Customer reviews for Columbia Boys' Silver Ridge™ III Convertible Pant

Columbia Boys' Silver Ridge™ III Convertible Pant

Perfect for outdoor activities on days that start out chilly but gradually warm up, these boys’ convertible pants quickly unzip into shorts, while wicking fabric and built-in UPF 30 sun protection provide comfort, versatility and protection.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Boys' Silver Ridge™ III Convertible Pant
Review 1 for Boys' Silver Ridge™ III Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pants for son

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Naples, FL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He was very happy to have pants like dad.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boys' Silver Ridge™ III Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Universal

PostedJanuary 5, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the cool mornings and unzip when into shorts when it warms up
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boys' Silver Ridge™ III Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Larger than expected

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Beaufort, SC, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable and cool pants. They were much larger than expected so we had to get them altered.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boys' Silver Ridge™ III Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best outdoor adventure pant for kids!

PostedMay 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm an outdoor travel writer, and my kids spend a lot of time in the outdoors. We consider a good pair of trekking pants to be crucial. The Silver Ridge Convertible is the best we've found, because the waist adjusts for our kids, who are thin and tall, and they're extremely quick-dry. We really wear out these pants, so we buy a few pairs per year.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boys' Silver Ridge™ III Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants - Sons Favorite

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality, great fit, great function. The adjustable waist combined with generous length are perfect for a tall, thin frame. These do seem to be longer in length then other Columbia pants we own. Zip off legs are great for various activities.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boys' Silver Ridge™ III Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Convertible Pant

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Carlsbad, CA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
These pants are high quality and comfortable with some stretch. My son is in-between sizes 7/8 and 10/12. I ordered a 10/12 and the pants run a little large. He'll grow into them.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boys' Silver Ridge™ III Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good camping pants

PostedApril 1, 2016
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
bought these pants for my 11 year old son, he is a Boyscout and goes camping alot, these pants work great and have an adjustable waistband which is great for his skinny waste.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boys' Silver Ridge™ III Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Pant, Questionable Fit

PostedApril 13, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We bought two of these pants for our 12 year old son (average height and weight) online. The form and function are great, and he was very excited to wear them to outdoor school. When we got them though, the fit was not good. He's normally a straight down the middle youth medium, but these were very tight around the waist and backside, and a tiny bit short. We returned them and replaced with a youth large, and they were way too long and he was swimming in them around the waist. Our friends bought the same pant (next size up) and had the same problem. Definitely plan on trying them on first!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.