Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt

Columbia Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt

A super-cooling tech tee with feminine flair, this soft and lightweight V-neck tee sports our industry-leading cooling technology that reacts with your sweat to lower the material’s temperature and keep you cool during dynamic aerobic activity in the heat.
Overall rating:
4.611 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Review 1 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfy, cute, and cool

PostedSeptember 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Cabot, AR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this shirt! Very flattering fit, keeps me cool, looks nice with khaki shorts, as well as athletic shorts. Love all the colors. Does not fade or shrink when washed. Fits very true to size. You won't be disappointed if you get one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shirt

PostedAugust 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: philadelphia pa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light weight shirt great for hiking. True to size (bought a small for a 5'7" gal). Color was spot on. Good quality shirt. would buy again!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedAugust 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shirts look great and they function is amazing. Unlike other "quick dry" tshirts, you never feel the shirt is wet. You start to realize you are sweating and before you know it you feel dry and col. The material never looks sweated through. I am throwing away my old "quick dry" shirts and will continue with this.
I wish this was offered in a crew neck as I need to protect my neck from prior sun damage. Great shirt, now own 3 colors.!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not As Dexcribed

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Midlothian, TX, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The shirt is a great fit and look but I didn't find that it kept you cool or was wicking. Might be because the heat has been 105.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect top

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
It is one of those tops which you can wear it on a backpacking trip or going out in town. Great fit. Cool feature.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice for hiking

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Arizona, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I usually wear a medium (my measurements are 37-31-39) but definitely needed the large since I like a little bit of looseness. Very lightweight comfortable shirt, good for hiking and workouts, but doesn't cool quite as much as I expected. Colors (both the coral and chameleon) are much brighter than they appeared on the site.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product

PostedJune 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Akron, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these shirts! The technology truly works to keep you cool, even with hot flashes in the summer humidity. I especially like the modern fit - not so tight; very breathable. The sizes seem to run true. I wear a small or small petite in other clothing and the small works fine for me.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great work out shirt

PostedJune 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Georgia, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this shirt. Ordered it to hike in, but used it as a workout shirt too. 5'3" 130 lbs and ordered a size small. Fits great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this shirt for hiking

PostedApril 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great warm weather shirt. It doesn't cling like so many other shirts, which I like. When it is hot, I like shirts to fit loose while still flattering. It does run slightly small. I wear a L shirt in work clothes and sized up based on other reviews. This shirt keeps me cooler than other shirts. It washes well and the colors are gorgeous. Happy I found this shirt!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sizing Depends on Your Build

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Selah, WA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the omni freeze because I overheat in race's..a friend wore these during the Hood To Coast Relay. The material does what it says it suppose to do, even better when water gets on it! Problem with the size, I bought large based on reviews and It fits snugs...it fit like a bag. I'm petite build, usually wear a medium (I am not large busted). My suggestion is if your lean, go with your usual size. If you have a little fuller build, go up a size.
I would recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: California, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have 3 of these shirts and love them! I took 2 on the John Muir Trail this summer, they were perfect! Wore them day and night as my base layer. Just the right fit and length, not too tight, quick drying, cooling, light & packable, yummy colors!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Shelby Twp
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this shirt to try on a bike packing trip over labor day weekend. I found it to be very comfortable and soft to the touch. Fit was good, slightly snug, but did stretch slightly as I washed and wore it over the weekend. Now it's very comfortable to wear. I didn't have any issues with the material piling wear my back pack straps wear rubbing throughout the trip. At night i would hand wash all of my items and this shirt was the fastest drying of all my gear.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Toccoa, GA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
This top fits well (36DD). So many times I find that the outdoor tops are tight fitting. I am thankful to have a wonderful looking top that also offers great moisture protection.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

well-made but runs small

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: O‘ahu, Hawaii, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The shirt is well-made but it runs small.
As far as cooling, it's just okay. The long sleeve version of this shirt works better for sun protection and cooling.
I like my shirts a little loose. I ordered up a size as other reviewers mentioned the shirt ran small.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Makes You Hot and Sweaty

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Tampa, FL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought this shirt after I tried the sleeves in a sporting good store. The material is cooling when its wet, but it does not breathe like a cotton T shirt. The nylon is snug and doesn't allow air to flow around your skin in the breeze, so it makes you feel clammy and hot. I tried it walking up a sweat in a theme park and it made me overheated. I wore it motorcycling and the breeze ruffled through the shoulder area, but didn't provide cooling. It wasn't until I wore the sweaty shirt into an air conditioned store that it felt cooling. I wore it to a night time outdoor race track where there was a breeze and it didn't breathe, just made me sweaty but not cool. I always wear a Large in Columbia shirts so I bought this a Large too, but my husband thinks its too tight. I personally do not think its too tight, but it does fit close and doesn't allow for air to circulate like my cotton tshirts do. The material is very thin and stretchy so if you have a muffin top tummy it will show. Looks best tucked in and since the point is to absorb sweat and provide cooling it can't do that if its untucked. I will keep and continue to wear this shirt since the pink color is bright and fun, and it does provide omni shade sunscreen. I have not tried it wet, by wetting it down before wearing and perhaps that is what it needs to feel cooling.
I do not recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byRebkawhy
Topeka, KS
 
Please wait while more information about Rebkawhy is loaded.
Additional information about Rebkawhy could not be loaded.
Sweat???
onJune 3, 2015
Strange question: Do you tend to sweat less than most people???
In researching this product and a similar line of garments from another well known company, I gather that the fabric's cooling mechanism reacts with sweat. Is it possible that you sweat less than "normal" folks? Yours is the only review that I've read that reported an experience that is opposite of the garment's intended function; concisely: to cool.
The only explanation I could come up with is maybe you're one of those lucky folks who doesn't sweat rivers when it is hot and muggy out - that's why your shirt didn't perform as expected.
I understand that my question is quite an intimate one, but it sure would be informative if you found the time to respond.
I'm not at all overweight - I'm fit: 131 lbs. 5'7". Size 5... Yet I sweat buckets - even when I'm not exerting myself!
So, if you're like me - perpetually damp, I'd like to know so I don't have a similar experience and I can re-focus my research accordingly.
Thanks a bunch in advance,
Rebecca
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great top but mis-named color!

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Arlington, VA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the top, but there's no way that laser red remotely resembles the color red. Online it looks like the top is an orangey-red, but it's really a bright, bright orange in person!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific work out shirt

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Punta Gorda, FL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this shirt. It look great on my body and fits just right in the right places. Provides sun protection and is long enough that when I am in the gym, provides coverage during all the moves. Keeps the sweat off as well as possible, too. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Zero Rules™ Short Sleeve Shirt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great piece.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Spokane, WA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found this shirt to be functional and flattering.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.