Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant

Columbia Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant

The perfect companion to the Bug Shield Long Sleeve Shirt, this pant delivers the same amazing protective package to block bugs, sun and unwanted moisture so you can enjoy a worry-free camping experience.
Overall rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
21 out of 23(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Review 1 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Holy mosquitoes!

PostedAugust 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: SW Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does it work? YES. Recommend? Absolutely!! In fact hurry & order now without delay! (Sale ladies!!) Not only are they great looking, they are comfortable, absolutely keep bugs away (& bugs are DRAWN to me unfortunately!). I use them for camping & taking my dogs out at night. The mosquitoes bad this year, they are leaving me alone except my face ): Working on that. AVOID West Nile, Lyme Disease....no guarantees but I am being as proactive as possible. I ordered a second pair (smaller) because they do run a little big, but also dieting. I will use both. The larger with a belt. Even wore them to a triple-A baseball game, anticipating cooler temps as sun went down. Stylish & worked perfect for occasion!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Hiking Pant

PostedAugust 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second pair of Insect Blocker pants. I am 5' 9" and usually wear a long, however, in this pant, Regular length was perfect. I usually wear a 14 and my other pair (purchased 2 years ago) of Insect Blocker size 14 pants fit comfortably but the pair I just purchased are cut a little smaller ... almost more of a slim fit. I am returning to purchase the next size up for a pant I will be able to move/hike in.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hiking

PostedAugust 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
They are true to size but after hiking, bending, stretching, climbing. ..they tend to fit really big. I would buy your true size and add more elastic to the waist. I bought the size 10 regular and the size 10 long. I liked the size 10 long better so there is more drag on the pant leg and on chance for bugs getting in. I am about 5 feet 7 inch tall.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not just for hiking!

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Plymouth, NH, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 4th pair of insect blocker pants (the first in this style). They are fantastic for hiking, but also great for travel and everyday wear.
I usually wear a tall size (I'm 5'10"), but the regular length in these is perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please make these in more colors, Columbia!

PostedJune 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a pair of these pants from 2 years ago, and I love them. They fit well, have a nice shape (more fitted through the leg with a narrower ankle, much nicer than usual baggy hiking pants), and work great for travel and the outdoors. They dry fast and repel bugs, and mine have held up well over lots of wears.
I find them true to size, and being 5 ft. 10 in. I get the Long length.
I wish Columbia would make these in more colors. I would personally love to see black, navy blue, a darker tan, and even some brighter colors like cobalt or red.
Please make more colors of these Columbia! Even if you don't use these for the 'insect' aspect they are great all-around hiking pants.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great travel pants

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got these to wear on safari in Tanzania. Because of the reviews about sizing, I ordered them in both 4 and 6. The 4 fit perfectly everywhere except the seat, where it felt (sorry for being graphic) and looked like a wedgie. It's too bad, because otherwise I would have kept the 4. So I returned the 4 and wore the size 6, and though they were a little looser than I'd like, with a belt they did work exactly as I needed, including repelling tsetse flies and other pesky insects. They were lightweight, easy to rinse out, and dried quickly. They were perfect for a warm climate.
Other than fit, there is one other negative that Columbia REALLY needs to address. The opening on the angled leg pocket, which is clearly designed to hold a passport, is barely large enough to put in and take out the passport. If it were even 1/4" wider, it would work perfectly. I love that the pocket is there and perfectly positioned, but the flaps over each end of the zipper make access too difficult.
I would recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fit

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Caldwell Id.
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most of the reviews I read recommended a larger size because the pants fit small, so I ordered a size 10 instead of my usual 8, only to find they were a bit big through the waist and hips, but I didn't have time to reorder a smaller size.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Fit

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Petaluma, California
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on previous reviews I did get one size larger than I normally wear. At 5'5", 115 lds the size 6 is perfect. There is plenty of room to move comfortably. The fabric is great - light weight and not hot. I can not speak yet to the insect blocker feature. I will be trying that out on a trip to Belize...my hope in not to get "eaten alive" as I did on my last trip there.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDms1003
California
 
