Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant

Columbia Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant

This multi-talented trekking pant will have you breathing in that healing alpine air in no time.
Overall rating:
4.337 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 92 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
83 out of 91(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Review 1 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sized up 2 sizes!!

PostedAugust 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Singapore, Singapore
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do freshwater fieldwork, so the waterproofing/quick dry function is important to me. This really works very well!
I am a UK10-12 for bottoms, around 101cm hips, pear shaped body. I referred to the size chart (which is pretty accurate) and purchased a Size 10R and my thighs (60cm) fit well, even when I am squatting/sitting down. The regular is slightly too long for me (163cm) but the elastic cinch allows me to keep the pant legs off the ground. My waist is pretty small (75cm) in comparison, so I ended up cinching in 4 holes on both sides of the elastic waistband in order to keep my pant legs off the ground and keep my pants up.
Price: Wait for these to go on sale (very regular) -- I bought these for 25 USD with a coupon (29 on sale). With the free ground shipping and rebates from the Greater Rewards programme, these are actually cheaper to purchase from Columbia.com than any other online sites that I frequent (STP, 6pm.com).
Hope this was detailed enough!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Sure of Correct Size to Order

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Orlando, FL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the fabric and function of these pants; have a similar pair from Columbia that are too small now (enjoying too much of the good life, I guess!). I ordered a size larger based on feedback from other reviewers; however, they are pretty big on me. Concerned if I return them and order the next size down that they may be tight. Not sure what I should do.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good material but a runs a bit long

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Manila, Metro Manila, Philippines
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Initially, I would like to buy the Short version of this pants. I bought size 16 based on the waist line sizing indicated in the page. When I received the item, I noticed that it was a size bigger for me. the pants is very loose in the thigh and leg area. Furthermore, its runs very long for me too. I could not returned the item anymore because my sister in CA already shipped it here in the Philippines. I ended up using it as a short and removed the second half of the pants. Anyway, the material is light-weight which I love about Columbia products. Hopefully, there will be the short version; will definitely buy again.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love these pants. Goes from chilly mornings to hot afternoons.

PostedAugust 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Helena,MT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the draw cord idea but it came loose and must repair.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A little strange, but I like them

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Aurora, CO, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After reading the other reviews I ordered a size up, and it was too big. Got my correct size, and it fits much better, but still weird. A little too slim in the hips, and too big in the waist. Also a little snug in the thighs. Not the best cut, that is for sure. But, in this style of pants that convert to shorts it is the best I have found so far, so I kept them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pre-Trip Review

PostedJune 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Dallas, Texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just got these pants last week and they fit good. I wasn't sure about going up another size to make sure I could get base layers but I think I picked the right size because they are still slightly baggy on me. It's hard to exactly look "cute" in these but I'm assuming anyone buying them is going somewhere rugged! We are going to Peru next week and I think the variety of temperatures we will run into, these pants will be useful! Also, for sizing: I'm 5'8" and 132 pounds with curves and ordered a size 6.I normally wear a size 4 in shorts and jeans.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fit and function, but rips easily

PostedJune 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: San Francisco, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great lightweight hiking pants that fit true to size, and have the ideal number of pockets. They fit closer to the body (not the baggy, cargo-pant style of hiking pants) and that was precisely what I was looking for. I actually bought them in two colors because they fit so well.
The only downside is that they appear to rip quite easily. The first time I wore one of the pairs I had a minor stumble on a trail, and ripped the knee of the pants. So if you are clumsy like me - or are hoping for very sturdy hiking pants for serious adventures - you may want to consider another option.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second pair!

PostedJune 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased a pair two or three years ago and I fit a size 6. I love the pants so much that I wanted another pair in case the originals gave out on me. I purchased a size 6 again but to my surprise it was way too big. I returned them and purchased a size 2 instead after reading the sizing chart. The size 2 fit perfectly (I'm 5'8" and 120lbs). There are lots of reviews saying these pants run too small but I didn't find that to be the case however the pant legs are a little snug near the convertible zips. I recommend reading the sizing chart and you may need to size up if you have thick legs. I wear these pants hiking, biking, traveling, just about everything! A well thought out and versatile product. And one of the few convertible hiking pants that doesn't sacrifice style! I hope Columbia doesn't discontinue this style!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

item runs small

PostedJune 23, 2015
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
These pants were small compared to other products of the same size. They also have no stretch and stuck to my legs in the florida heat.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE these hiking pants

PostedJune 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Sevierville, TN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a pair about 2 years ago and paid full price at an outfitters. I LOVED them so much, it was worth every penny. But suddenly I couldn't find them anywhere. so I searched on line using the numbers inside the pants. Thankfully, I found them and bought the exact same size. They seem just a little bit bigger, but there is an adjustment in the waste, so they should be fine. I LOVE LOVE LOVE these pants...they are the only hikin' pants I will buy!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Runs small

PostedJune 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I normally wear an 8, but ordered a 10 because the reviews said they run small. The 10 was tight, too tight to be comfortable. The thighs (where the leg zippers are) were very tight, because the zippers don't give at all. Then the ankles were loose and baggy. The snap didn't stay snapped, though they were too small to begin with, but it is a really loose snap. I will be returning them.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great overall pants

