Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Sandy River™ Short

Columbia Women’s Sandy River™ Short

Stay comfortable, cool and protected during active outdoor adventures with this go-anywhere short: UPF 30 protection is built right in and quick-drying nylon provides excellent durability.
Overall rating:
4.464 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
53 out of 56(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Review 1 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sandy River Short -- perfect name for my use

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: NJ
I bought 3 pair of these shorts to walk on the beach in the early morning. They were cool, dried quickly when I happened to get more than just my feet wet while walking, felt super light with no chafing! Could not have asked for a better pair of shorts to beach walk, use as a bathing suit bottom cover up or just for plain walking, lounging around the house, etc.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the shorts

PostedJune 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Pennsylvania
I love these shorts. They do run a bit large; I do not like tight fitting clothing so if you like a more fitted look, I would order a size smaller.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Sandy River Short!

PostedJune 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Austin, Tx
I adore these shorts. They are so popular I was unable to purchase locally and had to go online to obtain them. Love the, love them, love them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice fitting shorts!

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Florida
Love the more modern fit of these. These used to be unflattering, but these are less baggy now. Runs ever so slightly big, i'm usually between a size 6/8 for shorts so the small fit me quite nicely!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Santa Clarita, California
I love Columbia shorts and these are very comfortable, great for camping.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too big - liked last year's

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer avatar
I ordere extra small same as last year but this year's fall off me. Last year's are comfortable and also came with a belt to take up a little extra space. These were at least two inches too big in the waist. If they fit, they're nice, but there is no place to go beyond extra small. Teh blue is a lot brighter turquoise than it looks on my computer screen, just in case you were not looking for a bright colored pair of shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these shorts

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Louisiana
The shorts are great. I usually wear a medium, but had to get a large to get the right fit. The one negative is that they were available in only one color in the large size. I would have ordered one in each color if they were available.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

These shorts are good but the ones from a couple years ago were better

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: South, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a pool service company in Texas and these shorts are great for the hot temperatures. They dry quickly and hold up very well. I am disappointed with the changes they have made to the fit of these compared to a couple years ago. It seems the legs are wider and shorter and the waist is lower. I am bending and squatting all day long and the legs on these tend to roll up where the older model did not. The older model I was very comfortable in the large but now I have to get the extra large that just doesn't have the same fit. I guess since I am older I do not like an athletic type short below the waist so I am not thrilled about the new cut. I haven't found any other short that is as comfortable, breathable and light weight to withstand the heat.
Activities: Swimming, Other
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Windy, Humid, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For Anyone, Anytime, Anywhere

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New York City
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was originally sold this product as male swimwear! It worked perfectly, did not gather sand clumps at the beach, dried faster than any other material I know, and covered just enough without excess material making it hotter. The first pair I have had for three years and it is as durable as ever.
Because they are so comfortable, I began wearing the shorts more and more around the house even in winter. It was clear that one pair was insufficient, so I ordered three additional pairs directly. Delivery was speedy, quality maintained, and the price less than I paid in the store.
I cannot say how women and children fare with this (I would imagine well) but the suit suits men just fine.
Activities: Climbing, Surfing, Swimming, Hiking/Trekking, Other, Running, Mountain Biking, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Open Ocean, Muddy, Other, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quality shorts but too short

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: South Carolina
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The colors and fabric were great but were too short. They may have run a little small.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for everyday and as water shorts

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Maryland
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like these shorts because they fit well, dry quickly and look nice right out of the wash. If you are looking for some clothes good for running errands, and running on the beach, these are the shorts.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Shorts

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Western Kentucky
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the shorts, fit well, perfect for running around with my two toddler grandaughters. Also, feel wonderful. Perfect
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So COMFORTABLE

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sandusky, OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love theses shorts. We live by the beach & I have a 2 yr old son. We are outside everyday to the beach, a park, playground, riding bikes, etc. These are perfect to put on to run around shopping, playing & keeping up with an active little one. I thought the fit was really great & maybe a little big in the waist compared to the previous ones but I still got the same size. Love the new colors. Hate that the only store that sells them near me (Dick's Sporting Goods) only has black & verdant. The are very light weight & you do have to were light colored underwear if the shorts are a light color. I will buy more. Just wish I could buy more Columbia shorts in the stores.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Louisiana
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable & fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The shorts are cool and comfortable.

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Naples, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shorts are perfect for walking in the Florida heat. They are cool and comfortable. The other morning I got sprayed by sprinklers and they dried in no time. They are also ideal for wearing over a swimsuit when going to the beach or pool.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

River short is great

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Topeka
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I finally found the perfect shorts for summer - short enough for running, light weight, long enough for a bit of coverage and the best part - they have POCKETS! Love these. Bought another pair - one's not enough. Oh yeah, cool colors, too.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product but hard to find!!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: key west
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had shorts like these for many years, washed zillions of times and use them for walking and fishing. They wear like iron. When they became so faded and I decided to replace them, they seem to have changed the style for "sandy river shorts" to something that has a belt and more pockets. I bought some of the new style but do not like them. Went online, found these and love them. Would be very dissapointed if this style would no longer be available as they are classics.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Orlando, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are perfect as walking shorts, water shorts and everything in between. Lightweight, dry fast, fit perfectly, wash up nicely. I have 4 pair. Love them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice material and hidden pockets.

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Even though I measured myself, the shorts were still a little snug across my butt. I would rather have something a little looser but thought if I went a size larger, according to the chart, it would have been too big. I guess I should have taken that chance.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Maine
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the light weight material as well as non binding fit
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>