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great fit

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
61Amanda
Location: Louisiana
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are so comfortable and fit perfect. I don't like my pants to fit tight, and these are just right.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love these pants

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Puddles
Location: Coleman, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have purchased 3 pairs of these pants, afraid they will discontinue, everytime I find something I love it is gone when I try to reorder. I want to get these for daughter, but need tall and they do not come in lengths - only downfall to the pants!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Eugene4567
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable although a little more fitted than expected. Feels a bit revealing wearing as single pant unless wearing shirt or jacket but makes good first layer. Nice fabric and feel and great quality.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Way too tight

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Peppers
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am not a large person (5'2" 135#), but these pants are so tight I wouldn't dream of wearing them to 'evening happy hour'. They reveal every nook and cranny. Columbia is always good quality, but I returned these due to fit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great work out/hiking/yoga pant

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer avatar
sleeve
Location: Portland Or
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought one size down as they run a bit big and stretch some. Very comfortable pant for all outdoor and indoor workouts. Nice style and love the "back up" back of pant.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not sure what these pants are for

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Dogggirel
Location: Austin, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I ordered these with the intention of wearing them around the house and for doing horse-related chores outside. I am tall and liked the fact that they came in extra long. However, they are way too thin and slinky to wear as an outer layer. They leave little to the imagination! I am active outdoors all year 'round and would have kept them as a base layer but the legs are wide and they are moderately boot cut, which is counter-productive in a base layer, so for me they are function-free, unchallenged by any actual possible usage. I am returning them.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has it all

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Melinda53
Location: Oregon coast
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these pants. They work great for exercising as well as around town.I am 5'10" and have a straight type figure, and these pants seem custom made for me. I ordered a long length in a small in grey. I will order another pair as soon as they are available in black.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Columbia pants!

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer avatar
becca3
Location: Boston MetroWest
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 5' 10" so love that Columbia has quality pants in LONG length. I usually wear a small-long, but these seem to run a bit tighter than other Columbia pants I've bought. I'm exchanging for a medium-long.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super comfortable!!

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Jazziegirl
Location: Houston, TX
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just received my Back Up pants last week and found them to be very lightweight and comfortable (I live in South Texas so that's important!) I have only worn them once, and am about to wash them. The length (regular) was long enough for me, even though I usually need a long length (hopefully that won't change after washing!) The fit was as expected and the pants are very flattering.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Humid
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Surprisingly Impressed!

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer avatar
woolworm
Location: Seattle WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
purchased a size small-tall
height 5'9"
waist 26"
high hip 34"
widest point hip 37"
**Small-Tall is slightly too long on me (buckles at ankle with running shoe on) with a little extra room in the seat - but overall I love them and will keep this size.
I am accustomed to active pants being too short on me, with a gapping waistband and ultra tight thigh - not the case with these pants! Their contour shape fits amazing! The waistband is constructed with quality and feels very secure and it's compression has a slimming effect on the stomach. The waistband rises high in the back and dips below the belly button in the front which is great for coverage during mat workouts.
I think this pant offers something great that I haven't found anywhere else! Dont' hesitate - Try it!!
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Running, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Shorty

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Ewheele
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great pants. I like how the back comes up a little farther. I ordered a short however because I'm 5'2" and it still hits the ground. That part I'm not too happy about
Activities: Other
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love 'em!

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Customer avatar
coolkid
Location: Sacramento, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They are a silky feeling fabric that falls perfectly while still having some construction. I like the high back on the waistline which keeps your unmentionables from peeking out. Great that they come in long and wish I had gotten a second pair!
Activities: Other, Vacation
Conditions: City, Rainy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

back up layer first

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
slrb
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are tight enough to wear under other pants as the "layer first" implies, although I haven't worn anything over them. I wear them to the gym. They are loose at the bottom, so that adds a style. I like the v dip in the front and the high back. It seems to help to keep them in place.
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Camping, Other
Conditions: Sweaty, Rainy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pant

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Farr76
Location: Port Orchard, Washington
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love love love these pants. They are extremely comfortable and wear very well. These are my go to pants for weekend casual, but work well with a nice sweater for a little bit more of a dress up. I will definitely have to think about purchasing some more.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Other, Vacation
Conditions: Sweaty, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt, Muddy, Other, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FAV!!

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Luckyme2
Location: Colorado
Employee:No
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow Columbia, you've hit the mark on this one! I have the Anytime pants and they are nice but these are so much better! They are a little thicker & the extra elastic in the waist keeps them up! I wear a 10 and a med is just right! I will be ordering another pair!!
Activities: Running, Vacation
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Back Up™ Layer First™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my Purchase

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Skibunny801
Location: Vail, co
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome purchse. Great quality and syle. The fit is perfect. Prompt delivery.
Activities: Skiing
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>