Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall

Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall

One minute you’re tackling a ridge, the next minute you’re running a river. These convertible pants are the ideal solution for both multi-sport outings and unpredictable weather conditions.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Review 1 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Seu12
Location: Lincoln, Ne
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased these for my husband who is 6' 8" and wears a 36x36 pant. Based on the previous reviews I went with a 38 inch waist and it fits him nicely, and he loves them. I wish you would make more pants with 36 inch inseams.
We have not used the pants yet so I can't give a full review, but for now the review is good.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ALWAYS order a size larger.

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Shane34
Location: Chapman, KS
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered these pants for an upcoming trip to Costa Rica and was looking for a pair of convertible pants that I could use. I found these pants and I read through the reviews about them and saw some warnings about the fit. But I took the risk and ordered what I normally wear and I failed. I'm 6'9" weighing 240 pounds and I normally wear 36x36 size pants and that's what I ordered in these pants. I should have ordered the 38x36 pants instead. I've already sent my pair back because they were a really tight fit on my quadriceps. other than the sizing, they seemed like great pants and would have kept me cool in the Costa Rican heat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Silver Ridge Convertible Pants

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Ca.
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never wanted a pair of this type of pants until lately. My friend had a pair on and they fit the situation. So I decided to buy a pair. They fit well and are comfortable. I have not worn them yet but am going to the Sierra's in late July. It should be hot during the day and cooler in the evening.
I believe they will be perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice pants

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Troutbum2
Location: Estes Park, CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally pants built for tall fishermen.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!

PostedMay 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Pardog
Location: North Georgia Mountains
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being 6'7" tall and 230#, it was very difficult to find a high quality pair of hiking pants that actually are long enough and true to size. These are high quality, excellent functioning, true to size hiking pants. Love them.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better than REI's

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer avatar
AlanM
Location: Los Angeles
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought some convertibles at REI for last summer and ended up selling them on EBay. For this year I bought these, and they're hugely better. In particular, these are lighter, the zippers are much more substantial (my REI zippers jammed constantly, ruining one pair of pants which they exchanged), and these fit better. These do seem to run small, so for my 36" waist I ordered the 38". I'm not sure I'll keep the belt, but overall I'd say that these are hugely better than my previous ones.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like them! 38x36

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
jwright0612
Location: Akron, OH
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 6' 8" and 225lbs. I order the 36x36 but found that the waist was fine but the hip area was pretty snug. So I exchanged them for 38 waist. They felt better a little loose. The leg length is probably actually a little over 36. Which is really nice!
They are really light weight which is good for hikes and traveling. They also just look a lot nicer than other brands as far as style goes.
The legs zip off really easy and can be put on pretty quick. I have really long legs and the shorts come to just above my knee. Would have liked it to be about a inch longer but oh well.
I would probably buy another pair if they weren't 70 bucks.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dropping in quality a bit...

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Denverdavo
Location: Denver
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have one pair of Silver Ridge shorts and I love them. They have an extra zipper pocket in the side pocket as well as a back zipper. Now, you only get the zipper on one of the cargo pockets which is not as safe from pick-pockets in my opinion. Also, the pant does not have as much elastic on the side, and they fit slightly smaller in the waist than a true 36" pant. I'm debating on sending these back. The fabric remains light and great, but there's no reason they can't keep the product true to size since there's no shrinkage involved with this material. Also, I really miss the side pocket zipper as well.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice pants

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer avatar
EdMass
Location: Massachusetts
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable pant. Side zip pockets are definitely a plus, would like to see the back pocket zip also. Detachable leg zipper works well. I have tried a couple of other convertable pants and this one is the best I've seen
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice pants in Hard-To-Find Sizes

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Josh11
Location: Saginaw, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am 6' 6" so it can be hard to find long pants, I usually prefer 36" inseam over 34's. These pants are definitely as long as they say they are.
I also float between 36 and 34 for the waist. These are an inch or two big in the waist, so I would say that all measurements are accurate as stated.
This is just for those who want the information: I have bigger legs from lifting weights etc. They are not huge by any means but bigger than the average person's. If you are someone like this as well, these pants may be slightly snug in the upper leg and seat of the pants, but by no means are they too tight.
The material seems very thin, but this is the reason it was chosen, to be strong and lightweight. I'll have to see how well it holds up in the future.
Other than that, great pants, lightweight for warm climates, packing light for travel, versatility, and I think they look good!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A useful purchase

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Dodger
Location: La Habra, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I travel the world quite a bit and the couple of pair of these pants that I have go everywhere and do everything. They are light, packable and wear very well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Convertible Pant - Tall

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
dwayneh69
Location: Denver, Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Originally ordered my regular size I wear with my cargo pants 38x36 but found them to be just a bit too snug. Re-ordered 40x36 an they fit very well with room to move and do anything comfortably. The quality of the material and look of the pants is great. I bought these to wear on a cruise and will not be actually using them until then so longevity and wear and tear won't be known until later. But very satisfied so far.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent pant for Kayaking

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
JonC
Location: Arkansas
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This pant works great at repelling light water, great pocket placement and very light material
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features.

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer avatar
JoJo58
Location: Elgin, Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband loves these pants. They are so easy when traveling he can pack less. The material is great for hot days. The size is a perfect fit , he has a very hard time finding the 36" length.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Only tried them on then had to return due to size.

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer avatar
clothesshoppingugh
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my first review I have ever given. I use reviews all the time when I shop so Im returning the favor.
PROS: So, Im 6'6" 195lbs and the 36 length was perfect and I like my pants to be a bit long too. I love the way they feel, very light and comfortable. I also love the belt attached so I don't have to get my own.
CONS: So here's the issue I have. I like loose fitted clothes but these feel very fitted like a dress pant would. Also, in the crotch area, it pulls tight if taking a wide step and feels like its goning ti rip at the seam. Those are the only reasons I have why I'm taking them back. I was planning on using these for disc golf, but I take very wide steps to throw around trees etc and I need a looser fit.
I've only tried these on in the house and am going to return them since they are just not roomy enough. Being 6'6" I have a hard time finding clothes and shoes that fit so I wish I didnt have to return them since the length and comfort was so great. Also, I'm really looking for a pant that keeps me cool, so I've learned that the Omni Freeze technology is really what I need and I dont see that in tall sizes unfortunately..hint hint Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Large Tall Outdoor Pant, fits well

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
jfuite
Location: Edmonton, AB
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not that tall guys have much of a choice, but this pant is decent and fits as expected. Bought two pairs, and I would buy it again.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.