Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip

What’s next to your skin sets the stage for your comfort: don’t mess around. Developed with top physiologists, Columbia’s new baselayer series offers maximum warmth, minimum weight, and zoned performance for optimal comfort.
Overall rating:
4.59 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
35 out of 36(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Review 1 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter under clothing

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
snowboot
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These Omni Heat clothing is great light weight clothing that keeps you nice and warm under your thicker clothing. While skiing, we wore just this baselayer shirt and pant under our ski suit and stayed very warm. We also used this under our clothing while walking around in the snow and wind chill in the mountians of Germany during December and stayed very warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thin and Warm

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
HueHue666
Location: San Francisco, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work in a Heater free office, so I wear only this thin base layer and a Omni-Heat jacket over and it'll keep me warm all day, Thanks to this Great Products Columbia!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenomenal Concept, Extra Phenomenal Product

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
ChristheNomad
Location: Dallas, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sadly living in Texas this guy doesn't get all the use it deserves, but when I do need it-it more than delivers. I've worn it backpacking in the teens with my 30 degree bag and have been more than comfortable. I can wear it hiking if it is a super chilly morning, but I will actually over heat in this guy. I've worn it as a stand alone shirt when I am equestrian vaulting (it's gymnastics on horseback and requires you to wear form-fitted clothing) and it has been tremendous for that, obviously it doesn't do much for the wind as it is a base layer, but it still does great. After a year or so of ownership the fabric hasn't pilled, no seams have come undone and it hasn't shrunk or faded (I have only washed it with NikWax in cold water).
Considering that this is a base layer and is suppose to be form fitting I say it runs true to size. I typically wear a size small, and this shirt was not too tight or restrictive at all in a small.
I recommend any of the omni-heat series to anyone that braves the cold weather or is just cold natured.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
JaxH
Location: UK
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ibought one of these last season for skiing in Banff in temperatures up to -19C. This top, combined with a ski jacket was all I needed to keep warm on top. I was so delighted with this product, I bought another one and a couple for my husband. No other base layer for me!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer avatar
knossar
Location: Uruguay
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
It is like they said, an excellent piece!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great baselayer

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer avatar
BYUIgirl
Location: Idaho
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing quality and functionality! Perfect for those early morning rides in the spring
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE it

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
susie4565465
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight, stretchy, good quality;
I love the design which has color cut-outs on the waist which make you look slimmer AND curvy at the same time.
I also love the shiny inside it looks so cool when you take it off after your warm up.
I wish I bought more in other colors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Baselayer

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Kathy1952
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this baselayer line from Columbia. I have three of the colors in both the tops and bottoms and love them. They run long enough in the sleeves for my long frame (I'm 5'8") and fits snug enough under clothes not to make you look bulky. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
flower50
Location: Hendersonville N.C.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I already owned one (black) I loved it so much I purchased the white. They keep me warm in mild conditions, and much warmer if I layer with a great jacket. They fit wonderful, I love the finger holes, and the zip. It's a very flattering fit. I wear it also all by itself. We love to ride our motorcycle, and this baselayer keeps me happy.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

SIze/chaffing

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
TChezzy
Location: Ventura County
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I found this to run small and therefore chaffs under the front area of the armpit areas where the flat lock stitching is (tight mostly there). I also thought it would be heavier for the price, but is quite thin (hard to tell in the photos). Really not to wear by itself - as the white is fairly see-through.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for cross country skiing

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
MinniesMa
Location: Spokane
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second mid-weight baselayer with Omni-heat. They are perfect for nordic skiing. They are light enough to make for easy layering under a soft shell. Not at all binding so allows for free movement. I may have to get at least one more!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best first layer EVER!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
SecretMommy
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We spend a lot of time in the cold, wind and snow and this baselayer is my new favorite! I tend to run cold and felt PERFECTLY warm wearing only this top and the tights under my snow bibs and winter coat. I am also a nursing mother and so chose this zip top to allow for feeding the baby when we are outside. It worked! The zip opening combined with stretchyness of the fabric allowed me to nurse without pulling up all my warm cozy layers. Super great bonus!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women's baselayer midweight lng sleeve 1/2 zip

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Kris4
Location: Kansas
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light, very warm and I can feel the material breath when I wear it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best base layer with thumb holes I've tried

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
presentjoy
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I rated this true to size, but the truth is, I bought a size larger than I needed -- I'm skinny and my arms are long.
The thumb holes *just* make it, but they do make it. I can comfortably wear this garment with thumb holes for brief periods of time. The underarms stay in place when I wear the thumb holes, so it serves as a true base layer. I can't say the same for other baselayers with thumb holes I've tried. The bodice is a little large and floppy because I had to compensate for my arms. I can deal with that. It actually would have helped to know how long garment is from thumbs to armpit, or shoulder to wrist/fingertips (a more standard measurement). However, I couldn't have gotten another size up, it would've been just too big.
I LOVE the omni heat feature, and the fabric is soft. The zip is also fairly comfortable. I'd love to see the thumbholes without the zip (crew or mock would work). It wasn't possible, at least when I purchased.
Overall though, this stands to become my favourite baselayer!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
onandinh2o
Location: Ventura, Ca
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I pick this up for my wife, she looks great in it and she love's it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

itchy silver dots, but really keep warm well

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
petite
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This provides wamrth very well, but the silver dots made me itchy on my sensitive and dry skin. It would be better if I have something underneath this baselayer, but it is a bit funny that this baselayer requires another baselayer to prevent me from getting itchiness. Anyway, I still ended up returning this because I ordered a white and it came in with a stain at the left breast. Since it's white, it's so noticeable. It's not the first time I received stained products, and usually happened on white items. Dear Columbia, please be careful when handling white items.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Annie834
Location: Moscow, Idaho
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product! It runs very true to size, is extremely versatile, comfortable, and keeps me the perfect temperature! It reflects my heat in keeping me warm, yet allows for breathability. You are kept at the perfect temperature. They are extremely comfortable, I can wear them as baselayers for the cold, just as a shirt, or even to bed. I love these and would highly recommend them!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good base layer with novel technology

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Dinz
Location: Tampa Bay
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This shirt was purchased for a trip up north for Thanksgiving. When it was tried on, we determined it was a bit snug. We exchanged it for the next largest size and used it in New York. It worked well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long sleeve 1/2 zip top

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Nancy53
Location: Denver
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits great, feels great, looks great. Keeps me warm without any bulk. I highly recommend it. And it washes up beautifully.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product!

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer avatar
jsl12
Location: NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE LOVE LOVE. It's the perfect midweight top. You sweat, but stay dry. Love the thumb inserts on the sleeves.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>