Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket

Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket

Three jackets in one—a warm, water-repellent zip-in liner with thermal reflectivity for bonus warmth; a waterproof-breathable and seam-sealed shell; and the combination of both—giving you the versatility to stay warm, dry, and comfortable in fluctuating winter conditions. We’ve updated the Whirlibird for this season with a new, modern fit for great style on the mountain and a waterproof center front zipper for bonus protection from wet weather.
Overall rating:
4.471 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
14 out of 16(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

cool design but lacks in warmth

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
jashhol
Location: northernia
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had quite a few Columbia winter coats including 3 in 1 s. However this jacket seems perfect for spring or autumn weather.. The inside layer actually felt kind of cold once I stepped out until it warmed up after 10 mins of walking.. I would not suggest getting stuck in a blizzard or any cold weather w this jacket. Dissapointed winter jacket but I'll keep it for spring and sadly try a different brand of winter jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm, but not suffocating

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
JasonTX
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the sizing, I am 6'7" and 255lbs. I got the XL Tall and the fit is great. I do not have very wide shoulders, but if I had somewhat broad shoders, I would need to go up to XXL Tall.
The jacket is of excellent quality. I am super picky about seams, materials, etc. I get too hot in fleece lined coats, I get to where I feel like I am suffocating. I am not a fan of very stiff coats/jackets. With all that said, this jacket is perfect. The jacket is lightweight and very warm. The inner liner alone is an excellent look and still keeps you warm down to at least about 30° (no rain or wind) as I just recently found out. So soft, yet warm. There are so many pockets throughout both the liner and full coat. The hood is not insulated, but will keep you dry and appears to be windproof. Will just have to wear a beanie in extreme cold temps.
Overall, I am super excited about this coat. So far has been great. I got the blue azul, and the color turned out nicely. I Highly recommend this coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket - Highly Recommend

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
WorldTravelSunnyfish
Location: Spain
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket for my husband and was concerned about the previous reviews regarding the fit being slightly small. I ordered his normal size and it was a perfect fit. He says the jacket is very warm and fits like a glove. This jacket replaced an older Columbia jacket he owned for probably 10+ years. He is very satisfied with this replacement and he's hard to please when it comes to jackets/outdoor clothing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
vince66
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this jacket to replace my old Columbia titanium jacket which was great. I find this jacket not vary warm at all. I have warn it in temperatures in the low 20's with a heavy sweat shirt under it and was cold.
I find the out side pocket opening very small. I can hardly get my hand in the pocket. I have great difficulty putting my knit hat in the pocket.
The inside pocket could be deeper. Several times my cell phone has fallen out of the pocket when I took the jacket off.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJohn820
Chicago, IL
 
Please wait while more information about John820 is loaded.
Additional information about John820 could not be loaded.
Spot On!
onJanuary 5, 2015
Word for word I'd have the same review. I'm returning this jacket today. I really miss my old Columbia titanium jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best winter jacket

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
ChiDude30
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hands down to Columbia for their Omni-Tech concept and products. I have lived in Chicago for many years and have had many different winter coats from other brands, including The North Face, and none of them have been as warm and functional as this one. This jacket is truly breathable, which is awesome for those of us that go in and out of the cold when commuting to work. I highly recommend this product. I couldn't be any happier!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive Performance

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
BravoSierra61
Location: Minnesota, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a Florida native but now live in Minnesota. I had been using my old Summit Crest I bought about 15 years ago. It was the standard by which I judge all others. This new jacket sets a new standard. It's much lighter and the new Omni Tech liner allows me to wear short sleeve shirts in sub zero weather with very low wind chill temperatures and still be completely warm. Columbia makes fantastic products that stand head and shoulders above all of their competitors!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth every penny!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Soumya
Location: Jersey city
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got it as a gift for my husband and he is really very happy with this jacket as it is very warm, waterproof and cozy! This is a must have jacket!! u can use it in all kind of season as its interchangeable.. It's a well designed jacket.. Worth every penny!!!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Add to Your Jacket Collection

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
OwenWolfe
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in a state where the weather can be 60 one day and 10 another. This jacket gives me the flexibility to adapt to any weather and had a chance to wear this in the rain two days ago and I was completely dry! It is Breathable and Waterproof and WARM! I love all the other thought that went into this jacket like the "Pit-Breather!" ( Zippers under your underarms on the jacket to give you so Air)
I will be getting from from this company and I highly suggest this Jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Omni-heat Really Works!!

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Bsmith66
Location: Duluth, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket in preparation for the rough northern Minnesota winters. I need a jacket that keeps out the wind, keeps in the heat, but is breathable at the same time. The whirlibird does just that! You can really feel the inside of the jacket heat up as your body lets off heat!! Be carful wearing It in the car because you will heat up fast!! Love this jacket and will continue to buy omni-heat products from Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rain/snow or shine

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Surfer77
Location: Morgantown, WV
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket was a great purchase. The price tag is steep, but I know i'll get many many years out of this jacket. Already I've received several compliments on its style and fit. The outer shell is perfect as a rain coat. The water beads up nicely and the inner liner is great by itself for mild winter days. The thermal layer is awesome and keeps me warm in sub zero wind chills. Snow started blowing last night and I cannot wait to hit the slopes in this jacket!!!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible function

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Mattdm
Location: Lindstrom MN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The zippers on the liner are constantly getting stuck on the liner itself. You'll then have to spend 10-30 minutes trying to get them unstuck.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Whirlibird is the way to go!

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Kevhead
Location: Joliet, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this jacket two years ago, replacing an older Columbia that didn't fit anymore. Living in the Midwest, it gets very cold in the winter. Last winter especially (several sub-zero days and 80"+ of snow). My Columbia Whirlibird never let me down. Always kept me cozy and warm. I highly recommend this jacket if you're considering buying it.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket is awesome !!!

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
8iNIFINITi8
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a raincoat without the liner. the liner by it self is a great light weather jacket. Put the two together & you get the ultimate winter jacket. That's just my two cents.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coat

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer avatar
USAF78
Location: Puyallup, WA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shell for rainy Seattle area weather with a warm liner for cold damp winter days.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
pegasus1012
Location: Massachusetts
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is an excellent jacket 100 % recommend, colors are nice and it is totally funtional.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
GreenLantern52
Location: New Jersey, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit was excellent.
Can't wait till it gets cold in NJ to see how warm it keeps me! :-)
Love the color. I got the grey patterned one.
I love it!!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket and Service

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Alex32
Location: Fargo, ND, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket for college in North Dakota and let me tell you it gets unbearably cold up here. This jacket makes me sweat the instant I put it on and the waterproofing is second to none. Also the customer service is great as I bought the jacket two weeks ago at full price and then it went on sale and the representatives restored the difference to my bank account with no problems!
I would recommend this product.
+13points
24of 35voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.