Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant

Columbia Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant

Perfect for outdoor activities on days that start out chilly but gradually warm up, these pants convert into shorts with just a quick zip: wicking fabric and built-in UPF 50 sun protection are just the start of a long feature list that enhance comfort, versatility and protection.
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 99 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
87 out of 95(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Review 1 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Sizing Runs Small

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: San Antonio, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this style because I don't like elastic at the waistband and liked the way this style was designed for a slim fit. Usually I wear a size 4-6 and actually thought the 6 Regular would be too big but it actually fit a little too tight around the hips so I returned them for a size 8, although the length was perfect. I particularly liked this pant style because with the zipper on the outside lower part of the pants, it allows the wearer to zip off the lower portion of the pants without having to remove the hiking boots. Also, with a built in cord, the wearer can convert the pants into capris as well. I haven't received the larger size but I'm sure they will work out much better for me. I had tried on a different Columbia convertible pant style with an elastic waistband and needed a size 4/XS. I guess the styles run differently in sizing.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for travelling

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great pair of multi-tasking pants. Very comfortable to wear on airplanes, packs easily and can wear as shorts. I am a true size 8 and these run about one size too small - had to order a size 10.
Activities: Vacation
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit! Jungle trekking here I come!

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am fairly petite and usually cannot find pants that are small enough for me. I was thrilled that a size 2/short in these pants was a nearly perfect fit for me! I also love the dark gray color and plan to take these with me on a trip to the jungle!
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Vacation
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants but order bigger

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Miami, FL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used to have an 'older model' of this pant for many years and am very happy with the qualitiy and comfort.
However, the size do not really fit. Normally I am a 6 and ended up with ordering twice until size 10... !
So order 1-2 numbers higher depending on your shape. The upper leg part for me is still on the tight side whereas I have room on the waist...
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Vacation
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Recommend for women with skinny legs

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Fingerlakes
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice pants but if you happen to have well-developed quads and glutes then buy them at least 2 sizes larger than you normally would. I think they're designed for skinny types.
Activities: Trail, Canoeing, Hiking/Trekking, Camping
Conditions: Rainy, Bug Infested, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Way too small

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wear a 6 in jeans and I heard that it runs small so I ordered an 8. I could get them on, barely, but walking was close to impossible. If I order a 10, then they will have a huge gap in the waist.
I am 5' 7" 135 lbs and athletically built; I don't understand why I'm having this problem with a pant made for fit/athletic people.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bycalculush1
Phoenix, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about calculush1 is loaded.
Additional information about calculush1 could not be loaded.
me too! But i fit into a 12
onApril 7, 2013
I normally wear a 6 but in these my best fit was a 12! Try the 10's don't feel weird about the number and see how they fit you
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Size issue

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Burlington, VT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I normally wear a size 6. I had to upgrade to size 10 on this item. The fit is great and many pockets. I purchased for a South American trip next year and a European trip this year. light weight and quick drying.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Vacation
Conditions: Rainy, Humid, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Untested, but pleased a picky teen out of the box!

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New England
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these for my daughter, who will be traveling to Ecuador to tour, hike, snorkel and kayak. Out of the box, my teen daughter loved these. Most light weight, performance clothing she tried was too boxy or unflattering for her tastes. She loved the slim cut and flattering fit of these. Yes, its supposed to be performance wear, but can't a girl look good out there too?
We will see how they "perform" soon enough, but if they are like the Columbia clothing I use all the time and love for its fit, flattery and function, I expect great things!
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Boating, Kayaking, Vacation
Conditions: Sweaty, Windy, Humid, Bug Infested, Open Ocean, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Confused

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: washington
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The quality seems great if I could ever get the size right. Last fall I ordered these in a size 8 and they were to big and way to long for a regular pant. So this spring I ordered what I thought was the same pants and got a size 6 in a regular and short. Well, the short was small everywhere, and the regular was to tight as well. But still really long. So, I'm alittle confused what to do now. Decided to just go with a different brand.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

silver ridge convertible full leg pant

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: East Moline, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband ordered these pants for me to wear on vacation. I have one problem in that the waistband was 3-4 inches below my waist. The link states, sits just below the waist / classic fit, regular rise. I found this to be a big problem and returned the pants. Other than that the pants are of good quality, function and fit. After reading some of the other reviews I determined to order a size 14. I am a size 12.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad I chose a different style