Please wait while more information about Dms1003 is loaded.
Additional information about Dms1003 could not be loaded.
onJuly 11, 2014
Would love to know if they worked for the bugs......
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This size 10 runs small

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Cargo Pant is a small size 10 so I would suggest that you buy one size larger. The quality, color and fabric all look good.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No bug bites

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: O'Fallon MO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since moving to Missouri from the Northwest, I have been eaten alive by mosquitos and other creepy crawlers. I purchased this product, received within 5 days and have worn it once in the great outdoors with NO BITES! I'm so glad I don't have to scratch. I'm pleased as punch!
As far as sizing - I wear a 6 or 8 short. There were no short so I got a regular length. Since the pants have adjustable elastic at the ankle, length was not an issue. I've washed them once and they came out of the dryer almost wrinkle free.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Effective and lightweight!

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
These pants are effective mosquito barriers and are nice and comfortably lightweight for hot weather wear. If they only came in petite size they'd be perfect!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bytorts
 
Please wait while more information about torts is loaded.
Additional information about torts could not be loaded.
Please please
onAugust 4, 2015
Please offer this pant in Petit - 30" length!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Repellant Pants

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: tyrone, pa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
These pants may have thwarted some mosquitos but did not stop some of them from biting me on the back of the thighs. There may be a flaw or defect in this area of the pants. They are very comfy, I ordered up a size and am glad I did. The material is nice, there isn't any weird smell, and if I didn't tell people they were "different", no one would know.
I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very light

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: brazil
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It´s my second pant, it´s very light to carry on the lugagge. Could exist in more bright colors.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byKatieMichigan
 
Please wait while more information about KatieMichigan is loaded.
Additional information about KatieMichigan could not be loaded.
onJune 14, 2015
Mosquitoes are attracted to bright colors. That's why most outdoor gear is light khaki and gray.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice Pants

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Augusta,Georia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product fits and wears well. This product runs small especially around the hips.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light, comfortable, but run alittle small

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Corpus Christi, TX used pants in San Jose
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
They seemed to keep the bugs away. When they got wet in the rain forest they dried quickly. My only gripe is that the waist runs a little small so size up.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pant worked so well i've ordered a shirt too

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Eagle River, AK
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been one of the worst bug years I can remember in Alaska so I needed some heavy duty defense. These pants seemed to do just the trick. Consistent with Columbia sizing and my bottom half has stayed bite free so far.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pants

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Louisville Ky
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
it is low rise. Use for working in the yard, with lots of bending, not comfortable They do repel chiggars
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pant!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Middle East
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pant - love the style, material, and color. The fit is great except it's maybe a half-inch tighter than I'd like around the waist. Everywhere else it fits perfectly. I'm 5'5", about 115 pounds, and I have the size 2.
Remains to be seen if it really repels mosquitoes... just got them in the mail last week in building my arsenal against the bloodsucking monsters! (I am terribly, terribly allergic)
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Beware the skinny leg

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Denver
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
When another reviewer said this was not good for curvy girls I didn't think that would be an issue for me. At 5'4" 105lbs nobody has ever used the word curvy to describe me. My waist is smaller than my hips and butt and the pants fit well there, the problem is the thighs. You can't do a skinny leg cut when the fabric used has zero stretch. The "cargo" pockets don't help either since they are interior leg pockets rather than patches on the outside, so you really can't fit anything in them. They didn't pass the sit test and had to go back, sadly. The insect blocker jacket is great though.
I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Insect Blocker™ Cargo Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good pant but narrow legs aren't ideal

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Connecticut
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The pants are a good fit (next size up would fall off me) and look fine. However, given that the current style for women these days is the narrow leg, it unfortunately makes for a tight fit around the thigh which is particularly noticeable while climbing. Also, although there are plenty of pockets, putting much of anything in them impacts the tightness around the thigh. But they were quite comfortable in general hiking through the woods and easily tucked into my socks. The quality seems good, but I've only had them a few days.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>