Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top

Designed to keep you comfortable during active outdoor endeavors, this high-performing long sleeve top wicks like crazy, features UPF 50 sun protection and utilizes Omni-Freeze® ZERO sweat-activated cooling technology, which reacts with sweat to lower the temperature of the material.
Overall rating:
4.316 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
16 out of 19(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Review 1 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit for runner who needs sun protection

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
JSHK
Location: Mexico City
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As mentioned on the website, it fits a bit snug, but thats how I like to wear my running clothes. Since I am usually a medium, I went for the medium and I love the way it fits. It's perfect for me for running in Mexico City where I need to be protected from the sun especially on warm days. This shirt has high UPF protection and it very breathable so I don't get too hot while running.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great base layer

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
monkey
Location: seattle
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
whether you are layering up for a run, row, hike or bike this awesome long sleeve base layer will do the job for you!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product was disappointing

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer avatar
golferfan
Location: tulsa, OK
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I thought the shirt was white, instead it had small blue dots all over. I should have looked at the more detailed view. I would have sent it back but I would have to pay for the shipping. Still contemplating whether to return it or not.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sun Protection

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Fan99
Location: South Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a dedicated football fan, I needed protection from the sun. This product not only provides that protection, it also offers Omni-Freeze Zero which wicks perspiration away and aids in cooling you. After trying the shirt & experiencing it's effectiveness, I purchased another one. (Some weekends both our NCAA & NFL teams have home games!) I highly recommend this product and shared the information about it with my dermatologists. Now they are suggesting it to other patients.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes hot weather bearable

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Customer avatar
LizzieL
Location: Kalispell, MT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wore this shirt on one of the hottest days when I had to walk my dog. It kept me comfortable. My only complaint is that it ran a bit small in size which made me want to wear a larger shirt over it. However, when I tried that it undermined the purpose of the shirt.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Dmkh
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am wearing this shirt as I write this review. I live in Florida and work in elementary physical education. It's very hot and humid here and I was looking for an alternative to sticky sunscreen that needs to be reapplied. I was skeptical about the cooling affects and was worried about being too hot, but I have to admit I'm impressed! I am comfortable and used a misting bottle that enhances the cooling effects. I ordered my usual size and the fit was perfect. Fitted, but not skin tight. For reference I am 5'2, 108 lbs, 32b and I ordered the xs. I highly recommend this product. My only regret is that I didn't order other colors before they ran out of my size!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not as good as the reviews

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Comfygirl
Location: Southern New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this shirt based on others' reviews. I brought the medium because everyone said that they ran small but it's a bit too large, long in the sleeves. It's gotten pretty wet with sweat and while it wasn't uncomfortable, it didn't provide the cooling action the reviews and description said it would. I'll try it a few more times but I'm not sure that I'd get more of this line. I wish I had gone with the small but there are no stores around here that carries it and I didn't want to go through the hassle of returning it and find the small really is too small. It's not true to size for sure.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Protects you from the sun while keeping you cool.

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer avatar
MAlife
Location: San Diego
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hiking leaves you exposed to the element of the sun but with the Omni-Freeze Zero long sleeve shirt protects you from the UV rays and yet keeps you cool through it's patented wicking fabric.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Anna1226
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I run 6x a week and have a variety of high tech shirts - and as we all know - they are not all equal. This is a great shirt - and I got the full sleeved small - and I wear a size 4 - and this top works really well. It's super lightweight on - it doesn't move. I have tight/compression like tops that move up my abdomen - this doesn't. And it soaks up the sweat w/out the fabric getting heavy w/ sweat. It stays light. Great trick there Columbia. I did a duathlon w/ it over the weekend - the top was a breathable second skin and SPF to boot. And it looked great after the event too - am considering buying a second one.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No black

