Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant

Columbia Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant

On long journeys, every extra ounce starts to feel like an added five pounds in your luggage. That’s what’s so great about the Silver Ridge pant; made of durable nylon, it weighs next to nothing and packs into its own pocket so you can throw it into a day pack for extra coverage should you need it.
Overall rating:
3.478 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
8
1 Star
1
12 out of 20(60%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Review 1 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Travel Pant

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer avatar
FranB
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
This is my 3rd pair of Silver Ridge nylon pants. They're great for travel - don't wrinkle, wash & dry quickly and are very comfortable. In cold weather, I layer a pair of silk long-johns under them while traveling. I travel a lot and am switching my wardrobe completely over to Columbia nylon pants and shirts. I can pretty much put a month's worth of clothes in the side pocket of my suitcase. I find size 4 fits me well - I'm 5'6" and weigh 123 lbs., big waist, no hips.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

almost pefect

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fishchick
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great light weight pants.
They do run a little large through the waist and hips. Aside from that the function is fantastic and they are a great looking pant, both for activities, or stopping for a drink after a hard day of fishing. These are almost perfect. If only they were a more slender cut and if they were also available in zip offs, they would be perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite weekend pants

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
BangBang
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I normally buy a 10, but my last pair were falling off the hip without a belt. I bought an 8 and they fit perfectly. The material is lightweight but not flimsy, perfect for warm weather, especially with the roll-up capri option. My favorite weekend pants
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love These Pants !

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Mariah
Location: Portland, Or
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are my favorite lightweight pants. Last year they were made in a different country, & I wore a size 10. This year, produced elsewhere, & I had to exchange 10 for size 8; no weight loss. I'm 5'6" , weigh 126, regular length great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hiking pant!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Nan29
Location: Pacific Grove, Ca
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with these pants. They are the perfect pant for hot weather hiking. They are light and the fact that they roll up into a capris is even better. The 2 snap closure at the waist makes them very comfortable and the 32" inch length fits perfectly over my boot. The best part is that they look really good too.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Well . .

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Sim24
Location: Akron, OH
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
First impression of these pants is that it is made of a material that is thin and really light weight. Definitely a material that you would want for backpacking and climbing. My guess is that is dries super quick.
Once I tried them on, I had to send them back. They were very tight around my thighs and the material did not stretch so it would not be good for climbing or backpacking. I have an athletic build, a long distance runner and rock climber. I normally wear a size 4 in Columbia, but I've had this problem in the past with some of their other pants. If I go up to a size 6, it would be baggy around the waist.
If you have skinny legs, you will love these pants. . I really wanted to love them.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pants

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
LaurieB
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a pair while traveling and liked them so much I bought a second pair in a different color. They are lightweight, but seem plenty warm when it cools off. I especially like the adjustable band that can be used to take in the waist. These pants are very packable.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good length, poor fit

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
camurra
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was looking forward to these pants because they were one of the few I could find in a tall size. I really wanted a quick-dry outdoor pant, and the pants are made out of the right material but the seams that cut across the thigh are uncomfortable and the waist is loose. I bought a 4 and even that was too big for me, 5'10" 138 pounds, and the pant fit loosely around the lower abdomen. They cling strangely to my legs aren't very comfortable to move in. The best part of these pants is the length, which is really nice.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice pants

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
anne52
Location: San Angelo, Texas
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These ran a bit small, and were very static. They were not what I needed.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Hiking Pants

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Roo22
Location: Maine
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these pants with the intention to do field research in them. These pants are now my go to when adventuring outside. I usually wear a size 00 but purchased a size 2 being the smallest size they had, they are slightly big in the rear (being 5'3 98Ib) but provide the perfect amount of room when bouldering and hiking mountains. The regular length is the perfect fit. They are not too tight on the thigh and provide enough room for comfortable mobility. I love these pants so much I am thinking about ordering another pair!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love love love these pants

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Britchik2u
Location: Big Bear Lake CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very true to size! I was so please that there was a tall version of these pants. I am 5'10 1/2 and they are the perfect length. I also love the adjustable waist band feature as my waist is a lot smaller than my hips. These pants look really nice as well. I can't wait to wear them on my Camino!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these pants

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
StaceyR
Location: Bel Air, MD
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every time I wear them casually someone mentions how nice looking they are. Great material and weight. I then joined a hiking club and decided these were my best option through brush on days with unreliable temperatures. How right I was! Lightweight made for easy climbing and trekking and no sweating. Nice pockets too. I bought 3 pair.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Why change a great thing?

