Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top

Columbia Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top

Designed to keep you comfortable during active outdoor endeavors, this high-performing short sleeve top wicks like crazy, features UPF 50 sun protection and utilizes Omni-Freeze® ZERO sweat-activated cooling technology, which reacts with sweat to lower the temperature of the material.
Overall rating:
3.765 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
24 out of 31(77%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Review 1 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way too small!

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Linchicago
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
I purchased 2 of these shirts to wear during a trip in Vietnam. I usually wear a medium in Columbia tops but purchased the large as I was told they run small. It was still too small - tight and too form fitting. A disappointment. I can't comment on quality or function as I immediately returned them. I would suggest changing the sizing to better indicate the fit.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Returning AL6553

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
AJ11
Location: south-east Florida
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Positives: Good fit, color, design. Comfortable to wear.
Negatives: Did not cool most sweaty areas, just under arms &
chest a little, but my chest broke out in a heat rash.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

High quality shirt,

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
ChristheNomad
Location: Dallas, TX
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shirt fits true to size, as does most of the Columbia gear I have owned through the years. It is a super light weight, comfortable and quick drying shirt. I've worn it hiking, rafting and even to work. That is really all I need a shirt to be, so that alone is a win for me. It hasn't pilled, faded, shrunk and no seams have come undone.
As for the omni-freeze sub zero: it has to be pretty wet for you to notice a difference. Hiking alone I honestly barely notice it, when I'm running, or even just walking outside in the sauna that is Texas it does make a difference. That being said, it's not going to feel like someone just cold misted you or threw you in an ice box, be realistic here. I will say that when I wore it rafting and the water was already chilly, even though the shirt dried pretty quickly, I stayed cool forever.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shiret

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
AlkiWalker
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shirt was the equipment winner for our Grand Canyon hike. It was the perfect color, the perfect weight, not confining, washes out easily, dries easily, and generally looks and feels good.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These shirts work!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karl262
Location: WI
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these shirts. Don't expect to feel dramatically cooler, but I do feel cooler. What I like best about the shirt is how fast my sweat evaporates off of the shirt.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Omni cool woman's shirt

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Helene
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Nice looking shirt..but expensive hype...minimal cooling at Best!
Disappointing..he
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for hot weather

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
guiagirl
Location: Tucson, AZ
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I guide for a living in the desert southwest. This shirt is the best for keeping me cool and comfortable. It IS really true what they say about the fabric cooling your skin. The fabric is also very soft and comfortable. I like the little blue dots on the white shirt--I am thinking this will cover the inevitable yellowing of the shirt with time. If you want more sun protection, the LS version of this is great too.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Promising Shirt

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Runner61
Location: St. Mary's, Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shirt did what it said...cooled you down...but it had a weird, musty smell.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Need more time to test in different weather conditions

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sug25
Location: Baltimore, MD
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've only had a chance to use this a few times, and the weather has been chilly each time I've used it. The shirt definitely kept me warm when it was chilly, but I also got hot while running and either didn't sweat enough for the fabric to cool me or wasn't making enough of a breeze. I'd tried a test sample of the fabric at an event which is what got me interested, so I know it can work, but I probably won't have a chance to fully test it's ability until next summer.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great function, stinky though

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
k2pooh
Location: Cave Creek, Az
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Living in the desert, where it's always a challenge to stay cool while working out, this shirt it perfect. I spray the shirt down before I head outside and by time it starts to dry, I'm now producing the moisture/sweat that will keep the shirt doing it's thing, helping to keep you cool. FYI, I don't sweat that much.
The one big down side it how quickly it gets stinky. There's already an oder to it brand new, I'm thinking it's the material, but it gets much worse and rather quickly. I had gone out for a 60 minute run and by time I was done I could barley stand the shirts stink. So I guess this means I'll be seeking out headwinds as the stinkyness isn't enough to make me stop using it.
And Columbia people, how about a long sleeve and other colors. My white one, after one use is no longer white. There are many other light colors that can be used.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Hiking Shirt

