Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Straight Leg Pant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Straight Leg Pant

Durable and textural twill gives this pant a technical feeling, while wicking properties and built-in sun protection keep you dry, comfortable and protected during aerobic activities in the outdoors.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Straight Leg Pant
Review 1 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent pants, please re-stock

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hils
Location: Singapore
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased a pair of these pants in Sep last year and has been waiting patiently for Columbia to re-stock since but to no avail. Its the best pair of outdoor pants I ever owned and beats all other brands/models hands down. It fits well, looks flattering on my rather thick thighs and feels so comfy. I would have worn it for all my overseas/outdoor trips but the irony is its stays in my wardrobe for most of the time now as I'm so worried of wearing it out and I wouldn't be able to get a replacement. Please re-stock these pants, Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy1321
Location: Delafield, WI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking for a great fitting pant that's got the higher back but isn't baggy and have pockets. These pants fit the bill. I really like the stretch that they have to them. I don't have any problems with the seam across the thigh as another reviewer pointed out. The pockets are also a must have. My only hope is that they are still making these or will bring them back as I bought mine on clearance. Would really like them in fossil too.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Uncomfortable in lower legs

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Outdoor
Location: SW Missouri
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Pant has a weird seam across the legs that rubs and is uncomfortable, and also are snug in the lower leg, while the rest of the pant fits nicely, making them uncomfortable. I don't think I will return them, but they are not my favorite at all. Good quality, material, etc.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very comfortable.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
missdoc77
Location: Houston, TX
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like these pants overall but won't purchase the same style again. Biggest complaint - the lower end of the diagonal zipper plackets at the hip create a little pooch out right at the widest part of your hips causing them to look wider than they are!! So not very flattering if you have any extra weight there like many of us do! I buy a size up simply so pants won't be tight through the thighs, though they are then too big at the waist so the "back up" feature in these pants, paired with the drawstring make a pretty good fit for me. I would suggest trying these on before you purchase or risk wanting to send them back if you don't like the look.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Purchase!

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
ClearCleanSister
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are just what I've been looking for. Fabric is very comfortable & durable: breathable, wicking fabric that's heavier than some wicking fabrics but not too heavy for Northwest summer days. Fit is higher rise which manages to be both stylish & comfortable, especially for curves. Speaking of curves, these pants really show them as they're very form-fitted. Love the front pockets which are full size so I can actually relax my hands in them (which seems to a challenging feature to find in pants these days) - yet sleek & virtually invisible when zipped closed. They're also just the right length - I'm 5'4" but need a 34" length for a good fit. Not sure they're 34" but they fit as if they were! I discovered the P asso Alto shorts before the pants & loved them so took a chance when ordering the pants. Hope they'll become available in more colors - I'm definitely ordering every one!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these pants!

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kate
Location: Portland OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: Yes
  • Employee
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was tired of being the only person wearing jeans while hiking with my friends, so I finally caved in and bought some hiking pants. Let me just say, if you hike in denim, you're missing out! These pants have a lot of stretch and are super comfortable. The fabric is pretty thick and feels really durable and strong. I absolutely love these pants and would recommend trying them if you've never owned a pair of true hiking pants.
On the Fit- they're a little shorter than I would like, and do run a little snug. This pant does have a very tight fit, but it feels like most active-wear pants I own since it has so much stretch. I didn't have the two sizes to small problem like some people are saying. I'm normally a 2 or a 4 and the 4 fits really well.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING Pants!

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elzbie
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a wildlife biologist and am outdoors every day. These pants are wonderful. Not only are they comfy and look good, but they have sun protection! Outdoor pants do not get much better than these. I highly recommend them! :)
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another Favorite Pair of Pants

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amelea
Location: Upper Michigan
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants have a little more room around the butt than my Back Up Heat Pants, but other than that they fit my body type very well. Comfortable fabric and nice cut. I like the zipperd pockets, especially the "leg pocket". It is on the right side, which suits me good since I am right handed. I also like that they are adjustable aound the waist and at the botton of the legs.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.