Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall

Columbia Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall

Re-engineered and ready for action, the Ultimate ROC pant has retained all of the classic style and function of the original version, while gaining an active edge.
Overall rating:
3.364 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
6 out of 11(55%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall
Review 1 for Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great active pants for Tall consumers

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Firesource
Location: Columbus, OH
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been a big fan of Columbia products for a number of years. I was pleasantly surprised to find the Ultimate Roc Pant here directly from Columbia in TALL sizes (which I have not seen in traditional brick or click & mortar stores).
Contrary to other reviews I read prior to making my purchase, I find these to run slightly large in the waist. They feature full cut bottoms, which also run on the full size (very easy to fit over boots). While I did take advantage of the right leg zipped pocket - you'll be most comfortable avoiding large items stored there, as they will shift and sit atop your thigh around the knee.
True to the description, they do repell stains, and wash up easy. Washed 3x thus far, no shrinkage noticeable.
At 6'5", buying tall pants is not always about the inseam. The rise is adjusted accordingly and is well tailored.
If you are looking for a great pair of active pants for the outdoors - pick up a pair of Roc Pants for yourself.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fit Is Way Too Big, Quality of Tailoring is Poor

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MargaritaMan
Location: Austin, Texas
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having owned five pair of the Lander pants from Columbia, I was hoping the ROC pants would be in the same league. I ordered a size 44 waist. The pants measured an actual 47 and a half. There are only five belt loops. The waist band has no structure and is very floppy. The stitching and cutting leaves a lot to be desired with sloppy workmanship on interior seams. On the plus side, the material is light and should be very comfortable if I can find a pair that fits. The waist closure snap is big and rugged, the best yet by Columbia. The length was exact. Only the waist and baggy seat were oversize, but that's enough of a problem that I returned the pants and ordered the next size down.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good pants

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patches323
Location: Los Angeles
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has a relatively soft but strong material, slightly water repellent, which makes it perfect for camping or working in my garden. I have been using and enjoying Columbia sportswear for many years now and I find them to be excellent value clothing for travel, going to the beach, camping and gardening. They are very good to excellent products. I highly recommend them.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tall 36" Inseam Rocks

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
BorderCollie
Location: San Francisco
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you are looking for a long pant that is true to length, then this is it. They will shrink an inch, so don't put them in the dryer if you need every last inch. I have a 37" inseam and for some reason these are still plenty long and not a bit too short.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Right pants, right fit; great company!

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
BigPeat
Location: Nantucket, Ma.
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been, to a certain limited extent, a loyal Eddie Bauer customer for many years. However, several years ago, they stopped making their casual pants — cargo and docker-type products – in my size, 46-36. Also, the quality and selection seems to have gradually diminished over time, so I was delighted to learn that Columbia not only carries several styles of pants in my size, but also makes such high quality products. They fit great, are simple and do their job. You have also have shoes and boots in my size, 16. Being a tall person, it's a challenge to find mainstream clothing and footwear that isn't sold at big n tall shops. Keep doing it, Columbia, because there's lots of tall people out there.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
tomm
Location: Montana
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Really disappointed that the Original ROC pants don't come in a 36" inseam anymore. More disappointed that the Ultimate ROC pants do come in a 36" inseam but fit like skinny jeans! Anyway of getting the 36" inseam back in the Original ROC pants.
The 36" inseam in the Silver Ridge II Conv pants were too short - more like a 35" inseam
Activities: Other, Vacation, Commuting
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent lightweight pant

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike123456789123
Location: New Mexico
  • Expert
I'm 6'7" and (as always) these are the perfect length. The waist seems to be consistent among the different colors I own.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Inconsistent

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
FlaKen
Location: Florida
I ordered two pants, different colors, both 36x36. One fit well in the seat, one a little tight. However, the inseam was two inches different between the two pants!!!
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Spent $11.70 to return item

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tobie02
Location: Rochester MN
Having 7 pair of Columbia shorts I thought it was a no-brainer that I would love Columbia pants. Being a tall man I had to order them over the web rather than trying them on before buying them at a store. These pants, the same 42 waist as the shorts - were HUGE. They literally fell off. It cost $11.70 to return them therefore I don't think trying a smaller size is a prudent use of my money. What a shame!
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultimate ROC pants

PostedApril 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tcoursey
Location: Roseville, CA
Perfect fit, extremely comfortable. Hi- quality and very durable. I would buy them again.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Ultimate Roc™ Pant — Tall
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
JJM4050
I don't normally write reviews but felt this was important for your design/merch team to see. As others mentioned, the snap closure on the waist band is really a problem. It is not nearly strong enough for a men's outdoor pant. In addition, my snap closure fell completely out of the waist band the first time i tried the pants on. It was very poorly constructed. The fabric is great, the fit is great ( although a little long ) but that snap closure is very poor. I unfortunately will be sending my purchase back for refund.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.