Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant

Columbia Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant

This multi-talented trekking pant will have you breathing in that healing alpine air in no time.
Overall rating:
4.37 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
74 out of 80(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Review 1 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great overall pants

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer avatar
GorillaMonkey
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants definitely run a bit small. I can't remember the last time I didn't buy a size 6 in pants. I always wear the same size, until these pants. I needed the next size up, and even then I'd probably be more of a 9 to have theses pants fit 100% perfect (but those don't exist and the 10s were just too big). Size 8 was comfortable enough.
Also, the buttons also aren't the best, pretty wimpy actually :/ Every time I sat down they'd pop open. Thankfully the zipper stays up very well otherwise my pants would have constantly been around my ankles.
However, even with these minor flaws I still LOVE the pants. They're nice a cool, light weight fabric. In fact, I'd really like a shirt made of this material. I very easily removed the bottom of the pants to let my legs get a bit more air when the temperature got hot, and had no problem zipping them back on when it cooled back down. Also the adjustable elastic at the bottom of the pants was great for hiking in the woods. When I went to take my boots off and was doing my tick check, I did indeed find a little guy that couldn't make his way in thanks to the drawstring at the bottom of these pants :)
Overall they're a GREAT pair of pants. I'm just going to be buying a belt or adding a button to the pants for future hiking trips :)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very happy

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
rb00
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Silver Ridge Convertible Pant is comfortable, of high quality and I'm happy with my purchase. I like the fact that the waist has an adjustable button/elastic. Good feature! I like that there is a zipper at the ankle so you don't have to take off your boots to convert the pants to shorts.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
jerseysuek
Location: Readington, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was going to order a size 8 and 10 as pants I don't know run different, but only a 10 was available. Even with the tabs pulled all the way in, they were too big, but they worked. 8 would of been great! Used them in Belize, jungle walks, boat rides up river and they were totally comfortable. Was like wearing linen, almost. Never felt sweaty which was my concern. Didn't have the chance to zip off to shorts as I am a magnet for biting insects even with high deet sprays. Would definitely recommend.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byLyndaM
Anchorage, Alaska
 
Please wait while more information about LyndaM is loaded.
Additional information about LyndaM could not be loaded.
Product Recommendation
onMay 16, 2014
You should give Columbia's Insect Blocker line a try. I, too, am a magnet for biting insects and nothing has ever helped me before. I bought the Insect Blocker mesh jacket they offer, wore it fishing on the rivers in Alaska (mosquito heaven, by the way), and boom. No bites.
 
Products related to my comment
 
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous for hiking and day wear!

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Dishy
Location: Portland, Maine
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE THESE PANTS! I'd been searching for this style since an old pair (different maker) bit the dust years ago. Attractive, sporty, lightweight, and practical. The shorts are a good length, and I truly appreciate the pockets, as well as the zippers at the ankle for easy on/off. I read all the reviews (thank you ladies!) and sussed that they run small. They do. I suggest, depending upon your build (whether you run large or small in your normal size) as well your intended use, that you size up at least 1 if not 2 full sizes. For reference, I am 5'10" 140 lbs. and normally wear a size 6 long. I ordered a size 10 Long online, and then went to a local Columbia outlet to try them in person (while waiting for the shipment to arrive). Lucky me! They had them in 6, 8, and 10 Long. So I tried them all. The 6's fit, but were super tight, like like a sausage skin. The 8s however fit nicely. Not too tight, not too loose, great for daily wear, but a little too close for deep knee-bend hiking and climbing. The 10s were pretty loose, but because of the style (they ride lower on your waist), and the adjustable elastic in the back, they actual fit wonderfully for active hiking and day wear. So what did I do? I bought three pairs at the outlet, in addition to the 1 online, so now have a total of four pairs: two 8 long and two 10 long. I've worn and washed one pair each of the 8s and 10s. I was a little disappointed the 8s seemed to shrink a little in the drier (length and waist wise) so I suggest washing and hanging to dry, especially if you are tall and don't want to risk the length. Overall, really terrific pants. I may go back and buy more!! Highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Convertible Pants

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
mjw26
Location: Washington State
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Silver Ridge Convertible Pants is a versatile, good quality product. In addition to the leg zippers, there is a cinch cord at the bottom of the legs - nice detail. Slightly lower rise but not too low. I typically wear a size 12, 5'6" 150 lbs., but in the Silver Ridge a size 10 was fine. Plenty of room to move during hikes and scrambles and comfortable to wear on a long flight. Very comfortable and an excellent product.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superior hiking pants

