Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip

What’s next to your skin sets the stage for your comfort: don’t mess around. Developed with top physiologists, Columbia’s new heavyweight baselayers offer our highest warmth-to-weight ratio for optimal comfort in extreme winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Review 1 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bowmystr

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
bowmystr
Location: ohio
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
once again, couldn"t be happier. omni heat works great!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great for layering

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
KB820
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It cuts a bit at the neck - would be better if it came up closer to the chin- other than that- its great!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice fabric

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
rutabaga
Location: billings,mt
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I got one in grey and one in black. The sleeves of Columbia things are always too long for me,so I just bunch them up a bit. This is a great base layer. I recommend them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Baselayer!

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
DMatsu
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for a XC ski trip, and it proved itself in the field beautifully! I've worn it hiking in cold and rainy conditions as well, and it never fails. I just bought a second one in a different color. They hold up after being washed-I line dry mine- and I absolutely LOVE Omni Heat technology! Thanks, Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

comfort

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Janski
Location: Southern CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice to have a zipper. Was warm with layering. the sleeves were a little long and the armpit area had too much material. I guess this allowed for a lot of arm movment. I'd prefer more fitted to were as an outside shirt.
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Warm Baselayer

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Patty28
Location: Basking Ridge NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this before skiing in Vermont during February break. The new technology makes this base layer super warm and super thin. It worked in layers really well, and wicked great.
Activities: Skiing, Other
Conditions: Snowy
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Extended sizes, Please!!!!!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
pinsanneedles
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It looked like my chance to have a pretty looking technical garment, but no such luck - the xl was soooo tight across the bust you could have figured out my blood type through the fabric.
Keep it up, Columbia. Big amazonian women are here to stay. Give us something to wear!!!!!
Activities: Skiing, Boating, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Sweaty, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byoOoOo
USA / Canada
 
Please wait while more information about oOoOo is loaded.
Additional information about oOoOo could not be loaded.
Wishes the same
onDecember 2, 2013
*Plus sizes please Columbia* A bigger selection of plus sizes for women please. It would even work out for those that pregnant in the winter time. Love your products, but tired of having to going to men's for certain stuff which is not built for us ladies.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very comfortable

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
roylener
Location: Portland Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and keeps you warm. What more could you want. It does run a little small. I bought one for myself and 3 other members of my family. I am glad I read the reviews and ordered bigger. I did wear it and stayed warm all day. The other family members were very happy with the gift.
Activities: Other
Conditions: City, Rainy, Windy, Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
FayJ
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These thermal is the best I've ever had. One layer is enough. Fit and warm. Good product. Good color selection.
Activities: Snowboarding
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Windy, Freezing, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Shirt

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Teee
Location: TN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this shirt for my early morning runs-it keeps me warm but wicks away the sweat! I love this shirt and ordered another one!
Activities: Running
Conditions: Snowy
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really impressed

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
euphoria318
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was suprised by how thin this shirt is, but I've worn it up to the mountain twice now and been impressed by the results. I bought it to replace my Under Armour coldgear shirt, which would ride up throughout the day. This shirt stayed in place, and with nothing more than a light fleece under my jacket I was nice and toasty. Granted, the conditions weren't terribly cold, so I'll be interested to see how it holds up in single-digit weather. My friend has the same shirt, and uses it all the time for running in winter. I bought it in pink, and I love the color.
Activities: Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Snowshoeing, Snowboarding
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not great

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
jsor
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fabric is not very heat retentive nor is it water repellent (got thoroughly wet within seconds (literally) of exposure and took very long to dry. To call this 'Heavyweight' is a misnomer all around.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect, warm and cute

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Lindala
Location: Redondo Beach
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Felt great, soft and warm. I loved the color pink.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Windy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy.

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
StootsLtd
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Baselayer Heavyweight long sleeve is precisely what I was expecting--warm, feels great, looks great, and the fit is right!
Activities: Other
Conditions: City, Windy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm happy with it.

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer avatar
ladyreb
I love the look. It does well with layers, but just by itself under my jacket (bugaboo liner jacket), the bitter wind won out.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Baselayer Heavyweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
EKAlaska
Location: Alaska
This top is very comfortable and very warm. It's a fantastic base layer!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.