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
princesshiker
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used this shirt during a few of my hikes and kayaking trips already and it feels wonderful! Keeps you cool, it's comfortable, and it is very lightweight. Very functional for those warm/hot days outdoors and on the water. Shipping was fast, too.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product is great for workouts

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
tandl
Location: Ft Myers, Fl
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The shirt definitely is good for a workout. My only problem is the fit. It is very fitted because it has so much stretch to it. I normally take a small but it is a little too snug for my liking.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very good running shirt

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
triathlonchic55
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Because it's fall and the temperatures are dropping in Southeastern PA, I wore this shirt on a day that was not very hot, but warm enough that I would sweat while running. When I started to sweat, I waited for the shirt to feel cool as the product's description suggests, but I didn't feel any temperature change in the fabric. I attribute this to the fact that the temperature was in the upper 50s, therefore, any cooling sensation I would have felt was probably the same temperature as the air so I didn't notice it. Otherwise, the shirt fit perfect, it did a great job at wicking the sweat away from my body and it moved nicely, causing no chaffing. I totally recommend this shirt.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really love this top!!

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
petite
Location: Honolulu, HI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I normally wear XS for Columbia tops, and I was debating if I should get XS or S for this one after reading other reviews. So I ordered both XS and S. It turned out that XS fits perfectly while S was loose on me. So I didn't need to go up a size and stay with XS, and returned the S. Thus, I think it's true to size.
I feel cool in this top even before I sweat, cooler than my other Omni-Freeze Ice tops. The fabric wicks sweat away well too so I won't be wet or overheated under the sun or when cooking in the kitchen. I can wear it as a baselayer or as a top. I am glad I bought this top.
The design of this top accommodates curves, which I like alot. I think it is form fitting but it is not constricting, so I can move comfortably while it can wick away my sweat efficiently. I like that the fabric is not the shiny kind and it's really soft and comfortable. I like this more than my other tops with Omni-Freeze Ice. I am looking forward to the new items when Omni-Freeze Zero is officially launched.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Runs small, not totally white

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
NT00
Location: St Marys, GA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
My shirt fit well because I ordered a size larger than what is specified on the size chart. My past experience is that Columbia sportswear is not true to the sizes on the charts. The fabric is very nice, however the white shirt has a flowery blue inner layer, which I found strange for a white shirt. I usually wear a women's 6 which is a small, but I ordered a Medium and it fit well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Women's Cool Short Sleeve

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
skary
Location: michigan
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This top fit comfortable, but does not make me feel cool, I feel like it am overheating in it.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great, runs a bit small

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
SoCalWeekendwarrior
Location: San Diego, CA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have the summer cool breeze shirt in a M. So I order the same for this shirt and it runs much smaller then the breeze did. So if you like a roomie fit order up a size or it will be snug. This shirt wicks really well and does keep you cool. For max performance on a hot day, wet it, ring it out and wear. It does wonders to keep you cool and wick away moisture.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Omni Freeze - Like this product

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
SoccerMom
Location: Louisiana
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just received the omni-freeze and used for a couple games and so far loving it in this 90+ degree temp.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Feels Great!

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
JuliaBP
Location: San Diego
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This shirt has a great fit and feels good on. It is light, cool and moves the way you do. There is no pulling and the sleeves are the perfect length. Wore it running at noon with temp in the 90's and felt cooler and dryer than in another tech shirt.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Coolest Cool™ Short Sleeve Top
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Stinky Smell

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Salsateresa
Location: Houston, TX
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I put on the shirt after I bought it (before washing) and wore it for just a few minutes. I noticed a funky smell from the shirt. (It wasn't me). I am assuming this is a condition of the cooling properties. I have since washed it, but haven't tried it out again. I will try is out and see if I find that the cooling properties outweigh the funky smell. It is still a little smelly after one wash.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next>>