Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short

Incredibly lightweight and comfortable, this cargo short provides UPF 50 protection from the sun and quick-wicking properties to keep you dry, comfortable and protected during active days in the outdoors.
Overall rating:
4.483 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
28 out of 29(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Review 1 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Complete your closet with these shorts

PostedApril 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Texas and beyond
These puppies perform just as described. The shorter length make them the perfect shorts for youthful adventurers; there are EXACTLY what I was looking for to complete my outdoor/active wear wardrobe. I love the classic Columbia material as well as clever zipper pockets in addition to side pockets. The easy clasp belt is a cute touch and makes the shorts more versatile regarding sizing. I'd say they run a bit big (I wear a 6/8 and ordered mediums; they're bigger than I expected and sit low on my hips so I'd order a small next time around), but they a are perfectly comfortable fit for outdoorsy shorts.
Buy every color. I promise you'll wear them out!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bysizeright
Naples, FL
 
Please wait while more information about sizeright is loaded.
Additional information about sizeright could not be loaded.
Sizing Way too big
onApril 24, 2013
I received these as a birthday present. I was so excited to try them on - like the material - lightweight, drying factor, pockets, actually everything, but they are more like a medium, not an extra small. An extra small should be like a size 0 or 2, not 4 or 6. They were huge in the waist. They are shaped so cute in the back, but couldn't keep them up there. Wish you'd make your sizing accurate.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts!

PostedMay 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Fit well and very comfortable! The length is great, glad they're a little shorter than the sandy river shorts
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cross On Over Cargo Short

PostedJune 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Dallas
After looking for shorts that actually fit for the last few years, I found this surprising comfortable in fit in the waist and length. The original pair was found at a local running store in black so I had to order directly from you to have additional colors.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best. shorts. ever.

PostedJune 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: portland
always had a hard time finding the right shorts for my body type - short, curvy, and slightly overweight. these are perfect. the most comfortable shorts i've ever owned. a cross between a board short and a hiking short. zippered cargo pockets keep important stuff in while climbing over obstacles or swimming back to your raft. the regular pockets are mesh so water and dirt don't store for later. i highly recommend these for active folks who want to look nice and be comforable. for that matter i recommend them for anyone who just wants to sit around on a patio or at the beach too!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best short i've ever had!

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: rochester, ny
i can wear these walking, running, camping. i'm 5'1 and the length is perfect- athletic- they do not ride up! fast drying. pockets: 2 deep side and 2 zip so you don't loose anything while running- and designed so items are outside of short (think cargo) so the items don't interfere with movement. they look really cute! going to order several more pair. highly recommended
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable, breathable hiking shorts

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
On a humid summer hike, these shorts were great. After I splashed water on them, they dried up quickly and never lost their comfort. They are the perfect length and allow for leg movement while jumping logs and the like.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A little frustrated with the whole process.

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Waist is way too big - but the rest of the shorts fit. Didn't want to go another size smaller and have the shorts not fit. I was disappointed that I was unable to use an on-line coupon - it just wouldn't take it at check-out. I also had ordered a different cargo short that I love but had to send back for the next size down, and it's a little big still. Because of the cost and hassle of returning either short I decided to just keep them and get them altered. I do not like vanity sizing - it makes the whole process confusing. And I did use the measurements on the sizing charts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great buy!

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Virginia
My wife loves these shorts, and I think that's great, but I love the way she looks in them. So I guess a better way to put this is " a great combination of utility and style, with a flattering fit."
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These shorts are the best shorts I've ever had for boating and the marina

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Central Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You can't beat Columbia quality when it comes to active lifestyle apparel. I highly recommend these shorts.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Fishing - Flats Fishing, Camping, Boating, Other, Fishing - Deep Sea, Vacation, Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Humid, Open Ocean, Other, Hot
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the cargo pockets and the shorter length!

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: colorado
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are great - the zippered cargo pockets are just in the right spot. I like the belt for adjustments and comfort. Also, the shorter length is nice for hiking over obstacles. You will want a pair in each color!!
Activities: Trail, Swimming, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Other
Conditions: Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sporty Shorty

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Edison NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Cross On Over Cargo Short is a truely an amazing pair of shorts. Light weight, comfortable and quick drying. Perfect for hot weather as well as any water or beach activity.
The handy zipper pockets secure personal products with out fear of loosingthem. All of this in one pair of shorts which also look stylish as well. What a great product for an active woman! Thank you.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Love the two zippered pockets

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Pennsylvania
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have been looking for shorts with two nice sized zippered pockets to keep money, keys, cell phone, etc., when going to amusement parks. These shorts are great. Quick drying material will work well on water rides. Fit is slightly big. My only wish is that you would make these exact shorts just a bit longer.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for SUP

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Cincinnati
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are very comfortable for stand up paddle boarding. The pockets are placed logically and the belt prevents embarrassing "plumber pants" issues when getting the board into and out of the water. The material is light and sturdy and the shorts continue to look good after a few trips through the laundry. The smalls are plenty big enough and I'm 6' tall, 136 lbs. with a prototypical rower's body.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite shorts!!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE these shorts! I now have three pairs, and they are all I ever seem to reach for. They are the perfect length and fit. Material is great - wrinkle-free, lightweight, comfy. Waist fits slim and nice, but leg openings have enough room to be very flattering to your thighs. They wash wonderfully, and the colors stay true and bright. As you can tell, I truly love these shorts! I only wish they came in about ten more colors!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these Cargo Shorts!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 5'2" and the shorter lenght is great for me.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Amusement Parks

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Indianapolis
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these shorts to carry my camera and wallet while in Disney. They worked great! As an added bonus, they dry quickly after getting wet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cross Over shorts

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Malvern, AR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts were of great quality...I just can't wear clothing sized Small, Medium or Large. Tried the Medium and Large...one too small the other too large. They were beautiful and very practical with the zippered side pockets. Oh! Color was totally awesome!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So versatile!

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Billings, Mt
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect shorts for anything - running, hiking, water sports. Not too long, not too short. The pockets zip shut, I'm not worried about losing anything out of them no matter what activity I do. My pant size is a size 8-10 and a medium is perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am obsessed with these shorts!

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Carlisle, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am absolutely thrilled with these shorts. I purchased one pair from a Dick's Sporting Goods Store. I loved them so much that I ordered three more on-line. They are light-weight and breezy for summer; they are very comfortable. The length is also perfect for me. I love some of the bright colors. Maybe next year they can offer a pink and red colored-shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Cross On Over™ Cargo Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice and functional

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Brooklyn
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
these shorts fit well and seem like they will be good for days out.
Comfortable and look nice. great zippered pockets
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>