Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant

Columbia Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant

The perfect companion to the Bug Shield Long Sleeve Shirt, this pant delivers the same amazing protective package to block bugs, sun and unwanted moisture so you can enjoy a worry-free camping experience.
Overall rating:
3.905 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
16 out of 18(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Review 1 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great travel pants

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheryl206
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got these to wear on safari in Tanzania. Because of the reviews about sizing, I ordered them in both 4 and 6. The 4 fit perfectly everywhere except the seat, where it felt (sorry for being graphic) and looked like a wedgie. It's too bad, because otherwise I would have kept the 4. So I returned the 4 and wore the size 6, and though they were a little looser than I'd like, with a belt they did work exactly as I needed, including repelling tsetse flies and other pesky insects. They were lightweight, easy to rinse out, and dried quickly. They were perfect for a warm climate.
Other than fit, there is one other negative that Columbia REALLY needs to address. The opening on the angled leg pocket, which is clearly designed to hold a passport, is barely large enough to put in and take out the passport. If it were even 1/4" wider, it would work perfectly. I love that the pocket is there and perfectly positioned, but the flaps over each end of the zipper make access too difficult.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fit

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
pjap
Location: Caldwell Id.
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most of the reviews I read recommended a larger size because the pants fit small, so I ordered a size 10 instead of my usual 8, only to find they were a bit big through the waist and hips, but I didn't have time to reorder a smaller size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Fit

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Octavia
Location: Petaluma, California
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on previous reviews I did get one size larger than I normally wear. At 5'5", 115 lds the size 6 is perfect. There is plenty of room to move comfortably. The fabric is great - light weight and not hot. I can not speak yet to the insect blocker feature. I will be trying that out on a trip to Belize...my hope in not to get "eaten alive" as I did on my last trip there.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This size 10 runs small

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
PonteVedraGal
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Cargo Pant is a small size 10 so I would suggest that you buy one size larger. The quality, color and fabric all look good.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No bug bites

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Seger
Location: O'Fallon MO
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since moving to Missouri from the Northwest, I have been eaten alive by mosquitos and other creepy crawlers. I purchased this product, received within 5 days and have worn it once in the great outdoors with NO BITES! I'm so glad I don't have to scratch. I'm pleased as punch!
As far as sizing - I wear a 6 or 8 short. There were no short so I got a regular length. Since the pants have adjustable elastic at the ankle, length was not an issue. I've washed them once and they came out of the dryer almost wrinkle free.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Effective and lightweight!

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karina
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
These pants are effective mosquito barriers and are nice and comfortably lightweight for hot weather wear. If they only came in petite size they'd be perfect!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Repellant Pants

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
yelahjean
Location: tyrone, pa
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
These pants may have thwarted some mosquitos but did not stop some of them from biting me on the back of the thighs. There may be a flaw or defect in this area of the pants. They are very comfy, I ordered up a size and am glad I did. The material is nice, there isn't any weird smell, and if I didn't tell people they were "different", no one would know.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very light

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
mariaalice
Location: brazil
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It´s my second pant, it´s very light to carry on the lugagge. Could exist in more bright colors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice Pants

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jonz
Location: Augusta,Georia
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product fits and wears well. This product runs small especially around the hips.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light, comfortable, but run alittle small

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Corpus Christi, TX used pants in San Jose
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
They seemed to keep the bugs away. When they got wet in the rain forest they dried quickly. My only gripe is that the waist runs a little small so size up.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pant worked so well i've ordered a shirt too

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
hivalley
Location: Eagle River, AK
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been one of the worst bug years I can remember in Alaska so I needed some heavy duty defense. These pants seemed to do just the trick. Consistent with Columbia sizing and my bottom half has stayed bite free so far.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pants

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
raspberry
Location: Louisville Ky
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
it is low rise. Use for working in the yard, with lots of bending, not comfortable They do repel chiggars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pant!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rehamy6
Location: Middle East
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pant - love the style, material, and color. The fit is great except it's maybe a half-inch tighter than I'd like around the waist. Everywhere else it fits perfectly. I'm 5'5", about 115 pounds, and I have the size 2.
Remains to be seen if it really repels mosquitoes... just got them in the mail last week in building my arsenal against the bloodsucking monsters! (I am terribly, terribly allergic)
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Beware the skinny leg

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
JenL
Location: Denver
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
When another reviewer said this was not good for curvy girls I didn't think that would be an issue for me. At 5'4" 105lbs nobody has ever used the word curvy to describe me. My waist is smaller than my hips and butt and the pants fit well there, the problem is the thighs. You can't do a skinny leg cut when the fabric used has zero stretch. The "cargo" pockets don't help either since they are interior leg pockets rather than patches on the outside, so you really can't fit anything in them. They didn't pass the sit test and had to go back, sadly. The insect blocker jacket is great though.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good pant but narrow legs aren't ideal

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Connecticut
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The pants are a good fit (next size up would fall off me) and look fine. However, given that the current style for women these days is the narrow leg, it unfortunately makes for a tight fit around the thigh which is particularly noticeable while climbing. Also, although there are plenty of pockets, putting much of anything in them impacts the tightness around the thigh. But they were quite comfortable in general hiking through the woods and easily tucked into my socks. The quality seems good, but I've only had them a few days.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No bugs on me!!!

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Weagle
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First trip out with the pants. We went deep into Alaska bear country. As many of you know Alaska's state bird is the mosquito! And not a single bug bit on me!!! I love the draw string at the bottom of the leg nothing is crawling up there. Nice little side pocket perfect size for GPS. As for the fit I wear an 8 I bought an 8 and the fit is snug in the thighs but in my waist they fit perfect. I will be getting another pair!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not for women with a waistline and leg muscles

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anon2
Location: Tucson AZ
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm an athletic 118 pounds and have problems finding pants that fit because the waist is usually too big. These have the typical problem of being too tight in the legs with a gaping waistband. So, if you're a curvy woman with a small waist look elsewhere. The quality is good, though.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight, comfortable, sturdy, wonder about the chemicals...

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
trailworker
Location: Vermont
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are great, they are light, comfortable and sturdy at the same time. I use them to work in the woods, clearing trails, and they're perfect. The pockets are very handy.
They also definitely keep the ticks off, which is a relief. Since I have been wearing them I have had no ticks even walking on me, while others around me have. On top (shirt, etc) I wear just regular (untreated) clothes with natural insect spray. I wish that Columbia had included more information about the chemicals (Permathrin) in the pants, though; do I need to wash my hands after I touch them? Does the chemical come off in the wash and get into the septic tank and the streams?
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the fabric and the protection

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
UpNorthGirl
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made pants. Insect repellent works great and the fabric is light weight enough to be comfortable in the summer. Wish these were available in a petite length. They cannot be shortened without losing the drawstring feature at the hem. I can wear them for walking in the woods/countryside and that's what I bought them for, but would have been a bonus if the length was right and I could use them as "anytime" pants.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THESE!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
KoruMama
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants are fantastic. I had the Insect Blocker pants from different company, but these are MUCH better. I love the narrow legs, and there is even an elastic and toggle at the bottom to cinch further to keep the bugs out. I am a mosquito magnet and these will be perfect. They are very thin and comfortable - just enough stretch in the waist to be comfy without looking like 80's pants and should keep me cool in summer. I haven't tested the insect repellent qualities yet, but I have used other insect shield products and they are great. Very flattering and comfy! I was impressed.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Mountain Biking
Conditions: Bug Infested, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next>>