Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Heavyweight 1/2 Zip

Columbia Women's Heavyweight 1/2 Zip

Built for warmth and movement in the deep cold, this toasty baselayer features a performance blend of stretchy, body heat retaining, thermal reflective waffle fabric with Omni-Wick® stretch jersey inserts at the side/underarm—which disperse excess heat and wick sweat during dynamic activity. Raglan sleeves deliver better range of motion, and a dropped hem in back provides more coverage where it counts.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Heavyweight 1/2 Zip
Review 1 for Women's Heavyweight 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

shorter arms than previous versions

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased an Omniheat baselayer top with thumbholes in 2012, and absolutely loved it. I still use it, and it's great. Mainly, I really enjoy the thumbholes, and the reflective inside.
I usually wear an XS, but I went with a S in this product back in 2012 to mitigate the fact I have long arms.
So I ordered the same product again in a Small, with confidence. However I was slightly surprised to discover that the thumbholes in this newer version dig into my hands a bit. I don't enjoy wearing this one as much as the old one. Depending on my activity, I choose the one that fits me better. Often with this newer one I get thumbhole fatigue and have to remove them, and this is disappointing because half the reason I bought these tops was to keep the cold air from creeping into my sleeves.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Heavyweight 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot but comfortable

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this shirt it's comfortable and really warm! I struggle with hot flashes, and this shirt keeps me dry.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Heavyweight 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Meridian Idaho
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is not only functional but very cute and I get a lot of compliments on it whenever I wear it. I defiantly recommend this product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Heavyweight 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Cold Weather Top

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Glenwood, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warmer than it looks but does not have a lot of bulk or weight to it, perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Heavyweight 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Spendy but a great baselayer

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: SLC, UT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have several of these shirts for work (I work outside) and they have been great. You notice the Omni-heat a lot more when you are working harder and producing more body heat but I can feel the warmth on my arms just after I put these on. They are meant to be tight so I ordered a size up so they wouldn't be quite so snug and so that I could have the added length in the arms and torso as I have a tall slender figure. I like the thumb holes and how the sleeves are longer because of this. They weren't quite as stretchy as I imagined but that may be because of the omni heat dots. Still they work well and I love the purple color (inkling). I really like the 1/4 zip feature as well since it keeps my neck warm but if I get too hot I can always zip it down. Great product from Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Heavyweight 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shirt

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Asheville, NC, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeps you nice and warm!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Heavyweight 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great choice

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Arizona - but travel often
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As thin as the medium weight as far as comfort goes...seems to block the wind a bit better. I like the half zip option to keep the chill off the neck when zipped up and to let in some air when zipped down as you go from the cold outside to the warmer inside. Thumb holes are always a plus regarding quick and easy access of putting on or taking off an over jacket. Plus it helps keep the cold out when you can wear your sleeves tucked in your gloves.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Heavyweight 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't want it

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Porltand, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I returned this shirt for two reasons. The washed-out red color was unpleasant and the thermal dots made my sensitive back itch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Heavyweight 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New FAVORITE!

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oh my gosh, this shirt is amazing! The disco ball inside actually does make you warmer. Love the thumb holes and the zip is the perfect length. While this is a baselayer intended to be worn on adventures, it can definitely be worn with jeans and make you look great! With regard to the adventures, it is fantastic: breathable, warm, doesn't roll up when paired with a jacket. My only negative is that the material is prone to snagging, so hide your velcro.
I would recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.