Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip

The Layer First Stripe Half Zip is proof positive that basics don’t have to be boring. A flattering cut in fabulous fabric gives this staple great drape so it looks as good on its own as it does underneath your favorite hoodie.
Overall rating:
4.482 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
25 out of 26(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Review 1 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish and flattering fit

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Golden, CO
I just purchased this in pink and absolutely love it. The hemline is longer so it drapes nicely over your hips and lays nicely beneath a backpack. It also looks amazing just as a run around top. I'm buying another.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

sweet top!

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Salt Lake City
Love this shirt. Zip necks are the most versatile for three seasons. One drawback is that the arms are waaaaaay too tight below the elbow. I am of normal to slight build and find these sleeves very snug. If not for that, i'd give 5 stars
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shirt!

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
The fit of this shirt is just right. It's on the longer side which is so flattering. The grey stripes are very hip. This is a winner!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

could use a bit adjusting!

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: minneapolis
I love my new shirt! Although the seam that runs across the chest is too high. It cuts in the middle of my chest is unflaterring. This type of construction is typical in low end apparel and was not expecting this of Columbia wear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great top, not great quality

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
The service was impeccable but I had to return one shirt because the hem was coming out after washing it only 2 times and then as soon as my replacement came, the zipper popped out at the bottom. I was able to repair it myself but it makes me think the quality is not very high. I like the fit of the shirt and the colors and the versatility though.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flattering body, odd sleeves

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle
I love the fabric, the colors and stripes are modern and cool! The body fits great, the zip and form are flattering. The sleeves are odd to me - there are seams in places I seem to want to bend, making it not that comfortable - sleeves are also so tight at the forearm, that I can't push them up just to wash my hands. That is annoying and I wish there were either more stretch in the fabric or more ease in the forearm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

needs a better design

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: bozeman, mt
i loved the length of this shirt, however i didnt like how stiff the area around the zipper was. it doesnt lay right on my chest and makes a bump in between my breasts.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shirt!

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm wearing it right now--in fact, I tend to do laundry more often just to make sure this shirt is in my drawer.
It is plenty long in body and in the sleeves, with an attractive and unusual cut. I actually wear it to my office for work, it is so nice-looking. It seems like it is too nice for wearing as a workout base-layer, but it would be super-comfortable for that, too.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Other, Running
Conditions: City
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous, Chic, Functional!

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: LA, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You don't find many active-wear tops that are also fashionable and make you feel, well, attractive.
This beautiful gray top was a 'love at first sight' moment for me, and when it arrived, it was even better.
I'm 5'9, size 4/6, I got the Medium, and it fit perfectly. But my friend who is shorter and a size 10 wore it and it fit her very well also. You can wear it to go over gym clothes, to get your morning coffee but still look good, or for your runs.
I'm experiencing a huge resurgence of Colombia love, and this piece was a big part of it.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other, Running
Conditions: City, Other
I would recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Women’s Thermarator™ Fleece
4.4 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shirt

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like Columbia clothes in general and this one is no different. The only downside is that the arms are a bit on the skinny side. I know I do not have twiggy arms, but I find that lots of Columbia tops are small through the upper arm and/or forearm. Nothing too bad, just more snug than I'd like.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfy and practical

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Eugene, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product runs pretty small and had to order it larger than I normally order Columbia top garments. Depending on the Columbia garment I usually wear an X SM or SM. It is very comfortable and know it will layer well this winter. Have only worn it a couple times so I'm not sure about its durability, but I'm confident it will hold up as well as all the Columbia products I have previously had.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this item in two different colors and love them both! They look great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish!

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: San Francisco
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cut to the design of this warm and comfortable turtle neck. Love the color and fabric. Feminine lines and styling. I am tall so unfortunately the empire cut that runs just below the breasts rides up a bit but overall I love the top and the quality.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable, Soft Fabric & Great Styling

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shirt is very comfortable, with an "athletic fit" that hugs the body through the torso; the striped design is muted (I have the blue/purple stripe color) with just the right amount of contrast. I like the length of the 1/2 zip, which is long enough to provide good ventilation. The shirt does run on the long side for the torso. The arms also run long on me, but I usually have that problem--for most women I think the arms should be fine. The one odd thing about the shirt is that the arms seem to be tapered, so the shirt is pretty snug from the elbow down. It isn't a real problem for me b/c my arms are small, but for someone who has athletic arms this could be a problem.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very attractive

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Bay Area, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these tops. They look better in person than online. The stripes are very striking, yet subtle. I first saw them at an REI store, I don't think I would have chosen them from a purely online view. I have two black/grey, one orange/grey, and one yellow/grey. They fit tightly but wear comfortably like skin. You may want to order two and return the one that doesn't fit the best, as the fit is close. Tight, but no bra required because of the double fabric on either side of the front zipper. The arms are tight enough to need to get used to, however I soon forget once I'm "in." Kinda like a wetsuit, I would guess.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great everyday top

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Birmingham, AL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is lightweight but nice for Alabama winters. Don't need much else here.
The fit is snug, but the cut is flattering.
I think I now own this top in every color, so you be the judge!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shirt!

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Spokane
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shirt is so comfortable! It looks great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love these things!

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Kearney, NE
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have another columbia half zip that I really like, so was looking for more. Looked at Nikes but found these & I like them much better. This one is longer, a bit more like a tunic. I like to wear it with yoga pants/capris because of that. This one is lighter weight & I sometimes wear it to yoga class. I sometimes wear size medium, but in the Columbia half-zips I need a large. Columbia.com had the best selection & I got them on sale, best prices I found. I will check this website again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flattering shirt

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Western Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought one. Loved it. Bought two more.
Yes...a little long and tight in the arms, but not at all uncomfortable for me. 5'5 125lbs I purchased Medium.
I love the blue stripe most of all. The zip looks flattering even unzipped low. Or almost a turtle zipped all the way up.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Layer First™ Stripe 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Want more of these!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Austin, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This top is so flattering while being functional at the same time. I will absolutely buy more of these.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>