Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short

Durable and textural twill gives this short a technical feeling, while wicking properties and built-in sun protection keep you dry, comfortable and protected during aerobic activities.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
13 out of 15(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Review 1 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and drys fast.

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Congo
Location: Winamac, IN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this short. They are very slimming. Would love them to see them in a shorter length also. I got caught in a downpour while going to the store. Went ahead and did my shopping and they were absolutely dry when I got home. I wore them golfing this summer. I would definitely buy these again!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very comfortable too

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Customer avatar
saketome
Location: eugene, oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look great, true to size and my current favorite pair of shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Runs small

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Whidbey3670
Location: Clinton WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Loved the material and look of these shorts but had to return them. Bought the size 4 even though I often wear a 2 because other reviews said they ran small. The legs were a little tight, it bunched a little at the crotch and the waist was big. Not a great fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Shorts, Run Small

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer avatar
kim32
Location: north carolina
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are great. I ordered them for their longer length and large flat pockets and plan to wear them to play tennis. Like other reviewers said, I found them to run a size small. I am 5'4" 110 lbs, I have a 26" waist and 36" hips. I ordered my typical size 2 but the rise was uncomfortably short. I returned them for a 4 which is a perfect fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice short

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Suzyb
Location: Portland, or
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I listened to reviews that said this short runs small and ordered a size up from my normal size 12. They are too big and the draw cord is too short to make it adjust. Disappointed I didn't go with the size guide. Will send them back as they gap in back due to size I purchased. Really like the cut. Definitely would fit well and cover the backside if I'd purchased the correct size. I am post baby, 5'6" and ~150lbs.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits me like a glove!

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Amelea
Location: Upper Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these shorts because I already own a pair of Passo Alto Straight Leg that fits my body type very well. I usually prefer skorts becuase I have a boyish butt and long legs and I often feel that most shorts are too wide in the legs, which makes me look masculine. These shorts have a femine flattering fit that enhances the look of my legs. They fit tight, but the fabric is stretchy, and they are tailored in a way that makes them very comfortable for bike riding. I also love the color tusk which in my opinion matches any other color.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice product

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer avatar
ButchiesGal
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are a nice short, not my first choice but you discontinued the ones I love and these come in second! Bring back the regular back up short!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite shorts! So comfortable!

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
mountainmom
Location: salt lake city, ut
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are so comfortable. I wear them all the time and they still look brand new. They have a nice stretch to them and yet they are not baggy or sloppy looking or too snug. They are a perfect fit. I wear them camping, to the pool, hiking, around town, playing outside with the kids, even to do yard work and house work. They run just a slight bit small, so I got one size up from my usual 14. My only wish is that Columbia made them in more colors, especially a navy blue! Other than that, they are perfect. I looooovvvvve them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shorts perfect for me!

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Maria54
Location: Franklin, TN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I searched for these exact shorts online, because I loved the ones I'd found in a Columbia retail store in another color. The fit is great and the styling and construction make them extremely comfortable. On me they're almost knee length and fairly slimming. In my opinion it's advisable to order the largest of the sizes from which one would normally choose. For example I wear 8's and 10's, but these shorts require a 10.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good long shorts if you have a smaller waist

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Nutmeg76
Location: Norfolk, NE
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a pair of these shorts in Colorado on vacation. I usually don't like long shorts because when they fit at the hips they are way too big in the waist. These have a very high rise with stretch in the waist- but not like elastic. They fit very well if you have this type of problem with long shorts. They probably would not look good with anything tucked in, because they come up so high, but I would think most people would not tuck a shirt in to them anyway. Also there is no issue with body parts showing in the back, that you would prefer to have covered, even when you are active. After I got home, I went on line and ordered a pair in each of the other colors because I liked them so much. They have large flat pockets if you need that.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much to like

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Customer avatar
LoveNaplesFL
Location: Naples, FL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these for the sun protection factor. Like the longer length and high back. Fabric is light weight with stretch for a great fit. Very sharp looking and also great for bike rides and in the car when the sun hits the tops of my legs.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very disappointed and the shipping both ways costs as much as the shorts

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: buffalo, ny
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was extremely disappointed with these shorts. The waist band was ridiculous. The legs of the shorts were small and the waist band was huge
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go-To Short

PostedApril 5, 2012
Customer avatar
ladymacdeth
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this short, and would have bought other colors but I need 1/4 inch more room in the bottom in order to wear a lighter color. (Black hides that). I am pretty fussy about fit, and these are excellent...but my backside does martial arts and so it is....bigger than average. A dark khaki would be nice, too....... or a chocolate brown.....
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE these shorts!

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Spinelli88
Location: Montrose, MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long story short, I have a long waist for a vertically challenged woman and I drive horse drawn carriages. Meaning if I'm not careful, I look like a plumber while these people are trying to enjoy a ride. I also work 12 to 14 hour shifts on sometimes humid days. These shorts have fixed ALL of my problems! I can wear my work shirt and not have to worry about looking like a plumber and the moisture wicking capabilities on these bad boys are amazing! I bought two pairs, and have every intention on buying 5 or 6 more!!!
Activities: Other, Running
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Humid, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Back Up Passo Alto™ Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

what a disappointment

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Kathy1234
Location: arlington Va
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have four pairs of Columbia shorts, two omnishade and two others that are similar in style. I thought that I was ordering one similar to the others only in a solid color. This is not like the others. Not nearly as good a fit.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.