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Customer avatar
JeepinGypsy
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love love love SilverRidge pants. They used to fit me great, were highly functional, and looked sharp despite the use they were put through by me.
I am dissapointed with the pocket on the front leg. It makes such a classy pair of working pants frumpy and forces it to look shabby in professional situations. I could go from the field to the meeting without worrying that I looked like I came from the field. Columbia has plenty of other cargo pants with pockets galore, why ruin a good thing?
I have curves and always felt that these pants were flattering, however the waist does seem to be shrinking. Thank goodness they still carry these pants in long! As a tall person, I appreciate being able to not see my socks as I walk.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love 'em

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
zinsert
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought a size 6, normally I am a 2. I love these pants!! These are lightweight and very comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Huge pants

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Gardner19
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would have really liked these pants, but returned them because they were too big! I bought size 2 and I am 5'6" and 102 lbs. The pants were huge on me in every way. Based on other customer reviews saying that the pants were very much undersized, I was confident that they would actually fit me, but unfortunately they did not. They seemed like good hiking pants. I'll have to try another store to find something small enough for me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what I expected

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
12Pulls
Location: Edgefield, SC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I went specifically to the store to buy a pair of Columbia pants for fishing and casual outdoor wear. I had high hopes—I loved the lightweight material, the length and modern fit. I grabbed a size 4 which I normally wear and a size 6. I tried both on—the 4 didn't make it up my legs, the 6 buttoned, barely. I'm not a thick person by no means or hippy for that matter. So I grabbed a size 8 and a 10. The 8 was still too small as it pulled across the hip (at the bend of you hip/leg where your legs meet your torso). I wasn't about to buy those, I could see myself busting a seam. I tried the size 10, it was too loose, a big difference from the 8 to 10 size! The crotch hung too far down and the waist was about 2+ inches too big and the pants lost that "modern" look—very baggy/loose leg like the neighbors moved out!
Columbia, you need to go back to the drawing board on the design—your target customer are "active" outdoorswomen, so add a few inches in the current pants pattern in the thigh/hip area. NO WOMAN wants to buy pants that are a few sizes larger just to have a lightweight pair of pants.
I do not recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Functional but lacking in quality fit

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: New Mexico
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I agree with other reviews- this product does run small and long. I am 5'6, a size 10. I typically wear size 10/M Columbia bottoms with a regular inseam and S/M tops, depending on the style.
I have managed to make these work by keeping the zippers slightly ajar at the bottom, but they are still a little long for me and hard to hem with the zipper/draw cord. Also a little tight in the bum and thighs.
These would be great for a woman with a straight figure- not a lot of curves and long legs.
Not a terrible purchase, but not my favorite Columbia pant.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

weird sizing

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer avatar
MinniesMa
Location: Spokane
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Although I love most Columbia products, I have a very hard time getting a good fit on pants. This pair, the legs are plenty long and big enough for my legs, but the waist band is about 2 sizes too small.
Nice lightweight fabric would be great for travel pants
I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

straight legged and straight hipped

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer avatar
myviewisgreat
Location: Chicago
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
If you have curves this product is not for you. Also, Columbia, a 34" inseam isn't very long when paired with hiking boots. I returned them. For all of Columbia's outdoor research perhaps they didn't notice things grow wider when they grow taller. Columbia makes great products, please learn more about making tall sizes for women. You have competitors who understand this.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byFainZ
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about FainZ is loaded.
Additional information about FainZ could not be loaded.
Need more LONG sizes
onDecember 29, 2012
Columbia is one of the few online stores that offer so few LONG sizes! Women have been getting taller and very much need the longer size option. There are so many pants for short, petite, extra large, etc but very few for Long legs! Why is this? I find only 2 pants with the Long option out of 3 pages for the other sizes!
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a good fit

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer avatar
kellym
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Now I know why this pant was cheaper than the others -- the fit was very poor. The seat and thigh area were way too tight (and I bought a bigger size than I would wear in regular pants). Since people who buy from Columbia are more apt to bike, etc., and have muscular legs, I'm not sure who the target customer is. I had to return them the same day I received them in the mail.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>