Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip

What’s next to your skin sets the stage for your comfort: don’t mess around. Developed with top physiologists, Columbia’s new baselayer series offers maximum warmth, minimum weight, and zoned performance for optimal comfort.
Overall rating:
4.531 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
44 out of 46(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Review 1 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my Baselayer

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland OR
This fits just how a baselayer should close to the body to help keep the heat it. I can definitively feel the difference with the omniheat I wear an extra small and Columbia usually runs big on me but this is great!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good bottom layer

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Duluth
This is the perfect fit for a first layer. It's snug and warm and great for warming up in!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I really like!

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wore top and bottom during the 2011 WI deer hunting season, 10 days straight, 12 hrs/day. I washed it every other day by hand and hung to dry near a wood stove and kept it's shape and fit. Wicking ability was great! Both pieces are extremely comfortable. No itchy, bulky seams, riding up/down nor irritating zipper at neck.
I'm not convinced I was warmer but the temperature range was warm, 22 - 36 degree F so it wasn't a good test for me. That's the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars.
Activities: Hunting Big Game
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Women's Baselayer Midweight Tight
4.7 out of 5(55)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great running shirt!

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have two girls who run track and play soccer. This shirt is a great single layer or base layer under a sweatshirt for their athletics. LOVE IT!
Activities: Running
Conditions: Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tight raglan sleeve shouldrers

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very disappointed in this base layer top. Raglan sleeve shoulders were tight. Material was not as supple as expected. Actual color/fabric was ugly unless you are a teen.
Activities: Skiing
Conditions: Freezing
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for running

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tested this top out on my run the other day in 42 degree weather. Started out freezing since I just wore this as a running top, but once I warmed up, it kept me nice and comfortable throughout (I get really hot while running). Gave nice flexibility all over and the thumbholes were a great add to keep my hands warm. Would use this as a base in colder temperatures.
It also does run a little small. I'm 5'5" and 120lbs. I usually wear a small, but decided to go for the medium for a bit of a looser feel.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Running, Snowboarding
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My expectations were high and almost met

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Utah
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was pretty excited to try this product. I purchased the zip top with tights. I thought the fit was true to size. I am 5'5 and weigh 130. I purchased a small top and fits great, not too tight. Tighter in the upper chest, arms and shoulders, with some room in the waste area. Very stretchy and could be worn with a gain or loss of weight give or take 10-15 pounds I think.
The temperature outside this morning was around 13 degrees. Originally I planned to run in just the tights and top, but later turned around and went home to get more clothes. It defiantly is a base layer (as marketed) and not to be worn in freezing temps alone. I added a tech long sleeve shirt and running shorts and still felt coldish for most of the 8 miles or 1 hour I was outside, but comfortable.
The ability to reflect body heat was not as apparent as I hoped. However at times I felt an almost "icy hot feeling" as the cold air entered and was converted to heat? Not sure. However, interesting to note, when sedentary, I almost notice the heat reflect ability much more noticeably, I think more than any other similar long sleeve shirt without the omni heat ability. So I think it works, just not so much with cold air entering through the material. So a protective outer shell with this base layer is probably optimal.
It is very comfortable to run in and the fabric and quality is excellent.
Aside from running, it think it is flattering. I think I might turn it inside out and wear in warmer conditions. The silver lining is unique and looks cool.
It did well with sweat, however, under the cold conditions, I don't think I sweated too much.
I think it runs a little too expensive. I would not have been as pleased with the product if I had not received it for a discount. For what I paid ($38), it performed great.
Overall, I am happy with the product simply for a base layer, comfort, and style.
Activities: Running
Conditions: Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent base - plus thumb holes!

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommend this baselayer. I LOVE it for running - in colder temps, I wear as a base with a thicker fleece. Wicks the sweat and keeps me warm even on longer runs without adding bulk. I also wore it in September while hiking 14ers in CO. Favorite part - the thumb holes!
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Running
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good fit and stylish

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: St Louis
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the fit and light weight feel of the fabric.
Activities: Skiing, Running, Commuting
Conditions: Sweaty, Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

high tech breathability

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Hannibal, MO
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This shirt is thinner than I expected but works perfectly as a base layer. It fits a little tighter under the arms than I like but is still comfortable for running, hiking and other exercise. Also I wish the collar would lay flatter when unzipped. However neither of these concerns outweighs the coolness factor of the remarkable lining. Because of its breathability this shirt alone won't keep you toasty warm if you are just sitting around, but it will reduce the bulk and possibly the number of layers you'll need to use on a cold outdoor run.
Activities: Trail, Canoeing, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Running
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stay Warm!

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Denver, CO
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking for new base layers that provide more warmth than a lightweight layer but aren't bulky. This is the answer. I love the top and bottoms. They fit great and keep me warm w/o making me feel like the kid in A Christmas Story who cannot put his arms down! I've worn them skiing in Colorado and hiking in Homer, Alaska, and they stand up to the test.
Activities: Snowshoeing, Skiing, Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Snowy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
  • Expert
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Both the baselayer midweight top and bottom are, as usual for Columbia, a great product. Perfect for skiing, running,, or hiking in cool weather. If it's below 25, I would recommend the heavier weight.
Activities: Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Running
Conditions: Snowy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It met all my expectations

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this baselayer to play tennis in on very cold days in the unheated building I play in. When you are in the heat of the point you do sweat but the shirt transferrs the moisture away from your skin so you don't get chilled in between points. I do plan on wearing it anytime I need an extra layer of warmth without bulk. Great shirt!
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other
Conditions: Sweaty, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Whistler in March

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Indialantic, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I bought this top along with the pants for my trip to Whistler in March. I was impressed with how warm it kept this Florida girl in the freezing temps and epic snow! No mid layer was necessary. The top fit true to size and was quite comfortable to wear. Although it was thin, it was warm and great quality. I would buy another set in a heartbeat.
Activities: Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Snowboarding
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ideal!

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Beaver Creek
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kept me warm all the way! Loved the zipper!
Activities: Skiing
Conditions: Freezing
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for skiing and flyfishing

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product ... especially the thumb holes ... my wrists were warm for the first time this winter skiing. and plan to use it this summer flyfishing on alpine lakes ...
Activities: Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great layer for adventures

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Boulder, CO
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shirt is a great baselayer for snowy activities like skiing, ice climbing, cold weather climbing, and snowshoeing. It keeps me warm, but breathes well so I don't get clammy and cold. I also wear it alone when I'm trail running, climbing, or nordic skiing and it is chilly out.
The torso cut is nice and long so I can tuck it into my pants to keep snow and breezy breezes from getting next to my skin. The thumb holes are nice and smooth so there are no pressure points when I put gloves on over them.
The fabric and silver dots also stand up to wear and washing. The dots are still there with no threat of coming off thus far. The fabric doesn't snag easily and isn't pilling.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product!

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE LOVE LOVE. It's the perfect midweight top. You sweat, but stay dry. Love the thumb inserts on the sleeves.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long sleeve 1/2 zip top

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Denver
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits great, feels great, looks great. Keeps me warm without any bulk. I highly recommend it. And it washes up beautifully.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Baselayer Midweight Long Sleeve 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good base layer with novel technology

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Tampa Bay
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This shirt was purchased for a trip up north for Thanksgiving. When it was tried on, we determined it was a bit snug. We exchanged it for the next largest size and used it in New York. It worked well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>