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Loveland, CO
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the second pair of hiking pants that I bought from Columbia and I chose this style over my previous pair only because I wanted a darker pair of pants. At first I preferred the cut on the other style, but these held up much better and I was pleasantly surprised to find the adjustable waist feature. This was especially necessary since in order to get the pants to fit through the hips, they were too large in the waist. Read and trust the sizing chart. I have never in my life worn a size 14, but they fit.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants, true to size

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Washington, DC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like these pants, or I think I will as soon as I receive the correct size. Unfortunately, I read the reviews indicating that these pants run small and decided to order a size larger, which ended up being too large. Reordered in my normal pants size and expect them to be great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good solution for tall women

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Austin, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's hard to find convertible pants in extra long, and the length on these is perfect for me. (I'm 5'11".) They are lightweight, the color is attractive, the pockets are zipped, the ankle zips are wide enough that you can remove the lower leg part without taking off your hiking shoes, and overall I am very pleased with the pants. My one complaint is that no account was taken for a taller person's need for a bit longer rise, so these hit my hipbones just a bit lower than they should, which causes the side pockets to flare out just a little and for the pants to pull across my lower hips. Not a great look. Another 1/2 inch or inch of length in the rise would have made these a perfect fit. I'm keeping them, however, and can honestly recommend them.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comes in sizes for tall women

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the pants but needed to send them back as they were just a little too small. I have ordered the next size up and hope they fit better. I love the fact the pants came in longer sizes as I have a very hard time finding pants that don't look like I'm expecting a flood.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pants...

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Washington, DC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The pants serve me well in Afghanistan. I prefer the omnishade button convertible pant with the softer fabric and the side elastin gusset.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylish (for a convertible pant)

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like this pant because the legs are much less baggy than normal convertible pants.
I had been alerted the fit was quite small so I ordered one size up. I am 5'7, 110 lbs and normally wear a size 0 or 2, but ordered a size 4. It is a little large but I think that's acceptable for a performance garment.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cute, versatile, amazing gear for warm weather hiking.

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my pants! my boyfriend showed up with a new pair for me while I was doing some extended camping in the Eagle Cap Wilderness, lucky me! Too bad my usual size seven regular was a size twelve regular before I found the right fit. My torso is of the longer variety with a high waist and these pants seem to be of the lower wasted variety wanting to ride on my hips. That being said, they are working great for me!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love these pants!

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, Or
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought 2 pair--black & dark grey--size ten. I am 5'5 1/2" & 128 lbs. Fit very well. Got them wet while boating, & they dried very quickly. Great for outdoors, travel. They do sit low on waist, & I will be happy if higher waists ever come back into fashion!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not true to size/odd fit for some but maybe not all

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: West Hartford, CT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a size 2 (typically wear a 0 in anything)
I'm an avid cyclist and I didn't think I had large quads but apparently I do so cyclists and runners keep this in mind.
When I received these pants, they were exactly what I expected in terms of material, ease of use and style.. (lightweight, simple and easy to convert from shorts to pants, the shorts were a decent length, just above the knee)
But, the problem I ran into is once I had them on, I attempted to lift my legs as if I were hiking and the pant would rub funny on my leg where the convertible pant zipper was and I though eh maybe that's not a big deal, then I got my leg up at about a 90 degree angle as if i had to get over a large rock or tree down...that's when the pant actually got stuck on my quads! I put my leg back down and the pant didn't fall! I wear a zero or xs in most every pant I own, these were a two and the waste was just about right but the quad area was not even close ...this may be okay for some if you have little or no quad muscles.
And I'm sorry, but because of the fit issues I was not able to try out the product out so I cannot say much for quality and function except I have owned many of Columbia products similar to these and they are well made and function as they should.
Good luck, hope this helped.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too Short and too small

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 5'10, with a full bottom and normally could wear other brands in size 16 but the sizing on these pants is way too small and too short -- I had to return them. You may need to order up a size if you have full hips.
Tried the Mens version for length and couldn't find sizes available (needed 38/34 which is interesting because I can fit into his other brands 36-34) - no 38 available in the color - style I wanted.
Returned all of them. My husband loves his though and we like the quality!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>