Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant

Columbia Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant

These durable, sun-and-stain-repelling pants will keep you comfortable and protected during active outdoor adventures of all kinds and zip-off legs provide valuable versatility in changing conditions.
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
9
1 Star
1
28 out of 39(72%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Review 1 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saturday trail pant

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Jinty
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I love these. I purchased both beige and black in 10 short. No alterations needed. What a bonus! These are no muss no fuss, wash and hang to dry then wear. Will buy more.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wore for 4 days of Backpacking

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
NewbieBackpacker
Location: Honolulu, HI, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants were comfortable and extremely functional. They dried quickly. I wore them for four days of backpacking and would wear them again. I had to order a size up from my normal size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Women's hiking pants

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
JulieO
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the Trail Stretch Convertible pants. I am 5'10", 150 lbs and
usually wear a 10 tall. Based on the description that they run small I
ordered a size 12 tall. Very baggy through the hips, so I returned them
for a size 10 tall which fit well except seemed a little tight at the leg
zippers. Have worn them several times, and they are quite comfortable, but
was very disappointed when the second time I washed them, a seam came
apart. These were not cheap pants, and I expected better workmanship.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

almost perfect

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fishchick
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wear these for fishing. The material is the best I have worn. Nice stretch and still water repellent. The zippers are a little tight around the lower thigh when you sit or bend over. Otherwise they look great and function well. I wish they were available without the sip offs.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice looking but needs re-design

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Pastelholic
Location: Vermont
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was looking for a pair of summer weight convertible pants for travel/hiking. I have a pair of EMS size 6 that are very roomy (room to layer with long underwear, which is nice for winter hikes). I am 5'5" and usually take a size 6, sometimes size 8. I was looking for a more flattering pair of pants than the EMS convertible pants, which have the unfortunate tendency toward "diaper butt" look. I wanted pants that I could use all day, then go to dinner and look presentable. The Saturday Trail pants seemed to strike the right balance. I got the fossil (light tan) color. Problem is what some other reviewers mentioned--the placement of the zippers. When I crouch, the zippers dig into my thighs. If the shorts were one inch longer, if the zippers started one inch lower down on the leg, and if there were ankle zippers so I wouldn't have to take off my shoes in order to remove the lower leg portion of the pants, I would give these pants 5 stars and excellent quality and function.
I am going hiking tomorrow, and will try them out. As long as I am standing or even sitting normally, I can wear these, so I am hoping I can hike as normal. They are very flattering to the figure, especially compared with other convertible hiking pants. If they are not comfortable, they will just take up space in the closet....
The format of this review requires that I say yes or no to recommending this product. I would like to say, I recommend it with some reservations...or I might recommend it to the very skinniest legged-people.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byPastelholic
Vermont
 
Please wait while more information about Pastelholic is loaded.
Additional information about Pastelholic could not be loaded.
After a hike, they were great....
onSeptember 22, 2014
Did a 4.8 mile hike with these, weather was high 50s, low 60s. I never got too hot, but the pants kept me warm when I needed to be warm. The leg zippers didn't bother me even though I was aware of them. When I crouched to tie my shoes, I just tried to be careful so the leg zippers wouldn't dig in too much. I have decided to bring these on a 17 day trip as my main walking pants. I still think these are great looking pants, but may not work for everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Looking Travel Pants

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
PrescottDeb
Location: Prescott, AZ, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Arizona, so zip-off pants are very useful. Many of the nylon ones look rumpled and frumpy; these look great. The material has a very nice feel and dries quickly if you are caught in the rain. I like pants that fit at the true waist, and these do. I bought these pants right before a trip that covered from NY City to Acadia NP and they worked in all (casual) settings. The only negative has been pointed out - the hem at the zipper is unyielding. I guess my legs are not muscular enough for it to be a big problem, because I wore them daily for those two weeks and I just bought another pair.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not so good in movement

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer avatar
austripp
Location: california
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought those pans, they look really good, fits good in waist, the problem started when you move your legs!!!
obviusly the zipper line are not strech and they work as a tourniquets in each movement for your legs.
Iwore it 15 minutes and i dropped off, imposible for my legs!!
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

So close to being awesome...

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Sarah75
Location: Tempe, AZ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I really liked these pants when I first tried them on. The fact that the waist was a little loose made me feel good (can always use a belt, right?) They draped over by backside and thighs beautifully. I noticed that the top half of the pants were indeed made out of a different, more stretchy material than the bottom half (as some reviewers have noted), but was impressed with how it was impossible to tell the fabrics apart visually. I thought to myself, "Why not have the top half, where you're most active, be made out of stretchy fabric? It's actually kind of smart." I sat down to remove the bottom half, and was impressed by how easily they zipped on and off. They even have labels "L" & "R" so that you know which part goes where. :) I admired the bungee cord around the bottom cuff that could be used to help keep bugs out in grasses.
Then I tried to cross my legs... and the whole experience went down hill. There is no give in the zippered area, and all the fat in my lower things bulged out around the zipper line. I pulled the pants down, thinking that I could just be careful not to cross my legs, and to adjust the pants before sitting. That worked ok, but then I tried another position. I squatted down so that my thighs and calves were touching --- and it felt like my legs had tourniquets on them. It actually hurt. As much as these pants are sooooo awesome when I'm standing up and I really wanted to have a pair of convertible pants, they're going back to Columbia. I need to be comfortable in all positions when I'm outdoors enjoying the world. :) .... PS --- I also ordered a size 18W. The waist was wayyyyy too big (of course), and the leg constriction was better, but still present. I hope Columbia revises these pants to have a looser fit around the lower thighs.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
LakeandStream123
Location: Ellijay, GA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved these pants! However I did end up returning them. The zippers for the convertible pants are very small. When I sat down, the zipper would dig into my legs. These are not made for thick women. If you have slim legs, these would be perfect!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylish and functional

