Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short

A touch of stretch makes these shorts ultra comfortable while sun protection and wicking properties mean you’ll stay dry and protected.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
25 out of 28(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Review 1 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shorts

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Henderson NV
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shorts look great but fit a bit snug. I love them and plan on ordering the other colors in a larger size. Then I will be set for the summer!!
Activities: Trail, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Cement/Asphalt, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

love the short, fit not great

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Boulder CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fit is good everywhere, but too snug in the thighs.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pant, hard to get the right size

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear a size 6 in jeans and I heard that this product runs small so I got an 8, however, the 8 is a little snug in the thighs.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent...but...

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Quinton VA (near Richmond)
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Loved the way these shorts looked online. When I received them...loved the fabric and construction. Also appreciated the details. Unfortunately...they didn't fit me. They appear to be designed for a younger figure. The lower rise and narrow thigh did not fit or flatter me. Returned them.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Trail Short

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: huntington Beach, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this exact short at REI and they fit perfect and excellent quality so I ordered another pair online with Columbia. When they arrived they were at least two sizes smaller even though I ordered the same sixe. I am going to return them and probably will not order online again.
Donna
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super comfortable!

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Wa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like these shorts. I read the reviews before purchasing these and ordered one size bigger as recommended, but I think I would have been better off ordering my regular size. They are loose but comfy this way I guess. I love the material, super soft and light weight. One detail not mentioned was the right leg has a zipper down low that is in an accent color so it looks pretty cool. All pockets are mesh lining inside which helps with venting. Good quality as always.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LOOKING AND COMFORTABLE!

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I read some of the other reviews before I wrote mine. I agree that these are a little on the small side. I usually wear a 10 or a 12, but knowing Columbia runs a little small, I ordered a 14 (ouch!) and they fit almost perfectly. They have a little bit of room in them, which I like, because I don't wear tight clothes. I'm into comfort at my age :-) they run a little narrow in the legs also, as another reviewer pointed out, but work fine for me. I ordered the grill, which is a grey with some burgundy, aqua and a grape slash pocket. I can wear several shirts with these shorts and they look great, are long enough so they are more like bermudas. They are a thin material which I can tell will dry quickly. I will wash in cold water and line dry so they won't shrink as I like the way they fit me. I wish the other colors were better, I ordered the blue ones and didn't like that check pattern. The grill is a nice subtle plaid, nothing too loud. Overall, I really like these and they are comfortable and stylish.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

weird fit

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
These pants were too snug in the leg but too big around the pelvis. I returned them. Great colors though!
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous!

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Pensacola, FL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are extremely well-made and have little details, which add to their look. I usually wear a 6 but bought an 8 due to other reviews, and they fit perfectly. Except for ordering a size larger, these shorts are perfect and my favorite.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LOVE these shorts

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Washington, DC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought them a size up since I have athletic legs and didn't want any constriction. They are very comfortable and great in hot weather. I got them in three colors, and I get complements every time I wear them.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite pair of shorts by far!

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Reno, Nevada
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They fit me perfectly. Not to tight or loose anywhere and very breathable when I am hiking. Going to eventually buy all colors. High quality shorts for sure. I thought plaid would make me look heavier but they do the opposite. Pleasantly surprised. I agree with buying a size up. It's just a number ladies!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like'em

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love plaid shorts and these are no exception. Bought them a size larger as other reviewers recommended and they were right on. A size larger fits perfectly if you have a round butt. I think the lower yoke in the back is really flattering and no gap - love that!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for thin legs

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my usual size. Usually I look silly in hiking sorts because my legs are thin. The thinner long leg on these look great on me. Breathable and comfortable even in hot weather and enough stretch for even a steep climb. I'm buying more!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best product line ever

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Barefoot bay, Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been buying Columbia for a number of years - although the cost is a little high the quality and wear are well worth the money. I have some shorts from as far back as five years ago and still today when I wear them people will remark on my "new" shorts. They are amazed at how old they are.
Keep up the good work.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as great as other reviewers have said!

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are near perfect! Just as other reviewers have said you do need to order a size bigger than you usually wear. I'm normally size 14 and I ordered a size 16. Other than that these shorts are wonderful, comfortable, flattering and lightweight. Looking forward to warmer weather now that I have some nice shorts to wear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super cozy & stylish shorts

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: White Salmon, WA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love everything about them except the waist is a bit high for me. Would have preferred a more modern "lowrider" fit. Still love them regardless just have to wear with a longer shirt.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I really like them

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bought these at the local outlet and I think they're nice. They're really lightweight and have extra pockets. I'm happy with them
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect walking short

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 11-year old daughter (aka World's Hardest-to-Please Customer) LOVES these. I bought her a pair for a trip to the Galapagos, and I just bought FIVE more for her to take to camp!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flattering and Functional Short

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Figure flattering, skims the hips and thighs. Button fly is superior in quality to Columbia's pull on shorts. Waist band lies flat and the extra button to the left of inside waist helps keep band even. Cut runs full but extra room might be appreciated. This short can go easily from the trail to a casual evening out. Grill looks great with a white T.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Saturday Trail™ Stretch Plaid Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE these shorts!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are perfect if you are active in hot weather but want to look a little stylish. They are very lightweight and stretchy and they dry very quickly. I bought them in every color and my husband is jealous. I bought a similar pair about three years ago and they are very, very durable. I am 5'9" 130lbs and the length of the legs and the rise is perfect. I don't know what everyone is talking about the sizing being off. I've always worn a size 8 in Columbia shorts and the 8 still fits exactly the same.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>