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
frosted
Location: Silver City, NM
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had trouble finding hiking pants that have zippers at the cuffs. These do, so you do not have to take off your hiking boots to remove the lower section of the trousers. Pockets are good and plentiful. The pants are also comfortable to wear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Womens outdoor pants

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
SEPV
Location: NE Connecticut
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are lightweight but very strong and functional for all seasons activities. Use with layers for winter activities but very lightweight for all four seasons. The material is very flexible and moves with you through any activity.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Convertible Pant

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Peg888
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like these pants. I wear them camping and hiking. It is usually cool in the am and I like to wear the pants, then zip off the pants legs as the weather warms up. The zippers are great, since you don't have to take your shoes off. I read all the reviews about the sizing and leg fit, so I ordered a size larger. I usually wear a size 4, but my thighs are a bit muscular, so I ordered a 6. They fit pretty well. The legs are just big enough. I don't have a lot of extra room, but enough. The quality is excellent. Love the pockets and zippers. The gray color is nice. I will likely get another color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
JuliaD
Location: Southern Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Read the reviews and bought size 14 instead of my usual 12, very happy with the fit!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight and protective

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Tanol
Location: Murrieta, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in worm to hot Southern California and I love the light weight and the fit of these pants They are flattering and versatile with the convertible to shorts feature. They stay cool in the heat but still protect from scratches but I love the fit the best. Columbia silver ridge are the only hiking pants that fit me, and they come in LONG.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

True to size convertible pants

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Olivia72
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Needed convertible pants for African safari in Botswana during the warm and rainy season. Light-weight and well-made. Only advice I have would be to order your true size since I ordered one size larger based on existing reviews and found the extra girth unnecessary. I'm 5'3 and 120lb.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

loved this pant

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
maveballard
Location: Springville, UT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I usually wear at other stores a 4 to a 6. I purchased an 8 and it was very comfortable a little big but the 6 was tight enough to not be comfortable, but fit:) Loved these pants great for a cruise! They packed well and were light weight but sturdy. The also have a tightening elastic so you can make the waist fit just right. Very flattering fit!:)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these!

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Physicalphyl
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although these pants run a little small, they are great. Love the fabric and how they look. Just can't gain any weight.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Fit!

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
dispatcherdee
Location: Canada
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants are great, very functional and fit true to size. I am 5'6" 128lbs, I usually wear a 6 or 8 pant, I got these in the 8 and they fit just fine. I used the adjustable elastic in the back of the waistband to make them one notch smaller and they are perfect. These pants fit comfortably yet snug enough to look stylish!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a quality product

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Godiva
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great versatility. Cool and comfortable for most activities. The size I selected ran a little big for me but I found the inside waist band could be adjusted. Love the draw strings on the ankles. Nice fit
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Smart design but poor fit and sizing

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
alijohns
Location: St Paul, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The idea of these pants is smart - pants that turn into shorts and seem to look like nice pants that could be worn walking or around town to run errands. I knew the sizing was a little off based on other reviews so as a person between size 6 and 8 I chose the 8. I received the pants but they were tight! I would at least need to go up a size. They also made a very distinct swishing noise which was annoying. I decided to forego the exchange and went with a pair of the Just Right Bootcut pants which I am very happy with.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
ew50
Location: San Antonio, TX
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on user comments, I ordered the next size larger than I normally wear, and the pants fit just fine. The cut is very slenderizing and the fabric is very nice.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

wow these Women’s Silver Ridge Convertible Pant run small!

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
AdventurerTeacher
Location: Arkansas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Much smaller than my other Columbia pants!!! The zipper fit my thigh fine but the waste and hips are very straight! No curve or give in the hip...even in the size 12. I haven't returned them yet but I won't buy these again because of the uncomfortable fit and unusually straight hip. It would be impossible to hike or rock climb in these. I will stick with my old Columbia pants. The zipper and material are excellent.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I expected

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Norblin
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a pair of black travel pants for a trip to Patagonia. I am in my sixties, 5'6", 150 lbs. These fit perfectly, are of good quality fabric and construction, and they were on sale. They arrived just a few days after I ordered them, despite extreme cold in Chicago. I am very pleased with this purchase.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

connvertible pant

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Jenbean
Location: Portland
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
These run a bit smaller then said size. I can get them on and can see a larger size would be a nice fit. A little disappointed to have to send them back for a bigger size when this is already claiming to be the size it says. Otherwise they would be great. I'd recommend them but definitely order one size bigger then you wear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>