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
KitKat1
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm an active stay at home mom in Colorado. I wanted something other than my yoga pants to go out in. I enjoy spur of the moment hikes. These Trail Stretch pants were just what I was looking for. I'm 5' 2 1/2" and 138 lbs so I was happy to see that they were offered in short size. The fabric, snaps and zippers all seem great quality. My only problem was the area where the lower pant legs zip off to make shorts was a little snug.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Kat2014
Location: Fairbanks, Ak
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants are awesome! Since I live in a really dry climate they stick to my legs a little bit but my ability to move in them and the feel of the material is great. I love the zipper to wear the pants as shorts, This way I don't have to wear lots of different layers or pack extra clothes just in case I'm not comfortable with the weather conditions.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

way too big

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
basketlady14
Location: Rhode Island
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
After reading all the reviews and everyone saying they fit small, I ordered a size up and they nearly fell off. I did get the "short" style and maybe that is different. Will try again, like the style and fabric, not the fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Some pros, some cons

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Clease
Location: Carolinas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Usually I do not review a product before I put it to use, but this time I think my initial response to both the pros and cons of these pants might be helpful to those considering... Cons first, and then some pros --
First, in step with several other reviewers, I do think the zippers on this convertible pant are rather restrictive. As a short woman (5'1''), I thought I might beat the odds since the 10" inseam of the shorts would end closer to my knee (i.e. at a thinner part of my thigh). And while this is partially true (I can walk very comfortably in them), lifting my leg too much or even sitting cross-legged really sheds light on the restrictive circumference of the zipper. I'm fairly sure that this will, unfortunately, prove to be rather inconvenient while hiking.
Second, I am a bit wary about how long the zippers in the pant leg will or will not hold up. The zippers are functional but do not seem incredibly strong and the zipper catches once in a while. With a little gentle prodding this is easily overcome, but I feel the need to be cautious about applying too much force. Let's hope I am wrong about this!
Some pros:
The material and lightweight nature of these pants make their functionality promising; I do think they will be a great choice for casual outdoor use. The waist is lined and very soft on the inside, which is a great feature for comfort! Overall the fit (aside from the zipper) is quite comfortable (I am 5'1", just over 110 pounds, and ordered a 2 short).
A note to anyone considering the Silver Ridge convertible pants instead or in addition: originally I ordered the Silver Ridge pants, but by the time I realized the 4 short was too big for me, the 2 short were sold out in the product -- so these were my next choice. The zipper was not in the least problematic on the Silver Ridge pants (restriction or strength-wise), so if they are still available in your size, I would recommend them over these convertible pants. They seem to be nearly sold out for the season, so even though I consider the restrictive zipper a serious enough flaw to merit a 3-star rating (for those who want to hike, not just walk!), I will probably hold on to this product and make the best of it. I'm sure these pants will serve me well in the ways they are able to.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love these hiking pants

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
catchme
Location: virginia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
True to size, comfy, great material. I want 4 more!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Prefer Silver Ridge Convertible Pants

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
MichelleM
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I already own multiple pairs of Saturday Trail shorts and Silver Ridge convertible pants so thought this would be the best of both worlds. I may have an older style of the shorts but the design of the front and side pockets is different and the pants come up really high in the back. I preferred the old design. As others have commented, they are tight around the zipper unlike the other convertible pants I own. Not so bad that I won't wear them. The material and fit are nice. I am 5'2", 120-125 lbs and wear a 4 short. I did not have a problem with the size. Unless you have skinny legs, I would recommend the Silver Ridge convertible pants over these.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor fit on leg

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Valerina
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
These pants run a tad small. I'm usually a size 6 but had to wear a size 8. They look fantastic on and feel even better with the right amount of stretch until you get to the zipper on the leg. Leg zipper is pretty constricting when sitting or squatting. It's fine with standing. I don't understand why they didn't allow for extra leg room around zipper. If it hadn't been for this I would've rated this 5 star but the leg zipper is a significant flaw so I only gave it 3 stars.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Odd colour but nice pants

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
BVIsue
Location: Vancouver, BC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I ordered "gravel" colour from the photo I expected grey, however the pants are green. They fit well but if the zipper was slightly lower it may have less constriction around the thigh.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saturday Trail Stretch Convertible Pants

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
CC55
Location: Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read the reviews and agree with the comments that these run slightly small due to the narrow leg. I have thin legs and typically wear a 12, which I tried, but the cut on the legs was too slim when seated. Went up one size and they fit perfectly. I love the stretch fabric. I am tall and can rarely find longs in retail stores, so am happy I can find these on line. I've ordered two colors. Would love to see these come in navy. I can wear these to work and people don't notice these are zip-offs. I would like to see zippers up the side of the leg so that you can convert these to shorts without removing your hiking boots. THANKS COLUMBIA! I LOVE YOUR STUFF!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hiking

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Hikette
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect pants. Good fit, cool, lightweight.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Convt. Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer avatar
joanne55
Location: Southampton, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these pants and wore them on the plane ride-most comfortable pants I've ever owned. Good looking even in a jungle!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>