Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short

Nothing beats a classically lean-looking long short for versatility, comfort, and coverage. Featuring our new Back Up waistband technology, this sporty short offers ground-breaking fit construction designed to move with you as you bend, stretch, kneel, squat and jump.
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Review 1 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backpacking dream!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer avatar
jogo
Location: Austin, TX
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these shorts for mountain backpacking on vacation. They were the best choice I could have made - the fit was not clinging, but skimmed the curves, allowing movement with comfort. Summer weight fabric worked well in warm or cool temps. Loved them!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best shorts

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
suggie
Location: Hammond,Louisiana
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have gotten these shorts for many years and have 5 pairs I wear them all the time these are the most comfortable shorts I have ever owned I will be purchasing more when my size comes avaliable I highly recommend them I can dress them up or down for any occasion love them I hope next year they come in several different colors !!!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women's Back up Sport Long Short

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer avatar
lobster
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are the most comfortable shorts I ever owned. I now have them in Black, gray and khaki.
I would love to find this exact waist in long pants. For the summer, they are so light and cool and wrinkle free!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sport long short

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Badback
Location: Alpharetta, Ga
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
these shorts are awesome-they are so comfortable. I wish they came in a lot more colors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits a woman with curves without revealing her bumps!

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
kjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
5'9", 145-150#, curvy, in shape, but butt and thighs are padded-- these shorts fit great! (sz lrg)
You can move and dress them up or down.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer avatar
DMann
Location: Houston
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These a very comfortable, light weight shorts! First time out I wore to run errands and then to a grad party. Can dress them up with heels or down with flip flops. Wish they came in other colors like red, khaki or white. Sizing is good.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer avatar
DSDe
Location: OHIO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This short fits like a dream and is so lightweight! It will be great for summer. The length is good too and the leg openings are perfect. The higher back really feels snug and no worries about revealing anything. At the same time the front is a little lower and this makes the short fit comfortably. Love this short!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort meets Class

PostedApril 5, 2012
Customer avatar
ladymacdeth
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are long enough to go from restaurant to bike to yoga and leave you looking slim, athletic, and classy. The comfort level is awesome and very true-to-size. I now own two.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Other, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Windy, Humid, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer avatar
jaxangel68
Location: baton rouge
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't worn them yet, I bought them for my Disney World trip. I did try them on and they fit great!
Activities: Kayaking, Vacation
Conditions: Sweaty, Humid, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect shorts for the trail

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Pogo
Location: Minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lightweight, long enough shorts, very attractive fit, great for hiking rough terrain
Activities: Trail, Canoeing, Camping
Conditions: Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Definite "Must Have"!

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Sail26
Location: ohio
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are exceptional in quality and function. I sail and kayak; they are quick drying, durable, and most importantly, extremely well-fitting and comfortable. I normally have a difficult time finding pants that fit (even tho I am fit and a size 8-10); pants are usually too big in the waist and snug through the hips and thighs. These shorts, however, are nicely contoured to a lady's curves, and stretch and give without looking too tight or too bulky. I bought 2 pair and am about to order a 3rd. Only wish they also were available in navy blue and/or khaki. Highly recommend these shorts to any active lady!
Activities: Boating, Other, Kayaking, Vacation
Conditions: Sweaty, Rainy, Windy, Humid, White Water, Open Ocean, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what I expected

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Momof3boysPA
Location: Exton, PA
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought a pair of Columbia Back Up workout pants this winter and love them for the gym. I was expecting these to be the same as the pants but just shorter. They were a totally different material. I wanted these to workout in. These were more for hiking. The cut was very unflattering. Tight in thigh but flared at knee. I wanted more of a spandex fit with the higher back for classes like Body Pump and Kettlebells. The different material on the sides reminded me of maternity clothes. I returned them. Hoping they come out with a shorts version of my other pants.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for long trips

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Chelle
Location: Hollis, NH
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore these shorts for a 5 hour drive, very comfortable, and the the back up waist is excellent for sitting. They are light weight and dry very quickly. I plan on wearing for all outdoor activities.
Activities: Climbing, Swimming, Canoeing, Hiking/Trekking, Kayaking, Vacation, Commuting
Conditions: Sweaty, Rainy, Humid, White Water, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Someone, but not me.

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
luvs2ride
Location: Northern Va
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are really, really nice shorts but not what I was looking for.
Some how I missed these did not have a button waist and a fly.
These are like bike shorts.
I wanted a blend that I could use on a cruise and wash out in the shower to wear again.
I weigh 115 and am 5'2" and I ordered a 8 and they fit very nicely.
They come up over your normal waist and if you have big upper
legs could be too tight.
Great for many other sports I 'am sure. Just not what I needed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fitting shorts

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Mumsy
Location: boston,ma
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
the others were right, these fit beautifully. Very pleased and will probably order a second pair. I am petite (5 feet) but have hips and these are perfect! Very happy with purchase.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Vacation
Conditions: Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shorts ever

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
RedsFan
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these shorts. I typically have trouble with Columbia pants and shorts because cut too low and too tight in the thighs. These have a slightly higher back and some stretchier material panels for great ease of movement. Size small fit perfectly and I usually have to buy mediums or 8/10 in Columbia pants/shorts. I want to buy several more pairs!
Activities: Trail, Running, Vacation
Conditions: Sweaty, Rainy, Humid, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Woman's back up sport long short

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
w7225
Location: New Jersey
Now have two pair and love the comfort of these shorts and they are quick dry. Great fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best shorts

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Householdmanager
Location: Pennsylvania
I have 5 pair of these. Extremely comfortable. I am 5 '10 usually wear a size 12. The Large fits great. Cut wide enough thru the legs to accommodate by chubby thighs.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these shorts!

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer avatar
pocky
Location: Oregon
These shorts have an excellent fit. They are extremely comfortable and I like the backup waist band, I always feel covered.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Back Up™ Sport Long Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THEM!!

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Customer avatar
LovedShorts
These shorts are soooo comfortable!! You can dress them up too which I love. Light weight and great for the summer. Getting online to order a second pair now so I dont have to keep doing laundry!!! Great buy, I am a size 14/16 and the XL are a perfect fit!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>