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants definitely run a bit small. I can't remember the last time I didn't buy a size 6 in pants. I always wear the same size, until these pants. I needed the next size up, and even then I'd probably be more of a 9 to have theses pants fit 100% perfect (but those don't exist and the 10s were just too big). Size 8 was comfortable enough.
Also, the buttons also aren't the best, pretty wimpy actually :/ Every time I sat down they'd pop open. Thankfully the zipper stays up very well otherwise my pants would have constantly been around my ankles.
However, even with these minor flaws I still LOVE the pants. They're nice a cool, light weight fabric. In fact, I'd really like a shirt made of this material. I very easily removed the bottom of the pants to let my legs get a bit more air when the temperature got hot, and had no problem zipping them back on when it cooled back down. Also the adjustable elastic at the bottom of the pants was great for hiking in the woods. When I went to take my boots off and was doing my tick check, I did indeed find a little guy that couldn't make his way in thanks to the drawstring at the bottom of these pants :)
Overall they're a GREAT pair of pants. I'm just going to be buying a belt or adding a button to the pants for future hiking trips :)
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very happy

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Silver Ridge Convertible Pant is comfortable, of high quality and I'm happy with my purchase. I like the fact that the waist has an adjustable button/elastic. Good feature! I like that there is a zipper at the ankle so you don't have to take off your boots to convert the pants to shorts.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Readington, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was going to order a size 8 and 10 as pants I don't know run different, but only a 10 was available. Even with the tabs pulled all the way in, they were too big, but they worked. 8 would of been great! Used them in Belize, jungle walks, boat rides up river and they were totally comfortable. Was like wearing linen, almost. Never felt sweaty which was my concern. Didn't have the chance to zip off to shorts as I am a magnet for biting insects even with high deet sprays. Would definitely recommend.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byLyndaM
Anchorage, Alaska
 
Please wait while more information about LyndaM is loaded.
Additional information about LyndaM could not be loaded.
Product Recommendation
onMay 16, 2014
You should give Columbia's Insect Blocker line a try. I, too, am a magnet for biting insects and nothing has ever helped me before. I bought the Insect Blocker mesh jacket they offer, wore it fishing on the rivers in Alaska (mosquito heaven, by the way), and boom. No bites.
 
Products related to my comment
 
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous for hiking and day wear!

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, Maine
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE THESE PANTS! I'd been searching for this style since an old pair (different maker) bit the dust years ago. Attractive, sporty, lightweight, and practical. The shorts are a good length, and I truly appreciate the pockets, as well as the zippers at the ankle for easy on/off. I read all the reviews (thank you ladies!) and sussed that they run small. They do. I suggest, depending upon your build (whether you run large or small in your normal size) as well your intended use, that you size up at least 1 if not 2 full sizes. For reference, I am 5'10" 140 lbs. and normally wear a size 6 long. I ordered a size 10 Long online, and then went to a local Columbia outlet to try them in person (while waiting for the shipment to arrive). Lucky me! They had them in 6, 8, and 10 Long. So I tried them all. The 6's fit, but were super tight, like like a sausage skin. The 8s however fit nicely. Not too tight, not too loose, great for daily wear, but a little too close for deep knee-bend hiking and climbing. The 10s were pretty loose, but because of the style (they ride lower on your waist), and the adjustable elastic in the back, they actual fit wonderfully for active hiking and day wear. So what did I do? I bought three pairs at the outlet, in addition to the 1 online, so now have a total of four pairs: two 8 long and two 10 long. I've worn and washed one pair each of the 8s and 10s. I was a little disappointed the 8s seemed to shrink a little in the drier (length and waist wise) so I suggest washing and hanging to dry, especially if you are tall and don't want to risk the length. Overall, really terrific pants. I may go back and buy more!! Highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Convertible Pants

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Washington State
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Silver Ridge Convertible Pants is a versatile, good quality product. In addition to the leg zippers, there is a cinch cord at the bottom of the legs - nice detail. Slightly lower rise but not too low. I typically wear a size 12, 5'6" 150 lbs., but in the Silver Ridge a size 10 was fine. Plenty of room to move during hikes and scrambles and comfortable to wear on a long flight. Very comfortable and an excellent product.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superior hiking pants

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Silver City, NM
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had trouble finding hiking pants that have zippers at the cuffs. These do, so you do not have to take off your hiking boots to remove the lower section of the trousers. Pockets are good and plentiful. The pants are also comfortable to wear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Womens outdoor pants

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: NE Connecticut
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are lightweight but very strong and functional for all seasons activities. Use with layers for winter activities but very lightweight for all four seasons. The material is very flexible and moves with you through any activity.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Convertible Pant

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like these pants. I wear them camping and hiking. It is usually cool in the am and I like to wear the pants, then zip off the pants legs as the weather warms up. The zippers are great, since you don't have to take your shoes off. I read all the reviews about the sizing and leg fit, so I ordered a size larger. I usually wear a size 4, but my thighs are a bit muscular, so I ordered a 6. They fit pretty well. The legs are just big enough. I don't have a lot of extra room, but enough. The quality is excellent. Love the pockets and zippers. The gray color is nice. I will likely get another color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Southern Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Read the reviews and bought size 14 instead of my usual 12, very happy with the fit!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>