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
ljkp
Location: Newark, DE
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I don't know why you would make a black shirt for anyone who needs protection from the sun. Even with the so-called "cooling" ability - if the wind is not blowing, the black is hotter in the sun than other colors. Also - fit runs VERY small - and I ordered a size larger than I normally wear. It was still skin tight - and, as an older woman - I do not wear skin tight clothes. I ordered the men's shirt in a larger size, and while it is almost a dress on me, and the sleeves cover my hands, at least it's not skin tight.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sun Shield

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer avatar
DesertRat28
Location: Mesquite, NV
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this for a week long stage race in the desert. It worked perfectly. The shirt was very comfy and cool. I don't know about the "ice" factor, but when I got it wet, it was REALLY cool. I'm 5'6 and 125lbs - the medium shirt fit perfectly. Liked it so much I bought the arm sleeves too.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing shirt for Arizona!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Connkar
Location: Tucson, AZ
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this shirt for summer motorcycling in the Southwest and am extremely happy with the fit and form as well as the functionality. On my first ride I stayed cool and dry, can't wait for the next, much longer ride.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nicely fitted

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
SDskate
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this shirt to hike in the Grand Canyon - Havasupai Falls. I hiked in with this shirt and hiked out with Capilene to compare them.
I am always a small, but I did order this shirt in a Med and it fit perfectly (I am 5'8", 33A, 36" hips). It will accomodate a larger chest, otherwise it fit perfectly.
Comparison: This shirt is more nicely fitted, compared to the Capilene. Other than that, they performed the same. Both have UV protection (reason I wore them), and both felt cool when the breeze blew through and against my sweat. I did not find the Omni-Freeze to be any cooler than the Capilene and, in my experience, one does not dry faster than the other.
So, I would recommend it because it is more fitted than Capilene, with nice seam highlights, but you will pay a price for that and the colors leave a lot to be desired for us girls.
BTW - the Mirage color is actually a light blue, not a grey like it looks online. If I had known that, I would have ordered the neck gator in the matching color.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Omni Freeze in Houston Humidity

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Maryram
Location: Sealy, TX
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the Omni Freeze Zero long sleeve because of it's cooling and sun protection factors. I love trail running and really dislike using sun protection products so tend to wear long sleeve tops in summer. I was impressed with the fit and feel of the top, and even in the humidity that we suffer with in the Houston area, I felt the cooling properties of the top as long as I kept moving (I guess I was creating my own breeze). I doubt that any fabric can cool me off while standing still in the Houston summer heat.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the orange color

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
RunningGrandma
Location: Portland OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shirt does what it promises, so glad they came out with an orange version, but disappointed it sold out so fast! I had to go up a size to get one in the orange color. It wears comfortable, fit felt true to size, and felt good on. I would buy more if they came in more colors like red or yellow.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This shirt works

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Deb62
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in the desert and was looking for a workout shirt that would protect me from the sun and not be too hot. I usually find long sleeve shirts too uncomfortable in the heat so I was somewhat skeptical but decided to give this shirt a try. It works! I've worn it several times in 80-90 degree temperatures and, while I am not exactly cool, it keeps me much dryer than a regular shirt and I find it much more comfortable than having bare arms, with the added plus of not having to use sunscreen on my arms, chest and back. The shirt does run small - I am 5'1" and 108 lbs and I needed a medium for a regular (not baggy) fit.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kept me cool

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Kathy02
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore this shirt in a half marathon in 90+ humid middle of the day in central Florida in a half Ironman and it worked perfectly. I kept it wet and it cooled me off. In a race where the medical tent had a hard time keeping up with the overheated athletes, I was fine. Buy it if you run in the heat.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Omni freeze is amazing

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer avatar
coolcustomer
Location: Miami beach fl
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I wore a long sleeve t shirt in florida heat and I was cool !! It was amazing!!
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Long Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runs a little small, but keeps you cool.

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer avatar
islandsad
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased two of these for a fishing trip in the Seychelle where it is hot, humid and the sun is blazing. I wanted sun protection and to keep as cool as possible. The shirt offered both. My only issues were that it was VERY fitted and showed every bump and more, especially when wet. Beware of wet t-shirt contest comments!!
I would recommend this product.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.